We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Strumhor

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Connel
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Strumhor
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Solihull
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

This is how it should be. We booked for two nights and a good job we did as we had problems with the car the day after arrival. Olga swung into action and could not have been more helpful as we organised the RAC to sort out our problem using a local garage. We were allowed to use our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much - you are very welcome and we are so sorry about the spoiling of your holiday by the fault in your car. We were glad to help. I hope the rest of your holiday was without incident! More 

Mid Yell, Shetland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

This is an outstanding place to stay for a visit to this fascinating part of Scotland. The hosts, Olga and Tony, are very friendly and obliging and offer much of the ground floor of their beautiful house for the use of guests: two comfortable and well-appointed guest bedrooms, a lovely conservatory overlooking the Falls of Lorn, a very comfortable lounge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am already looking forward to your next visit! More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in the Lorn room which has a very good view out over the water and the Falls of Lora. The host, Olga, met us on arrival and made us feel welcome with tea, coffee and scones. Our room was very comfy with an ensuite and also a small private sitting room (also with a view... More 

Helpful?
Thank WidelyTravelled_11
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. I'd be very happy to have you here again! More 

habana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Never heard of Connel until i watched a programme on tv & thought how lovely,i'll have to go there,i found Strumhor on another website & liked the look of it too,well i wasn't disappointed, the owners Tony & Olga were so nic & helpful with recommendations of where to visit,,my room "Etive" was bright,clean,modern & spacious,with a superb view,the bonus... More 

Helpful?
Thank the_cuban
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

How very kind! Thank you so much for your nice review and we would be pleased to see you again. More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

Should you be travelling to the Isle of Mull from Oban and need an overnight stay then don't stay over in Oban, stay here instead! The welcome you receive is as warm as you'll find anywhere. The rooms are clean, bright and airy. Breakfast is "top notch" especially the home made pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Oh, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank thomasfarley
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this! It was a pleasure to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You'll just have to come again! More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

This was my first trip to the Oban area and Strumhor B&B, although my partner had visited the area before, . We received a very warm welcome, which was more than can be said for the weather at that point, from our hosts. The double room itself was fantastic with a separate shower/bath/toilet and a small sitting area with TV.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KenH2968
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this. It was a pity about the weather but that is, of course, out of our control! Glad you were happy here anyway. You were most welcome! More 

Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

My wife and I, along with my 76 year old father-in-law, have just enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at Strumhor. From the ample parking at the rear of the property there are a few easily climbed steps (my father-in-law has mobility problems)into a large hallway that also serves as the breakfast room, both of our rooms lead of of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this, Nigel. Your visit was good fun and we look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

We have just had the most amazing visit to Olga and Tony's B&B. The rooms were spotless, extremely comfortable beds and the facilities were truly excellent. The breakfast choices were amazing and so incredibly tasty. I loved every single thing about our three nights except having to leave! Nothing was too much trouble and we cannot wait to go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gina H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you so much. It was a complete pleasure to have you all here and I'm looking forward to Hogmanay with you. Let's hope for better weather! More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

We spent 2 nights at Strumhor, and honestly, we were a bit disappointed, all the more since the reviews on Tripadvisor are very positive. We had the Morvern room, and it clearly needs renovation : the paint is flaking and the furniture is quite old. Another problem is that the room directly communicate with the lobby, which means you'll hear... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CapablancaTraveller
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

I am shocked and disappointed by this review and do apologise for the non-cleaning of the toilet. The little bit of bubbling on one wall is due to a new damp proof course being put in mid-season when we have been unable to repaint the room due to constant flow of guests. It will be dealt with as soon as... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

This B&B enjoys a slightly elevated position just south of the main road to Oban and overlooks Loch Etive and the tidal Falls of Lora. There is sufficient and easy parking to the rear. The room was immaculately clean and a reasonable size. Our en suite room had a small snug off with additional comfortable seating, TV, tea, coffee, wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonard m
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

How very kind. I found your stay very enjoyable too! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#19 of 100 in Oban
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Connel
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lochside accommodation with contemporary decor. Superb views over the sea, hills and islands. Variety of freshly cooked breakfasts and good buffet. Conservatory with panoramic views. Library of books and DVDs. Tea/coffee with home baking on arrival. Dinner three nights a week. Woodburning stove in lounge in winter.Sea kayaking also arranged. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strumhor

Address: Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Price Range: $93 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Strumhor Connel, Scotland - Oban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing