We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

With two couples we visited Saint James in Bouliac for a lunch. The reservation by phone was very adequate and friendly. A good start. We asked and were seated outside in the garden in the shadows with a beautiful view over Bordeaux. Staff were very friendly though a bit reserved. We ordered the lunch suggestion of the Chef and enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank K B
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear K B, Many thanks for this lovely report concerning your meal with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the meal and the service on the terrace that we have. Your comments will be shared with the team and they will be a nice source of motivation for them. Kindest regards, Anthony Torkington General Manager More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ Very nice hotel location and beautiful facilities + Nice pool + Helpful staff - Very dirty room (hair everywhere, not cleaned properly in general) - Room a bit ratty in general (it lookes like no one has an eye on keeping the room in shape) - The pictures in the room description looks completely different to the room we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux

Helpful?
Thank Franzignore
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear Franzignore, Many thanks for having taken the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. The issues that you have raised concerning housekeeping have been discussed with the team – it is a shame that you did not mention them during your stay as we could have looked into them immediately. All of our rooms are different and therefore... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked our stay at Le Saint James using points on our credit card. After an unfortunate mix up (on the part of the credit card company) we arrived at the hotel and they had no record of our reservation. The front desk manager, Emmanuela, was incredibly kind and did everything she could for us. They allowed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear Laura C, Many thanks for this lovely report on your stay with us that we have shared with all of the team. It is always a great pleasure for us to see happy guests and be able to help them when we can. Emmanuelle was delighted to have looked after you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
496 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights at Le St James and loved both the beautifully designed hotel and the quiet location above Bordeaux. We had a standard room which was large and with a very comfortable - if somehow very high - bed. Views from the room are stunning - a real shame though that all shades were controlled by one remote... More 

Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitjb
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear whiterabbitjb, Many thanks for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and we have taken into account your comments on the blinds and the shower. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Saint-James again in the future. Kindest regards... More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Our stay at the St. James exceeded all of our expectations. We loved the quiet location and the attentiveness of the entire staff, in particular the help and attention given to us by Mathilde Ferhat. She was enthusiastic about her job, the hotel and went above and beyond what we expected. She is a great asset to the hotel and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Napleslady1
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear Napleslady1, Many thanks for these kind words that have been shared with the team and Mathilde in particular. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Anthony Torkington General Manager More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

We arrived and parked in the car park at the bottom of the hill and walked up, where we met the Hotel Manager. We realised that you should unload baggage at the top and then the car can be taken down by the porter. We received a friendly welcome at reception and were then taken to our room with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanC001
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear JanC001, It is always lovely to read nice feedback from guests – and your comments are great to read ! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Saint-James – effectively a very different hotel architecturally where staff are dedicated to making guests happy. Your comment on the atmosphere in the hotel makes us delighted as week seek to provide... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

We booked a one night stay in combination with a dinner at the Bistro down the street (not the same kitchen as the hotel). The room was upgraded free of charge and the view is amazing, although the surrounding is perhaps not as fabulous as some pictures suggest; there are a few grapes growing in the garden but this place... More 

Helpful?
Thank DirkPV
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear DirkPV, Many thanks for your feedback. Effectively we are not in the middle of wine fields – we actually tend to promote the vineyard by saying that it is the second smallest in Bordeaux ! I am delighted that you appreciated the service that is effectively the heart of our job. I have spoken to our porter, who has... More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

We were booked in for Easter weekend and had no idea what to expect from the Saint James hotel. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and Mathilde went out of her way to help us, we had not booked into the gastronomic restaurant that was now full but she quickly sorted a table for us, we were too early for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luxuryhound
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear Luxuryhound, Many thanks for your glowing report following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Saint-James and your comments on the staff are a major source of encouragement for the team. The people that you have quoted have been congratulated – that is what hospitality is all about ! We hope to have the pleasure... More 

Duras, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

We went for our anniversary and was a great choice. Wonderful hotel overlooking Bordeaux. St James restaurant was excellent. Rooms very spacious and modern. Staff great. We arrived Friday evening (6pm-ish) and the traffic on the Motorway/Rocard was terrible, so suggest avoid arriving between say 5 and 7. Outside that would be lighter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan R
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear Bryan R, Many thanks for the feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and are particularly pleased on the comments you made concerning the staff. We are proud of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Anthony Torkington General Manager More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

We spent few days in Le Saint James between Christmas and NYE. We discovered the region and we stayed in this great design hotel. The room was big with lots of light, the service was good but not top as we expected and the highlight of the stay was Le Bistro were you can enjoy local gastronomy at a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank lacasagran
ATorkington, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review

Dear Annanit2016, Many thanks for the feedback following your stay with us. We have shared your comments with the team and notably the service issue. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest regards, Anthony Torkington General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (142)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouliac
4.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#2 of 172 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
3.9 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
16.6 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 172 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
4.0 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 172 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux

Address: 3 Place Camille Hostein, 33270 Bouliac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bouliac
Price Range: $267 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauterive Saint James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay