We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

L'Auberge du Choucas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

We stayed at this beautiful place for eight days and will never forget it. Warm, welcoming staff, especially Madame who personally meets all of her guests at dinner each night. She treats it as her home and we felt so well looked after. Our room was large and well appointed with magnificent views to the mountains. The breakfasts and dinners... More 

Helpful?
Thank redpoppy4069
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We created a home worthy of such fine people as you and your friends. Thank you for your visit and kind appreciation. The wonderful experience is for us too, when we have the chance to welcome guests like you. It was a pleasure to talk with you. We hope the following days of your holiday were... More 

Grenoble
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We escaped to Choucas on a whim last winter for a one-night retreat away from Grenoble, and loved it so much we went back again last Friday for an impromptu off-season weekend away. (in both cases we enjoyed a 2 to 3 hour session at the splendid local Spa, not to be missed !) Last year we had bedroom 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diabolooooo
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Waouh ! Such well-informed guests ! Such a pleasure to welcome them ! Waiting for your next visit. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at the L'Auberge du Choucas during a motorcycle touring holiday at the beginning of June. We were immediately welcomed, in fact before we had even gone inside, by a young lady and the owner who were very friendly and spoke excellent English! We were given a large room, beautifully decorated in keeping with the period character... More 

Helpful?
Thank tigerexplorer2015
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, It was a pleasure to welcome you, we would have loved you to stay a few more days. So sorry our restaurant was closed early June (unfortunately, we cannot keep the restaurant open during low season, due to the French working cost). We hope to be able to welcome you in our restaurant another time during season. Waiting... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

We booked this hotel on reviews of excellent food in award winning restaurant only to be told on arrival that the restaurant was closed,our room was dark,the bath hardly big enough for a child,fake beams made of polystyrene ! Breakfast was appalling 18 euro for bread and jam,no yogurt and served by a women who frankly should not be in... More 

Helpful?
Thank courthous
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Mister, You booked a room in our hotel through a famous Online Travel Agent : our restaurant closing dates are indicated on their website. For people who reserve this way and do not want to read online indications concerning their reservation, they have the possibility to phone the hotel directly and ask for precisions. The price of your double room... More 

Travelers are raving about these Le Monetier-les-Bains hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

My partner and I ended up at L'Auberge du Choucas by accident when my motorbike broke down on a touring holiday in August 2015 and this is where our insurance chose to accommodate us. The room was large and spacious with a balcony. The staff could not have been more helpful and the owner even rang the garage on several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Light accidents sometimes bring a good surprise : that was the case when you arrived, we were glad to welcome you and help get your motorbike fixed (everybody would appreciate to get help in difficult situation)... If one day I get stuck with my motorbike around Ballynahinch, I am sure friendly people, like you, will take... More 

Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

Staff is very nice but owner is very bossy and arrogant. Room is very nice but not worth the price, bathroom is clean, bed is avg, restaurant is expensive, 7€ for a coffee!!!!! View is poor unless you pay 100€ more!!!way too expensive for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank RikHD
auberge_du_choucas, Responsable réception at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Your comment makes me think the following remarks : - "very traditionnal but not worth it" : as you well noticed the very traditional style of our house, does that mean tradition is not worth ? - during your short stay (1 night), you were welcomed by myself, you checked-out with my colleague, and you hardly saw or... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We are fans of the Relais Du Silence group of gastronomique hotels, but feel somewhat letdown by this one, particularly given some of the accolades in the reviews. We were comfortable with the amount asked but ultimately not what we got for it. An overly narrow room, with an extremely small enclosed toilet, and hot water that only arrived after... More 

Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We were happy to welcome you from 9th to 11th June. When you checked-out and paid your bill, you filled the usual comment card, giving the best marks (excellent) to all items. You forgot to leave the key of your room, and we couldn't reach you by phone nor by mail, so we were glad to receive it... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Travelling from Torino to Lyon and choose the mountain route. In Late April so wayyyyy off season. Even so we loved the place. While restaurants were a struggle to find the community was beautiful and we truly enjoyed everything about it. The hotel was wonderful and the staff were very helpful...so much so that the owner even called us on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

A truly very charming couple we had the pleasure to welcome and chat with ! Thank you again for your visit. Waiting for you during the ski season. Meanwhile, all the best for both of you. More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We spent two nights at le Choucas while skiing in Monetier. The snow was cold and hard, the reception at Choucas was warm and inviting. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. Nicely set up to allow one of us to slip out and ski while the other slept in. The set menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank rls1025
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your kind comment. The staff and me, we all enjoyed to welcome you and we hope you will be able to make a return trip to explore our chef’s cooking. Waiting for this pleasure, With my best regards More 

Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

My husband booked the Auberge for a weekend at the beginning of October after a very busy summer working and hosting many family and friends. We had such a warm welcome and very much enjoyed the food even though, for the auberge, it was very much low season prior to the build up to winter, Christmas and skiing. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank JuliaJones_11
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Brilliant clients such as you, are just what we need ! We are looking forward to welcome you again. Warm regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Monetier-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alliey & Spa Piscine
Hotel Alliey & Spa Piscine
#1 of 6 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Colchiques
Hotel Residence Les Colchiques
#4 of 6 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Bonnabel
Hotel Bonnabel
#3 of 6 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Chalet d'en Ho
Le Chalet d'en Ho
#1 of 4 in Nevache
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about L'Auberge du Choucas

Address: 17 rue de la Fruitiere, 05220 Le Monetier-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Le Monetier-les-Bains
Price Range: $109 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge du Choucas 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Auberge du Choucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Auberge Du Choucas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay