We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon arrival was made very welcome. Staff was very friendly with good english. Room was very nice with an amazing shower. However the mattress was EXTREMELY hard which made sleeping very uncomfortable. My husband and I understand we are not always going to get a comfortable bed in our travels but this bed was way to hard for us. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I luckily came across this place at the last minute and I'm so glad I did. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Thailand. The room was quite big and clean. There's only 24 rooms in the whole hotel (8 rooms per floor) so it's a pretty quiet place. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walker S
Maringá
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean and tidy, the location is quite good and the staff english is good. The only problem is that in the last day I realize that my sunglass was not in the bedroom, and the day before I left it out of my luggage. I asked in the reception if someone found and they didn't say... More 

Helpful?
Thank EliseSY
PloenSamui, Management Team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear EliseSY Maringá 5 days agoReviewed by EliseSY Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel The hotel is very clean and tidy, the location is quite good and the staff english is good.on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and planning to come back next year. Your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They were very nice and their English is very good. They gave us extra towels for the swimming pool and offered us as much water as we wanted. It is true that the outside pool is small but the inside one is great for the rainy days! The decoration of the room is very nice and everything was very clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank marieta_mms
PloenSamui, Management Team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear marieta_mms 1 week agoReviewed by marieta_mms Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all aspects of your stay were met to your satisfaction. Your complimentary remarks are most appreciated especially with our staff service. This has made them... More 

Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel and staff. They spoke very good English and were so helpful. Nice restaurant in hotel with swimming pool and relax area. Place was very clean staff catered to your room, no charge. Location while not on the beach just a short walk. Lots of nice shops and restaurants. Bike rental right beside hotel , 150.00 baht per... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank erleslie
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear erleslie Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that the overall of your stay were enjoyed with us Your complimentary remarks are most appreciated and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to Ploen Chaweng KOh Samui again for your next visit to Thailand Warm... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

There is one morning that we heard a very large heavy item fell on ground in our room. Despite of not having any stuff in our sight that dropped on floor as what we heard, we did not notice that it was actually a broken sound of a soda in our refrigerator. My partner saw this (as attached pictures) when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Elynne T
PloenSamui, Hotel Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Elynne T. My sincere apologies for the delay in replying to your comment due to the change in hotel management. The hotel is under our management, so I will not try to make any excuses for what happened. However, learning from the lessons and make sure the same mistake does not happen again. I hope that the crash occurred... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel, with great staff in a great location on the amazing island of Koh Samui. This a lovely little hotel in a great location, within walking distances of the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel itself isn't massive but is fantastic, the rooms are massive but you have more than enough in them, the decor and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_S_8282
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Why? 1.That bad smell people talking about, it's almost unbearable. 2. I have to argue, i mean it, argue... Just to swap a towel due to a stain on it and it looks dirty. I don't know who she was or what's her position but she has 0 manner and 0 hospitality. I'll stay somewhere else next time, period.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yosa S
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Yosa S Thank you for your time sharing your experience at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui with us. Please accept our apology that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We will certainly look into all the below expectation items you have mentioned which will have to be improved immediately. Thank you one more time for... More 

HCMC, VN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Just cross the road to get to the beach. But have to walk through other hotels block front of the beach. So i feel not comfortable. There is no water tape to wash sandy foot at ground floor so my clean rooms got sand everyday! There is microwave in room. Good for longterm guests. A small balcony to hang wet... More 

Helpful?
Thank vibinguyen
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

Loved this place... I was nicely decorated.. monkey theme.. clean, large place, comfortable bed and soft pillows...wet bar..tv and wifi worked great! shower was a good size with toilet and sink and blow dryer.. I was in room 1008 my friends were in 1009 they had a smaller bathroom. Had a balcony.. lots of lighting and plugs to charge your... More 

Helpful?
Thank _kkelly35
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.5 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#44 of 101 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#50 of 101 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pamoni Aparthotel Samui
Pamoni Aparthotel Samui
#14 of 65 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Friendly Hotel
Lotus Friendly Hotel
#12 of 65 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Budget Hotel
Chaweng Budget Hotel
#10 of 65 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Address: 37/90-1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Ocean Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $54 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay