We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portsonachan Hotel

GreenLeadersBronze level
06/20/2017 06/21/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Portsonachan Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,575: English reviews
Start your review of Portsonachan Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My parents bought us a 3 night bed and breakfast break for Christmas. We arrived to glorious views, the hotel staff were extremely welcoming including our family dog Harvey. Our self catering lodge was not quite ready so we ordered drinks from the bar and drank them outside on the terrace enjoying the absolutely stunning views of Loch Awe. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo S
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you for your kind review, glad to hear that you all had a great time. Kind Regards Gary

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent accommodation, first class food at reasonable prices, friendly staff with nothing to much trouble.This was a Birthday treat from our family and it more than met our expectations, Looking forward to our next visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _bfgbet
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review, look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Liz

Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you read some of my reviews you will see I like to be positive, if I can. Unfortunately that is only possible about the food at this hotel, the rest leaves an awful lot to be desired. We were 2 couples on a 3 day break, that had been purchased at a Food Festival last year. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek R Thank you for your review of Portsonachan Hotel. I am very sorry you were disappointed in your stay, but as I explained on your departure, we are not the Ardanaiseig Hotel (which you have previously stayed) and your really should not compare a £250 + per night hotel to Portsonachan. We do not provide a turn down...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in one of the lodges here for a 3 night break and we will definitely be coming back. The lodge was well equipped, clean and quiet and had lovely views. We had breakfast each morning and dinner a couple of nights in the hotel and the food is fabulous, it's served in a lovely conservatory overlooking the loch. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Alison, Look forward to your return visit Kind Regards Gary

Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been many times and although the apartments are a little tired , the service , food and views are well worth it ( no where will you get value for money as good as this !) Dogs are welcome and are accommodated for the walks are amazing highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela h
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful warm welcoming staff. A lovely dog friendly hotel, fabulous views. We had a self contained ground floor apartment, we could have been self catering but chose to eat all our meals in the hotel for the 5 days we stayed. A tranquil location. We had all our meals in the conservatory so our well behaved dog could join us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keitheleri
Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you can handle a few miles of dreadful single track roads, the view from the conservatory will make the trip worthwhile. This is a "get away from it" hotel which was very quiet when we visited but the service was good, food was good value and the staff very friendly. They have log cabins to rent too which look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel because we were attending a wedding reception nearby, and didn't realise we were to find a hidden treasure! The view was stunning, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. The apartment was well appointed with a loch-side balcony. We'll definitely be back again for a longer stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie543
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melanie, Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you soon for a longer stay Kind Regards Gary

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location for those who wish to get away from it all and not be to far away from civilisation. We stayed in the coach house apartment which was very spacious and well kited out The staff are warm and friendly. They do all they can to make your trip as great as possible. No problems with the heating this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, hopefully you will be back for a third time! Kind Regards Gary

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place and stunning views of the lock. My husband brought a voucher some time previously and friends decided to come with us. We had 3 nights and had a lovely time. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and evening menu was just as good. The hotel is full of character and the snug lounge with its sofas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
Portsonachan H, Manager at Portsonachan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda Thank you for your lovely review. I am very sorry to hear about your bed, perhaps you could e-mail me at the hotel and let me know which room you were staying in, I will arrange to change the mattress asap. We do change our mattresses on a regular basis, but all feedback is gratefully received. Kind Regards...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

663 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (645)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (171)
Viewed
View from Room (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (258)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
06/20/2017 06/21/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
337 reviews
8.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,341 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
401 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.9 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Price Range: $106 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Portsonachan Hotel staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Portsonachan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Loch views from front of Hotel are amazing, rooms at back still very good backing on to quiet single track road.”
_bfgbet, 6 days ago | Read review
“greaf areas to sit and admire the views out with the rooms”
lindamJ9661QC, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The Ness ( self catering and well kitted out ) in the Coach house building is fantastic with beautiful views of Loch Awe.”
CMcilhargey, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms from first and second floor with loch view additional cost but the is negligible.”
ELAINE068, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms with a loch view are priced more highly, but it depends what you want!”
lynneaboutloughborol, Feb 28, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
Elvoline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates