We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Insight

Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Insight
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
colombo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Superb place for vacation with good room conditions,friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Not ideal for people who expect variety of food other than everything. Not too far away from busy roads but not disturbing at all It's worth for money as long as who is not a heavy food lover. Food is tasty but lack of variety. In my case... More 

Helpful?
Thank chanaka k
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your valuable comments. Our resort is a high end 3* property offering 3* rates and 4* quality and service, and the variety of food we offer is also compatible to 3*. Perhaps you may have been comparing the variety of food with a 4* property enjoying such ambiance. We definitely value your comments, especially the way... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back from my 2 weeks in Insight which was truly amazing experience...It was highly reccomended my my close friend and was truly best joice ever.Hotel is just renovated,home and pure relaxation feeling.Great pool,fabulous grounds and decor,located just on amazing beach!Rooms big and lovely too,great food: nice variety and super quality.But most of credit should go to service provided,staff friendliness... More 

Helpful?
Thank ezisty
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you very much madam, for your most valuable comments about our resort – Insight Resort in Ahangama. It is our desire to always offer our valuable guests value for money and we are truly happy to note your appreciation and recommendations of our Resort and services. We look forward to hosting you again. More 

Gwalior, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Insight for two days. The rooms are good. We stayed in 402 which is deluxe sea view room. It's recommended to stay in the sea view room as the view to the sea and the garden in front is awesome. Room 402 had a more private balcony. Pros: - view definitely - has a secluded private beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank stella2406
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Hello Stella2406 Thank you very, very much for your open and honest opinion about the quality of our beautiful Resort – INSIGHT. We have very carefully noted your comment about the beef steak being a disaster and we have taken steps already to purchase a higher quality steak product.. Certainly we had a dog menace earlier but we rounded up... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This lovely property sits right on the beach. It's in the middle of having a spruce up so will be even better once the work is done. Great pool, lovely staff who very friendly and helpful. Far enough from the main road to be quiet, close enough to the beach to hear the ocean every night. Who could ask for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the property, Insight Resort in Ahangama. Sir/Madam, yes all the little, little operational renovations are expected to be done and over by the 15th July 2016. Thank you very much, our strength has always been our wonderful staff. Appreciate your recommendations. Yes, it is quiet, quaint and serene at Insight. Looking... More 

Kottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is in a nice beach with town area. Small pool and unable swimming in sea. Front office is most of time busy. Have a buffet with Sri Lankan spread. But service is bit poor. Food also not given any wow feeling. No idea about room and facilities.

Helpful?
Thank Udarahema
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

The Management of Insight acknowledges your comments. Had you stayed a night with us I am sure your comments would have been much different. As you say that you haven’t stayed and only a day guest, I am unable to trace you being there. Usually we do not come across any day guests making TripAdvisor comments. The beach in front... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

One night stay. Average experience for such an expensive stay. 7000rp. I booked through booking.com. Another 21% added at the hotel. I booked a garden view, I thought that would be downstairs looking onto the sea. On arrival I got a lovely juice, and young man checked me in. It may have been his first time. Then he said he... More 

Helpful?
Thank yverOS
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

We are pleased to respond very politely to the Contributor ‘yvesOS’. Let me first of all extend our sincere thanks for choosing the Insight Resort for your last stay in Ahangama, Sri Lanka. We have now checked on all details of the concerning guest. The lady has booked the lowest category of our rooms which we have been selling as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ahangama hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This Hotel was Amazing. very helpful staff and views of the ocean. we spend two nights in this hotel. we walked corner of the beach and we like there nice rooms. i recommend in this hotel for new Travelers.

Helpful?
Thank sophiavoisin
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you very much Ms. Sophia for mentioning our resort as an “Amazing” one. Yes, most of our guests are highly taken up by the beautiful and relatively calm stretch of beach. We are glad that you enjoyed the view so much, sitting at the restaurant, bar or any other area. Thank you too for your comments of our staff... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

No doubt this is an amazingly situated hotel, being rare that it is south of the main road and on the beach itself, many locally are a walk across the road from the beach. We stayed. In April 2016 as a tour group, hotel had great views, good swimming pools but a few minor issues. First - food was average,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David R
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. David R for your comments uploaded on Tripadvisor. Appreciate your valuable comments of our beautiful setting. I am glad that your entire tour group were pleased with the view that you can enjoy from our Resort. Sorry to note that the food has not been to your expectations. Generally, if you look back the past Tripadvisor notes... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

This hotel has stunning views of the Indian Ocean and is directly located on a nice stretch of sandy beach. the Hotel has a swimming pool - again close to the beach and some spectacular views of breaking waves. Meals taken at the hotel restaurant were good with a fair choice from a fairly extensive buffet. Staff both cheerful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackw53
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Hello dear guest (jackw53), Thank you very much for profuse recommendation of our hotel. Glad you like our stretch of beach so much and the beauty of it is, even during off season and rough seas, the beach at INSIGHT Resort is relatively calm thanks to the reef that stretches across approximately 60 mtrs away, making sea bathing a reality.... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Insight is the place which far exceeded my expectations on EVERY aspect. Customer service, staff and their courtesy were absolutely impressive. They made sure that we are comfortable and all our necessities were fulfilled. Rooms were really clean. Meals were delicious and they had a wide variety of selection in buffet. Our stay was memorable. I will never have hesitations... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fahadh N
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you ever so so much for your wonderful comments about the Insight Resort. We feel that we have now achieved ! We are on a constant reminder to the staff to be friendly to the clients and make them welcome as they pay a substantial amount to fly out to Sri Lanka to spend their holiday and not to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (161)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
3.7 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 3 in Ahangama
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#6 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
3.5 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Insight

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range: $54 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Insight 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Insight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay