We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Queens Head
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

recently returned after a lovely visit earlier in the year, great place to stay, was, once again, made to feel very welcome, lovely friendly staff, our room was very clean and comftable, wifi available throughout.. we enjoyed both a bar meal and an evening meal in the restaurant during our stay...all very nice, I look forward to coming back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank jfoster142
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 2 night stay in room 15. We must admit that first impressions about the hotel weren't great. Its fair to say its not the poshest hotel weve stayed in from a decor point of view but what it lacks on that front it makes up for on excellent food and a friendly and helpful staff. we've... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Kevin, Thanks for the lovely review, Posh we are most definitely not, but clean and friendly we certainly are, and we do strive to make our guests comfortable. I hope you will stay with us again and we will endeavour to achieve a better overall rating. Thanks again Teresa More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner & I decided to give it a whirl. We opted for the two meals for £9.99 and a free dessert. My partner had minestrone soup it's consistency was thick & average tasting. My starter was supposed to be sunblush tomato with olives & rocket salad with pesto dressing & parmesan shavings). Mine arrived with black olives, cucumber, rocket,... More 

Helpful?
Thank artyclarty42
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Artyclarty42, Where have you been?? we stopped doing this very popular menu back in July and had very good feedback, 2 courses for £9.99 with a free dessert... I apologise your salad was missing some components, very easily rectified if you had pointed it out to the waitress. As for the ice cream, its dairy ice cream, made with... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was a disappointing visit. The hotel's decor is extremely tired and the place has clearly seen better days. We were not made to feel welcome. Our rather shabby room was up many poorly decorated stairs and corridors. The toilet seat and shower head were broken. We had dinner here - the food was good, but it took an hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen E
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

The Queens Head is indeed very old 1780's to be precise and has seen lots of changes over the years. I am concerned that you did not feel you were made welcome as my staff are always noted for being very friendly, I have messaged you regarding this. I have had no reports from housekeeping of a broken toilet seat... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 1 night for Rothbury Rocks festival. Lovely pub, friendly staff and locals. Had a great time and the bed was sooo comfortable (Room 3). It isn't super modern, it is an old characterful building, but the room was clean and had everything we needed. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Viv R
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't even stay and sacrificed the cost as the place was so bad. The room was an attic room, it was small and we thought it smelt of smoke (although the manager denied this). There was food (Indian style pickles/sauces in dishes) left in the dining room uncovered which was covered in flies. The whole place looked run down... More 

Helpful?
Thank maureen b
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Firstly may I just say, I am not a hypocrit and so obviously will not say thank you for this review. I watched these customers from when they arrived, they obviously did not like the look of the outside of the pub, (which is I will admit is a large stone Georgian lump and is under some renovation,) they also... More 

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Time for a quiet holiday with my wife. Had never stayed here before, never even checked it out on TripAdvisor. Arrived and shown to our room, agreed we were early, but the room was not ready. Poor Gina the manageress went into a flat spin, could not apologise enough. No problem, we will go for a walk. On return room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bar area comfortable if not inspiring. Menu ok and food acceptable. Service a little haphazard bit very friendly. Not a great beer selection considering what is available locally. Dog friendly. We had a steak sandwich and a ploughman a which were both fresh and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Kate T
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Kate, Thanks for leaving your review. Sorry about the ales, we always have 4 on but as we are a Punch Pub we are only allowed to stock what they supply, so we are somewhat limited when it comes to local ales we get what we can, when we can. Teresa More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice sized room with a big bathroom. The dinner we ate in the restaurant was superb. The staff bent over backwards to be helpful, and the manager let us spend a good part of a rainy afternoon sitting in the pub while we waited for a taxi. Very pleasant experience all the way around.

Helpful?
Thank Thayer C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

Great little local pub, clean, tidy and comfy, great food and very good value, in a great central location for visiting rural Northumberland. The staff were very friendly and offered their help in every way. Will call again.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Jonathan, Lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, its very much appreciated and we hope you will come and see us again soon. Teresa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#8 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range: $67 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay