We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
67 Matara Road, Ahangama 80650 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$67
View deal
Travelocity$85
Priceline$80
ZenHotels.com$101
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (529)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (47)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 42 hotels in Ahangama
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
388Reviews4Q+A67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 164
  • 128
  • 45
  • 21
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Suranga wrote a review Nov 2022
Galle, Sri Lanka
The service was very good, and our stay was so relaxing. The price I paid was worth it. The staff was really kind and willing to attend any request. We were stayed 2 nights with great experience.Buffet foods are real teasty .Rooms have excellent sea view & very cozy.Beautiful private beach. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting ahangama. Specially thanks for the asst. front office manager Mrs .Asanka & manager tharanga for they are assiastant. .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest , We are very much delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Insight Resort Ahangama. We highly appreciate the comments you made to our staff, as they deserve that recognition. The Senior Management certainly pays attention to detail to train and motivate the staff, as we believe the key to success is well-trained staff in the hospitality business. We surely pass your valued comments to Mrs Asanka – The Front Office Manager & Mr Tharanga the restaurant and Bar Manager. Appreciate being a good brand ambassador for Insight Resort and hope you visit us again. Thank you The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roshan W wrote a review Nov 2022
Nugegoda, Sri Lanka59 contributions49 helpful votes
We had two nights at this beautiful property as a couple .We.were uograded to a room with stuuning views.Clean and comfortable. The service of the staff was friendly . The newly appointed Chef was doing his best to turn around the food department . The quality of the meals were high class ! Found the management unprofessional ,specially the front desk guy who was bossy. This hotel could do very well but needs some serious attention to run the place well. The gym.was so run down and dirty . Pool.was rccellent .Waiters were very attentive .High point is your Chef . Looking fwd to come again to see improvements .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr Rohan W, Regrate, it appears to be you are commenting with regard to a different other hotel but have uploaded your comment as Insight Resort. 1. Your name is not there in our guest registry. 2. Sorry, we do not have a newly appointed chef. 3. You are commenting about a poor-quality gym. Sorry, we don’t have a gym at Insight Resort. Therefore sir, please remove this comment as you haven’t stayed with us and this certainly can not be regarding Insight Resort. -The Management-
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gayan C wrote a review Oct 2022
Gampaha, Sri Lanka18 contributions7 helpful votes
One of the best places to go for a holiday..had a nice time.. Food was awesome and staff were very friendly..Mr.Kasun and Mr.Kosala helped us a lot with an amazing hospitality..thanks a lot for everything
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Gentleman Gayan, Thank you so much for your wonderful expression about the Insight Resort itself and the quality of the food. Shall convey to Kasun & Kosala your appreciation. Thanks for being a brand ambassador of Sri Lanka for us. -The Management-
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith G wrote a review Oct 2022
Cologne, Germany4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very good hotel, we were suprised that this is not a 4 stars hotel. Extremely freindly and skilled staff, very much attention put in every small details. Dinner was delicious, rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated, waiters are very skilled, one can tell that their are experienced and do their work with love and committment. The pool is fantastic, it is being kept clean at all time. There is also a nice beach volleyball court, good waves if you want to go surf and a lot of games are available for free, so you never get bored. We really appreciated our stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: You have an ATM just in front of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for suggesting Insight Resort as 4 star hotel. Yes, our effort is to meet 4 star quality at all times. We keep up to good food and hygiene standers in like in a 4 star hotel. However, we charge only a high-end 3 star price. Thank you once again for being a good brand ambassador. -The Management -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maitane J wrote a review Oct 2022
We were only gonna stay for one night and in the end stayed for 3. Amazing experience, service super good and paid attention to every detail, we felt very comfortable. The room had stunning views. If we come back to Sri Lanka we will repeat here for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your pleasing comments. Happy to note that, you are going to be back with us when you come to Sri Lanka again. Yes, extending 1 night to 3 nights means it well, that staff at the resort have done their part extremely well. Thanks again for your valued good comments. -The Management -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions
+1
I had such a great time in Insight Resort. Very clean, nice hotel. With very helpful and polite staff, I’ve never felt unattended. Beautiful private beach access and spacious pool. The food at the restaurant was amazing and super fresh. Will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear resort guest, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor We are delighted to receive good comments and a good rating of 5 out of 5. Thank you for being a brand ambassador. Thank you and hope to see you again The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dross18 wrote a review Apr 2022
Maidenhead, United Kingdom25 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel itself was OK for a night or two. Use of the spa was disappointing. New staff not trained in their advertised services. the pool was quite small and not enough loungers available. All was clean and tidy but I wouldn't choose it as a permanent base but is was value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear resort guest, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor We are sorry to hear that your expectation was not met by the Spa. We shall take this up with the resort management and do regret the disappointment. Guess your requirement is a larger pool. However, we never have received this as a negative comment. Yes certainly, Insight resort is value for money as the resort maintains 3-star hotel standards and the rates we charge are quite reasonable compared to the nearby other hotels and resorts. Thank you and see you again. The management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isuru K wrote a review Apr 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka14 contributions2 helpful votes
I went for my anniversary full board package. When I inform my reason, they arranged some surprises for us. They decorate our room and arrange a candle cake in dinner. It's staff also very friendly and kind. Their rooms also very clean and fully featured. And meals are based on for foreigners. But they had local rice and curry for lunch, it's very good and tasty. Price also best for place. We went by train from Colombo. Its near to Ahangama railway station after we went by walk from station like 500m.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Beach side view rooms are available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Dear Resort guest, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.com We are delighted to receive good comments and a good rating of 5 out of 5. We will convey this to the hotel staff to encourage more. Thank you for endorsing our resort and for being a brand ambassador. Thank you and hope to see you again. The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tagaOahu wrote a review Mar 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii90 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
I stayed a total of two weeks in an ocean front room. The view is amazing!! Especially if you surf! There’s two surf spots right in front of the hotel. The one on the left is a shortboarding break, while the one to the right is called Marshmallows and is good for longboarding and is beginner friendly. A third spot about 20 minutes by paddling to the right is my favorite break called Sticks. It has more punch than Marshmallows. The beach right in front of the hotel is really clean and almost always empty. The water is so clear and clean too and good for swimming. During low tide you can walk along the beach to the left for about a kilometer. Early mornings and late afternoons you will see fishermen on sticks - a fishing technique unique to Sri Lanka. The room I was staying in was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spacious and comes with a rain shower with really good water pressure. Towels are fresh and really good quality. The furniture is a bit old but kept really clean and functional. I’ve read negative comments about this which I think are unjustified. For the price I paid per night I think everything is really worth it. And if modern furnishings are very important to you then stay at the Marriott in Weligama and pay 4 times as much. Overall my stay at Insight is really amazing! I traveled solo but never felt lonely because everyone is just so friendly! I can go anywhere in the hotel and just start a conversation with any of the staff! I felt so at home the whole time. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Sri Lanka.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded Apr 8, 2022
Dear Resort guest, We thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. Appreciate your good comments and overall rating of 5out of 5. We will convey this to the hotel staff to encourage more. Thank you very much for endorsing our resort and for being a brand ambassador. Thanking you and hope you visit again The management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claudia g wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions4 helpful votes
At Insight you have the most beautiful beach in Ahangama at your feet, that's why it's worth it. The rooms are very clean and you have friendly, professional and effective reception staff that will help you if you need it. Beach and pool are very nice. What I liked the least was the service in the restaurant. But I would still come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: with ocean views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded Jan 25, 2022
Dear Lady/Gentleman, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Appreciate your excellent comments on our location, food and overall products. Thank you for the understanding of the service in the restaurant. As lots of experienced staff have left the industry as their jobs too got effected during the last two years due to Covid. As such to be honest, we are compelled to manage with lots of new staff. This may have been the exact reason. We are happy to hear that you will come back again Thank you and hope to see you again. The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
insight hotel ahangama
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAhangama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INSIGHT RESORT $71 ($̶1̶0̶1̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Ahangama, Sri Lanka

Frequently Asked Questions about Insight Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Insight Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kabalana Beach (0.7 miles) and Olive Studio (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Insight Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Insight Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Insight Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Insight Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Insight Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Follow The White Rabbit, A'la carte restaurant, and Citra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Insight Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Insight Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Insight Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Insight Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Insight Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (4.1 miles).
Does Insight Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.