We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 60: English reviews
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice hotel and staff. They spoke very good English and were so helpful. Nice restaurant in hotel with swimming pool and relax area. Place was very clean staff catered to your room, no charge. Location while not on the beach just a short walk. Lots of nice shops and restaurants. Bike rental right beside hotel , 150.00 baht per... More 

Helpful?
Thank erleslie
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear erleslie Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that the overall of your stay were enjoyed with us Your complimentary remarks are most appreciated and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to Ploen Chaweng KOh Samui again for your next visit to Thailand Warm... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is one morning that we heard a very large heavy item fell on ground in our room. Despite of not having any stuff in our sight that dropped on floor as what we heard, we did not notice that it was actually a broken sound of a soda in our refrigerator. My partner saw this (as attached pictures) when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Elynne T
PloenSamui, Hotel Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Elynne T. My sincere apologies for the delay in replying to your comment due to the change in hotel management. The hotel is under our management, so I will not try to make any excuses for what happened. However, learning from the lessons and make sure the same mistake does not happen again. I hope that the crash occurred... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel, with great staff in a great location on the amazing island of Koh Samui. This a lovely little hotel in a great location, within walking distances of the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel itself isn't massive but is fantastic, the rooms are massive but you have more than enough in them, the decor and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_S_8282
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Why? 1.That bad smell people talking about, it's almost unbearable. 2. I have to argue, i mean it, argue... Just to swap a towel due to a stain on it and it looks dirty. I don't know who she was or what's her position but she has 0 manner and 0 hospitality. I'll stay somewhere else next time, period.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yosa S
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Yosa S Thank you for your time sharing your experience at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui with us. Please accept our apology that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We will certainly look into all the below expectation items you have mentioned which will have to be improved immediately. Thank you one more time for... More 

HCMC, VN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Just cross the road to get to the beach. But have to walk through other hotels block front of the beach. So i feel not comfortable. There is no water tape to wash sandy foot at ground floor so my clean rooms got sand everyday! There is microwave in room. Good for longterm guests. A small balcony to hang wet... More 

Helpful?
Thank vibinguyen
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

Loved this place... I was nicely decorated.. monkey theme.. clean, large place, comfortable bed and soft pillows...wet bar..tv and wifi worked great! shower was a good size with toilet and sink and blow dryer.. I was in room 1008 my friends were in 1009 they had a smaller bathroom. Had a balcony.. lots of lighting and plugs to charge your... More 

Helpful?
Thank _kkelly35
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

No breakfasts, costs too much, ants in the room. On the bright side: the hotel looks like new, new elevator, great location near the 'center' of chaweng. Staff helpfull and nice, speaks enough English.

Helpful?
Thank Łukasz Z
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

We spent 6 days at the Ploen in March. Although the rooms are small, they are very comfortable. However the highlight of the hotel is the wonderful front desk workers. We were warmly welcomed by Mind on arrival and she was extremely helpful. Mind and May both went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Nothing was too... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016 via mobile

This has the potential to be a really nice hotel but some aspects let it down. The bed was very noisy and creaky, so every time we turned in bed we'd get woken up. The staff on reception are nice but hardly speak any English so we were unable to book any taxis (went next door to the travel people).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lewis111
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear lewis111 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback which was echoed in identical fashion by another reviewer in a similar review a week or so earlier. We had addressed most of the comments during the visit and will continue to make improvements on a regular basis, as to ensure that our guests receive the... More 

Croston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

We had the best stay at Ploen. We were greeted with refreshing cold towel and jasmine green tea and then personally taken to room and shown the facilities which were brand new and beautifully designed. Absolute luxury for us on a budget as backpackers. We ate breakfast here everyday - homemade strawberry jam is delicious! All restaurants and shops literally... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GBBee
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.5 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#45 of 101 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 101 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bhundhari Chaweng Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Budget Hotel
Chaweng Budget Hotel
#12 of 64 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Friendly Hotel
Lotus Friendly Hotel
#5 of 64 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Address: 37/90-1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Ocean Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $55 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay