SBH Club Paraiso Playa

SBH Club Paraiso Playa

Lomo De Acebuche, S/n, 35620 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura Spain
Traveler (1691)
Panorama of the Adapted Suite at the SBH Club Paraiso Playa
360
Panoramas (14)
Piscina
Pool & Beach (329)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Esquinzo
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.7
The SBH Club Paraíso Playa is a modern hotel in the Esquinzo Beach, a hotel to enjoy the holiday, with activities designed for all ages.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Street parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Lomo De Acebuche, S/n, 35620 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Puerto del Rosario Airport
39.1 mi
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,220 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

SBH Club Paraiso Playa has garnered accolades for its diligent and amiable staff, even as some guests experienced delays and occasional service hiccups. While the hotel enjoys a beachfront setting that many find perfect for a tranquil retreat, opinions on the hotel’s atmosphere suggest it could benefit from a revamp to invigorate its outdated charm. Roominess and cleanliness are consistent praises among travelers, but they also commonly note rooms could use modernization. The pools are a highlight, yet travelers advise they may need better upkeep. Despite its cleanliness and location, the hotel's value proposition is questioned due to additional charges and facilities that do not meet expectations.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Tired
Rooms
Dated
Value
Pricey
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,220Review176Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 317
  • 477
  • 232
  • 107
  • 87
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Speedqueenie wrote a review Jan 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom73 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Before I begin, let me tell you that the majority of guests are German, which may leave you feeling a bit isolated if it's not your native language, or if you've come for solitude, as I have.

Also, the hotel is a bus ride away from tourist centres such as Costa Calma and Morro Jable. The bus fare is approx €1.50 each way and it stops very close to the hotel - just ask st reception.

The pool is lovely and the views from the sunbathing area are spectacular. The dining area is large and there's lots of choice as far as food is concerned.

I didn't experience the nightlife in the hotel as I was tucked up in bed by 9pm each night, but the guests seemed to enjoy it and the animation team were friendly, enthusiastic and encouraged everyone to join in.

The rooms need an upgrade. The bathroom is fairly modern but tte beds are uncomfortable and I was given twin beds and not offered a double. I've read that there are no double beds in the whole hotel, but I'm not sure if that's true.

The beach below is lovely. There is a walkway that leads down to it which includes 100 steps. You can walk along to the next beach easily if the tide is out, but be warned there are a lot of nudists on it. If you have children with you, this may be an issue.

WiFi in the hotel is not free and neither are beach towels.

If you want to use the salon, the lady takes cash only.

My favourite and most helpful member of staff was Paula on reception.

Worth it for the views.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Dear Speedqueenie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay at our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We always welcome the feedback as it allows us to continually improve the experience which we create for all our guests. The south of the island used to be predominately German tourism, however this has changed in recent years and we are very proud to have a good mix of different nationalities such as English, German, French, Spanish, etc. We can guarantee that all aspects of our hotel are designed for our international mix of our guests, might it be the entertainment, food or drinks. We can confirm you that we have an ongoing plan for maintenance and refurbishment to ensure our installations are in the best conditions for the comfort of all our guests. We also regret that you felt that the mattress of your bed was not comfortable. We regret that you have not contacted us during your stay to find a solution to this problem. As you have already correctly commented, all of our rooms are equipped with single beds. On request, we can also tie these together. In order to not increase all room rates, our central has decided to let decide each guest which extra services like Wifi they will use. Other hotels include these prices in the room rates. In contrast to the pool towels our guests receive this against a deposit of 10€ and each change costs 1€ which will be donated to an organisation who tries to bring back our turtles to Fuerteventura. For further information you can either visit our official website or our facebook page. We will take the opportunity to inform you that we offer a Premium Service which includes one fruit basket and one bottle of water at arrival, wifi, safe, bathrobe, pool towel, coffee and tea facilities in the room. We hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in one of our hotels. Kind regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim C wrote a review Jan 2020
Des Moines, Iowa3 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is amazing and has stunning views. I was fortunate to have an ocean view room and at night could just lay in bed and see the stars through the patio windows. Wonderful.

Room was basic but clean and as I just needed to sleep, this wasn't an issue. The mattresses left a bit to be desired and probably were closer to what I've encountered in 2 star hotels but not a deal breaker.

Impressive swimming pools and plenty of areas to just relax. Not to mention the miles of amazing beaches and the ocean at the bottom of the cliff.

I was well happy with the choice and quality of food at the restaurant. I also can't rave enough about the restaurant staff. They were just amazing and probably the friendliest, happiest and most attentive bunch I have ever encountered! I don't know who creates such a positive work vibe but full credit to them as they gave an impression of truly loving their jobs and appreciating the guests. Bar staff were very friendly too.

While I didn't attend much of any of the shows each night, from what I could see they were doing a great job entertaining and the head guy (Luca?) really is quite talented.

Front desk staff ranged from great to...not so, unfortunately. I experienced a bit of an odd situation which, while was my own fault at first, could have easily been remedied by a bit of common sense and courtesy from them.

Let’s just say, if a guest is dumb enough to forget that you took their passport when they checked in and has obviously forgotten to collect it in 6 days, maybe try and let them know you still have it? Even if you don't think to call the room, leave a note under their door or return it to them, at least make a note to hand it back to them when they give you their name and room number at check-out time.

When I finally realized my error and returned to the hotel an hour after checking out, the young lady’s rudeness and cold defensive posture was really not in line with the kindness and warmth shown by the rest of the staff. Forgetting to collect my passport after the first night was my error. Them staring at it for a week and not letting me know they still had it was baffling. Fortunately I didn't have a flight to catch but if I had it could have been a serious situation. Or maybe consider changing the check in policy and make a photocopy and hand the passport right back like a lot of other hotels do.

Anyway, aside from that, I would definitely want to visit this hotel again as it really provided for a great holiday experience overall and think it deserves to be considered. I still can't get over how cheery and happy in their jobs the restaurant staff were. Seriously impressive. Thank you, thank you, thank you : )
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear Tim C, We are glad to read that you were able to enjoy your stay at our SBH Club Paraiso Playa based on the good location directly in front of the beautiful beach of Esquinzo. Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strengths and we are quite disappointed to hear that you did not felt it so of all our staff. We do apologize for the behaviour of our receptionists, because our intention would not be to have a rude attitude with our guests. We have shared your comments with the involved department, thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you soon again here with us. Kind regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Linda M wrote a review Sep 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom29 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Day four of our holiday and thought it was time for a little honest review. The hotel is definitely a good hour or more away from the airport in a very quiet area of jandia. We arrived after 10pm when the restaurant was closed but the lovely receptionist had organised some food for us which we were very grateful for. We had a room with a sea view (817) which was pleasant enough (view was gorgeous), beds were comfortable but I would suggest asking for an extra pillow as they were a little lacking. Unfortunately the aircon isn’t great (even in September the room is hot!) and our safe deposit box didn’t work, but receptionist was happy to put out valuables in the hotel safe.

Not many of the staff speak English but nothing google translate can’t solve. All the staff are pleasant and helpful and work incredibly hard, and the rooms are cleaned every day and stocked with toiletries.

The food is fabulous and there is a huge variety. Some people might think it’s repetitive but there is such a variety that you can certainly eat something different every day.

The pools are great, plenty of sun loungers and if you need beach towels you can hire them for €20 refundable deposit.

In all I would say it was a great place to stay if you want to chill out and relax by the pool or take long walks along the beach (yes there are definitely some nudists about but each to their own)

My only slight downside would be the evening entertainment. It’s definitely slightly lacking, and although it’s different each night, only lasts for about an hour. But overall I would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: €5 for a taxi to the nearest supermarket. Hotel receptionist will book for you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Dear Linda M, Thank you for your review of our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We are very happy to read that you had a nice welcome and that you were very satisfied with your stay. We are proud that both our cuisine and the friendliness of our staff have been remembered so positively. Our range of animation and entertainment adapts to the needs of the majority of our guests. We know that it is difficult to satisfy everyone's tastes, but based on the evaluation of guest feedback, we try to continually adjust our programs accordingly. Thanks again for your comment and recommendation! It was a pleasure for us to be your hosts and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iain D wrote a review Mar 2023
5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed staying here. The one of the pools being heated made a big difference and my son and I spent lots of time in it. The beach was literally a stone’s throw away with plenty of sand in the dune to keep the small one occupied.

Our room was a really decent size and housekeeping were fabulous - providing extra blankets and pillows to ward of the nighttime chill.

The all inclusive offering was very good, with a decent choice of dishes to choose from at each meal, with snacks and fruit throughout the day.

Sufficient drinks choices too - hot, cold, soft or alcoholic.

If you’re expecting a wander into town you’ll be needing decent walking shoes, a hire car or a 15 minute cab ride; but we were content chilling poolside or in the beach.

All staff were friendly and helpful - definitely a hotel to ad for your shortlist.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Mar 13, 2023
Dear IWDe6, We thank you very much for your excellent comment and we are so glad to know that we could guarantee you a relaxing break at our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We make a great effort to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all our guests, working every day to offer them an unforgettable vacation. It is an excellent reward to read reviews like yours. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy G wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the Hotel reception to check in told the room wasn't ready and to come back in an hours time
I was given my wrist band so I could get some food and drink

Room was clean with two single beds pushed together
The room has an empty fridge
A tv with HDMI port if you want to use a firestick
Towels and shower gel changed every day but no hand soap
Plenty of wardrobes, although one of the doors was broken. Balcony with table, two chairs and drying rack.
A safe but not free
No WIFI unless you pay
No kettle or cups unless you pay.

Buffet style restaurant with self service drinks area. Staff seem happy, and fast at clearing the tables.
Food was good and varied

First pool with snack bar and toilets nearby
Second pool bigger and quieter with more sunbeds
Kids pool
Plenty of other areas with sunbeds

Poolside bar has a self service tea, coffee, beer and soft drinks area. Or if you want a cocktail etc you go to the bar staff.
There is also food available
The main Bar opens in the evening with a self service area for tea, coffee, soft drinks and beer.
Other drinks are available from the bar staff but there is a queue which increases as the night goes on.
Lots of steps leading down to the beach.
There is no hotel presence on the beach, so don't expect sunbeds or bar. Sea warmer than the pools. Great sunrises just remember you have all them steps to go back up.
Overall, the staff try their hardest for you.
The building is in need of some maintenance
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Oct 18, 2022
Dear Andy G, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We are very glad that you had a great stay with us and that you positively acknowledged our good and varied food. We are particularly proud to read that our staff tried their hardest for you. We make a great effort to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all our guests. It is an excellent reward to read reviews like yours. We take note of your kind suggestion on the maintenance of the building and we inform you that necessary repairs are carried out throughout the year, especially in low season, so as not to disturb our guests. We would like to highlight that we are fully committed to taking care of all the facilities of our hotel to guarantee guests an impeccable vacation. We also take the opportunity to point out that guests can always enjoy free WiFi access in the lobby area. We thank you again for sharing your comments that will be of great help to future guests. Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa N wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It started off so so well the food was delicious the hotel room was tidy, beautiful view and kind staff. After 2 days it took a completely different turn. I didn't bring a charger with me because it wouldn't work here (british) and there were no USB plugs in the room, I went to reception to ask for a European plug but the guy kept insisting I buy a converter for 10 euros. Thankfully another british Italian family lent me their for a day and I could go into town to get a new one. ( Nothing to do with this but be careful in janida I got scammed to buy a 40 euro charger that wasn't even right for my phone so i had to go back)

After this all was good or at least I thought so because when I came back from the beach my door was open my photo stand missing, some of my more expensive clothes, Prada, and Chanel were missing, and also 20 euros were missing. The director seemed trustworthy so I let him do his stuff he said when reading my door it was only my card which was interesting because my towels were taken and my bed was made. Then I asked him if someone would be able to take me to buy a new photo stand he said he'll see what he can do and never got back to me. Yesterday he asked me if I had found my stuff , so clearly he didn't believe me. I didn't want my holiday ruined so I went into janida again and got myself a photo stand for 10 euros and moved on. Then day number 4 approached and food was getting worse and worse but on day number 4 I was eating chicken and halfway through I realized parts of it were raw, today I vomited as soon as I woke up and been having cramps and diahorrea.

The island itself is beautiful, and the locals are kind, the waiters and the cleaners are also kind and ready to help. I do recommend you visit I just don't recommend you book your stay with this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Jul 21, 2023
Dear Vanessa N, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We are sorry you made this bad experience and would like to apologize for the inconveniences occurred. We assure you that after checking the electronic key card opener we did not register any door openings or any irregularities. About to help you, we are not allowed to take any of the guests to our private cars, thats why we offered you a taxi. About the charger we will inform you as well as future guests that we have few at the reception and always happy to help any guests needs as well as with charger. We are not selling anything at the recepcion. We are very sorry that based on your experience you have decided not to visit us again. Your review will help us improve our performance and increase guest satisfaction. However, if you change your mind, we will be happy to welcome you back to our home and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Best regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
demi p wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At the beginning all seemed okay but as the holiday progressed the staff became quite rude (mainly the reception staff) and tops have gone missing from our hotel room. we asked the reception and cleaners to search but they were extremely rude about it. We asked the cleaner if she had taken it as nobody else can get in and we offered €150 to get it back and they replied saying they want to see the money first. food was extremely repetitive, wifi didn't work and the bed broke, the first time we sat on it (i only weigh 9lbs). defo not a 4s star
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: get a spot by the pool early, wouldn't recommend the beach for families as it's very nudist,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SBH Hotels Resorts, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Mar 4, 2024
Dear 844demip, Thank you for posting your review concerning your stay at our SBH Club Paraíso Playa. Regarding the missing shirt incident, we understand your concern and have thoroughly investigated the matter. Our front desk was notified and you were advised to come back the next morning after we spoke with our housekeeping. Despite our efforts, the housekeeper could not recall seeing the shirt and had no record of interaction with you. We must emphasize that our housekeeper is a trusted and veteran worker, and this is the first instance of such an issue. Considering your acknowledgment of spending your vacation in a state of continuous drunkenness and the location where you mentioned leaving the shirt (overlooking the Lounge Bar), we regret to inform you that we cannot assume responsibility for the loss. It's important to note that our hotel is only accountable for items stored in the safe. We would also like to take this opportunity to highlight that our team members, irrespective of their roles, prioritize kindness and hospitality. Many of our reviews reflect positive interactions with our staff. We did observe that there was no response from your part to the housekeeper's greeting, as mentioned, and we encourage mutual respect and courtesy. Regarding the issue with the bed leg, we appreciate your notification at the reception on the 19th day. However, considering the duration of your stay from the check-in date, it would have been beneficial to inform us earlier. Nevertheless, we promptly addressed the matter on the same day it was reported. Due to the incident, you've chosen to express your dissatisfaction through this negative comment, a stance we respectfully disagree with. Kind regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RodBaines wrote a review Nov 2023
Reading15 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are happy, as an all inclusive guest, to queue for over 30 to 40 minutes to get a drink in the one and only evening bar with only one bartender. If you are happy to leave you partner for 40 minutes each time you try and get a drink. If you are happy to clear tables yourself as they had insuffient staff in nearly every area. If you are happy to often fail to be able to get self service drinks due to broken machines, missing ingredients (coffee,flavourings), no glasses or cups. If you are happy to use a pool where the the barman allows glass because they cannot collect dirty plastic glasses off the tables and other areas. so have run out. If you are happy that they run out of Cava for 2 days. if you are happy to sit with dirty plates on your table for the entire meal, which atracts many pigeon outside. If you are happy to have a smelly room where you cannot lock the balcony door which is accesible from the walkway. etc. etc., then this is the hotel for you. The hotel deputy dirrector did try their very best to resolve, but I suspect this to be a SBH hotel group issue. If you cannot provide enough staff you shouldn't sell the rooms. To be fair it was a nice fine sandy beach, if you don't mind the 100 steps down/up and the numerous naturists strutting allong the beach. The other positive is that around the hotel pool/lounger areas there were alway loungers free and good umbella's available at any time of the day. Also the facitlities for kids looked good. There were howver many other issues not mentioned here. I always given excellent even when a hotel has a few issues, but this one had far to many issues.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont book unless they drastically increase their staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Dec 1, 2023
Dear RodBaines, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at our SBH Club Paraíso Playa. Regarding the issue of insufficient staff, it's worth noting that the ongoing challenges in attracting young people to the workforce can be influenced by various factors, including government assistance. Recognizing the broader societal context, we are continuously working to address and improve our service levels. In reference to the barman's policy on glass usage around the pool, we understand the importance of maintaining a clean and safe environment. Encouraging guests to dispose of plastic glasses in the designated areas rather than the general garbage is indeed a thoughtful suggestion. Once again, we wish to thank you for your valuable comments that help us to improve every day and hope you give us another chance to exceed your expectations. Kind regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Konrad wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is nowhere near 4 stars, I believe 2 stars would be too much for this hotel, rooms decoration straight out of 1980, extremely dirty and filthy, you can see paint coming out of the walls, I am not joking now the hotel is in a state of despair. I had the all inclusive option, the food was a freaking disaster, overcooked, tasteless and repetitive- same dishes being served all the time, no jokes you can eat better at your local McDonald’s. This is a mockery, I will never ever visit any SBH resort again, the management should seriously reconsider their poor business decisions, you can clearly tell the staff is overworked, I spoke to some employees in there, they work 6 days a week, they’ve been told not to take vacation as it won’t be approved due to lack of staff. I really feel sorry for the staff because most of them are extremely open, lovely people who really try their best to fulfil customers’ requests but there are certain obstacles they simply cannot overcome. It’s a shame because the hotel has a beautiful beach, pool area is also stunning, but the hotel is in a state of despair…
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Sep 20, 2022
Dear Konrad, We are disappointed to see that your stay at our SBH Club Paraiso was not up to your expectation and at the same time we are really surprised by your feedback. We find unfair that you compare our service with a 2* hotel. We strive daily to maintain a good level of care and cleanliness at the hotel and our technicians work always on site to maintain a 4-star standard. Besides necessary repairs are carried out throughout the year, especially in low season, so as not to disturb our guests. Our kitchen team also offers quality in the preparation, presentation and variety of dishes. Our products are always fresh and our chefs prepare them in different ways. We are proud to have a staff that is continually praised by our guests and whom we of course take well care of. They attention to guests so that everyone feels well cared for and at home. We are very sorry that based on your experience you have decided not to visit us again. However, if you change your mind, we would be delighted to welcome you back to our home on a renewed opportunity to gain your confidence back in our resorts. Best regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
daniel s wrote a review Aug 2022
12 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived an hour early (1pm), was told room wasn't ready until 2pm, fair enough. Was told at 2pm room wasn't ready and to wait in lobby. Told at 3pm room wasn't ready and to wait in lobby. Room finally ready at 4pm. Arrived at room, door was ajar. There was a grubby looking man with a can of WD40 in our room fixing the "electrics". Bit odd but ok. Was told the electrics were now fixed, but the aircon wasn't working, we told him not to worry for now and to fix it tomorrow as we were exhausted and just wanted to sleep. He understood and went to leave, only he couldn't because the hotel room door was broken and couldn't close. The lock had obviously been forced open previously and the wood around the lock was splintered and broken. He said he would return to "fix it". It was clear the whole door needed replacing, so while he was gone we trudged back to reception with our cases to ask for another room. Waited another half an hour, was given another room. Air con again not working, TV ditto, and the room door wasn't much better but we were so tired by this point we accepted it. At night we used a pen to wedge the door closed to avoid it rattling in the wind. The wind is LOUD when you're on the top floor, not the hotels fault obviously but it was like sleeping in a heavy storm every night. So day one, not the best.
The rest of the week was ok, the whole hotel lost water supply at one point but it was fixed within a couple of hours. The food here is not the best either. Breakfast was actually pretty good, but the lunches and dinners are badly cooked and tasteless and are repeated every couple of days. This hotel has good pools and has easy access to the beach down a staircase. Quite a few of the sun loungers are broken and that kind of sets the tone for the whole hotel. All the major things are there, but they're of low quality or in need of repair. The whole place needs a freshen up and some of the staff need some customer service training in understanding how to make guests feel welcome when they first arrive. Arrival is the first impression for guests and this needs improvement. We felt like an inconvenience on arrival. The front of house staff were nice enough, but they seemed overworked and unorganised when a coach of guests arrive. perhaps they need more staff at these times? Leila on reception was very helpful though.
Would not recommend this hotel im afraid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors - the wind is LOUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Feichtlbauer, Atención al cliente/recepción at SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Dear danielsO8906IS, Thank you for leaving us your feedback about your holiday in our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We have to admit that we are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay here with us and that we could not reach your expectations. We regret that our accommodation did not quite meet you expectations, as we aim to provide our guests with the facilities that are well maintained, comfortable, clean and equipped with the essentials needed to ensure a pleasant stay. We will send your comment to the management team as the opinión of our guests is what helps us to improve day by day. We would also like to reassure you that our professional chefs strive on a daily basis to satisfy all of our guests with the good quality ingredients and variety. We apologise if you did not receive this impression. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will give us an opportunity to change your impression of our company. Kind regards, The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from SBHDireccion
Costa Calma, Spain1 contribution12 helpful votes
Dear MIRIAM, With the AI by SBH service our guests can use the installations as well as the AI service in our sister hotels. Exceptions are SBH Costa Calma Palace, SBH Crystal Beach Hotel & Suites and SBH Royal Monica. You can book this service at any time at our reception. The supplement at the moment is 5,50€/pax/day. Best regards,
Answer from SBHDireccion
Costa Calma, Spain1 contribution12 helpful votes
Dear MIRIAM, At our snack bar, we provide a continental breakfast. For lunch, guests can enjoy options such as hamburgers, french fries, and more. In the afternoon, we offer a selection of pastries. Best regards,
Answer from SBHDireccion
Costa Calma, Spain1 contribution12 helpful votes
Dear Liviu-Alexandru C, We are pleased to offer our guests gluten-free and lactose-free dishes. However, we ask that you send us an email in advance with your request so that we can inform the chef about it and thus be able to offer you a larger selection. You can find our email address on our website. Best regards,
Answer from SBHDireccion
Costa Calma, Spain1 contribution12 helpful votes
Dear Elizabeth A, The small shop offers a selection of beach toys, however, beach umbrellas are available for purchase in the nearby city. Best regards,
Answer from SBHDireccion
Costa Calma, Spain1 contribution12 helpful votes
Querido Steve L, justo enfrente de nuestro hotel encontrarás oportunidades para practicar snorkel. Además, el muelle del puerto de Jandía ofrece otro gran lugar para esta actividad. Atentamente,
Joanne M wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch for mosquitos in your room, they are like vultures! "
Read full review
Spasimir V wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go enjoy your holiday and spend more time there."
Read full review
Sharon P wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"A lot of steps to the beach. Not disabled friendly "
Read full review
Ellen S wrote a tip Mar 2024
New York City, New York79 contributions118 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go only for sea view option room, you will not regret it"
Read full review
Ceri wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom87 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"- This hotel is secluded, consider a rental car from the airport. - Excursions are booked up quick, consider booking in advance"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Esquinzo area.
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunrise club paraiso playa hotel marabu, sunrise hotel fuerteventura, sunrise hotel paraiso playa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sunrise Club Paraiso Playa
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsFuerteventuraJandia PeninsulaPajaraEsquinzo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
317
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SBH Club Paraiso Playa - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Which popular attractions are close to SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Nearby attractions include Playa de Sotavento (2.6 miles), Playa de Sotavento de Jandía (2.8 miles), and Morro del Jable (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stetsons Gourmet, El Pellizco, and NOMADS proper burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SBH Club Paraiso Playa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Does SBH Club Paraiso Playa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is SBH Club Paraiso Playa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Esquinzo HotelsEsquinzo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EsquinzoHotels near SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars