We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Insight Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Insight Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As sea-side hotels go this one is located in a small portion of land between the sea and the Galle Road, but it has over 50 comfortable rooms. During the time we visited the sea was rough and swallowed much of the sandy beach which would normally be wider. We found the service and attention to detail excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Max J
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Max, Thank you very much for your valuable comments. Insight Resort consists of 53 rooms and we are glad you found our rooms comfortable. During the rough sea seasons the beach shrinks, but you will realize that sea bathing is still a reality, because of the reef that stretches across approximately 60 mtrs away. I like to share... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The hotel well exceeded our exceptions with their modern designs and bright colours, the pool is right besides their dining area and we could barely contain our excitement. The staff were very accommodating and even went out of their way on several occasions to make sure we enjoyed our stay even at the point of booking our rooms. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ellieman2016
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ellieman, Thank you very much for your lovely comments. “Insight” is a Resort by the sea which consists of 53 rooms. It has been renovated recently in such a way to make our guests feel their stay more relaxing. The pool amidst the beautifully landscaped garden has added more colour to it. We believe that, the kind of... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2016

The last two days i spent with my family. The first place which my check in was excellent. I was staying in room No.405 with a little balcony and a stunning view of the sea. The rooms are spacious and clean. On arrival day we had lovely garden dinner with a delicious barbecue setup. The lady manager was friendly and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed 4
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mohammed, Thank you so much for your recommendation of our Resort. We are happy that you liked our spacious and clean rooms which also let you enjoy the stunning beauty of the sea from the balcony itself. Dinner in the garden surely would have taken your heart as the garden is so well landscaped and maintained. The taste... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel at the end of the trip with Djoser and it has been a great and very relaxing stay. The hotel is very modern and nicely furnished with a nice lounge bar. You can sit really nicely there and enjoy the view over the ocean and the famous Sri Lankan Palm fishers. The rooms are good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank agnes-1992
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you very much for the recommendation and wonderful comments about our Insight Resort. I am not amused that you had a very relaxing stay, because while sitting at the bar you are able to enjoy the serene environment of the well landscaped garden, beautiful stretch of beach and the calm see at the same time, which would... More 

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2016

I stayed here with a group and it was ideal for us. The pool is excellent and there is an area to play cricket which was perfect for all of us. The management were delightful and one night there was a band with lots of dancing and because there were lots of others staying as well it was great chance... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChiOi
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam We are indeed very grateful to receive such wonderful comments and are so happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us – thank you very much. We have also taken note of your comments regarding the outdoor seating and outdoor bar being unutilized. We will certainly look at positively rectifying all of this and look... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Insight Resort. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a small balcony looking towards the beach. Extra points for the plentiful breakfast with many options to choose from. Also, having board games and cricket equipment for guests is a brilliant idea. Service was excellent throughout our stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank hallkri
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Hello dear guest (hallkri), Thank you very much for your good comments about our resort and we are so glad that you truly enjoyed your stay in our spacious and well-arranged clean Resort, overlooking the beautiful and relatively calm stretch of beach. Happy to acknowledge your comments on food, especially the spread of breakfast buffet. You have negated the false... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2016

The day out at the hotel was great. The location was a splendid. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Beach was fabulous. Food was great. All our members of the team enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Great place to visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nirosh G
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your wonderful comments and recommendation of the Insight Resort, and we are indeed elated to know that you and your friends spent a wonderful day. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2016

We stayed 2 nights with sea-view rooms. Spacious rooms and clean. Newly renovated I understand from the staff. Unfortunately my sister's room had a problem with air-con leakage on the 2nd night. This was attended to immediately and interim measures were put in place. Hotel has a nice pool and beach. The hotel also provides games to keep you occupied.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Hi Caroline D, Thank you ever so much for recommending this beautiful hotel and we are happy to note your all positive comments. We are truly sorry about the air-condition leakage in your sister’s room. This was rather unusual. Thanks for commenting. We are getting our maintenance department to check on this. Generally, our service levels are good. However, on... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

This was the last hotel we chose to stay at during our two-week trip to Sri Lanka. We had just returned from a fabulous place in Mirissa and were looking forward to the last three days in the beautiful Sri Lanka. Upon our arrival the girl at the door didn't seem bothered with our checkin and even attempted to give... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank antonrg
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Although there are two long detailed comments, as per the findings based from our Front Office, Sinan D and antonrg have shared one room. Therefore I wish to respond to both complaints on a single response. It is the hotel policy to collect all payments at the time of check in. Sorry when your card did not work if our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ahangama hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay over a weekend! Insight had Good service and Friendly staff! Rooms were Clean & Comfortable. It has a Stunning Private beach. Clean beach. Great spot in Ahangama, Sri Lanka. Would definitely come here again.. Food is quite good specially the Sri Lankan cuisine is excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mayanthi G
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much Sir/Madam for your wonderful comments. We are indeed pleased with all the comments and accolades that we keep receiving on Trip Advisor, as a result of it, we are now planning to manage the high demand anticipated in the winter season. We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (183)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
1.7 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 4 in Ahangama
113 reviews
2.8 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
355 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
289 reviews
8.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 28 in Unawatuna
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range: $53 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Insight Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Insight Resort staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Insight Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms face the sea. Elderly guests may want to select rooms at ground level as there are no escalators.”
 of 5 bubbles 809maxj, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms with the balconies are the best.....”
 of 5 bubbles m0hammed4, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Hotel with a fabulous beach line.”
 of 5 bubbles niroshg2016, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“choose sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“One of the rooms overlooking the ocean so you can hear the waves”
 of 5 bubbles 358janb, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay