We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. George's Caye Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
St. George\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a little over a week at St. George's Caye. All the staff were extremely nice and very helpful. We had an "Over Water Cabana" and it was very nice. That side of the island is hotter and does not have a breeze like the beach side, but was beautiful and wouldn't have changed rooms at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SoxFan1987
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just got back from the resort and it was wonderful. The staff, the food and other guest were great. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, where you can relax and do things on your time, but get to the mainland for great excursions when needed, then this is the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank Panthers67144
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you visited us and had an excellent experience. See you soon. Thank you. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at St George's Caye with a lot of expectations: we read the reviews on tripadvisor and we really felt that this place was for us. We read thing like "little paradise" or "perfect honeymoon", but frankly this place is the opposite. Starting from the sewage smell across the whole resort, which made our stay very unpleasant. Going into... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Phil B
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

St. George's clearly was not the right place for you, and we are sorry you did not get what you were looking for. We constantly monitor to make sure we are accurately portraying the St. George's Caye Experience on our website, and we just completed a rate comparison study to ensure that we are very competitively priced. Travelers can read... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The staff is wonderful! They did everything they could to make my visit amazing. I enjoyed having coffee and freshly squeezed juice delivered to my cabana each morning. I could sit outside and look at the beautiful water. The food was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

I spent 4 nights at St George Caye and although I enjoyed my holiday, I wouldn’t recommend it. I admit I was misled by other reviews of the place which, in my opinion, were not factual. Overall the resort was run down. True, there was a hurricane which damaged the place a lot. But you can tell that things were... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank kiaren27
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Perhaps you would have been happier in with the crowds of San Pedro - we are not for everyone. I'm sure readers will note that you mention you came just days after we were hit with a hurricane. When comparing with hundreds of our other reviews, it seems clear that this had a real... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

Let me start by saying that yes, we showed up directly after Hurricane Earl, and the issues that entails were taken into account before writing this review. That said, I'll start with the good. The owner, Cap'n Ron, went out of his way to re-accommodate our party when it became evident that the hurricane was going to make a direct... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey K
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about our efforts to accommodate you after Hurricane Earl. We knew that everything would not be back to 100%, but we also knew that you and our other guests wanted to get to St. George's for at least part of your vacation. Readers will note that although we are in the tropics... More 

Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

We just had our first Belize vacation, and when planning where to stay and what to do, we had no idea except for guide books, Trip Advisor, and a few tidbits from friends who had visited previously; most who had stayed at either Caye Caulker or Caye Ambergris. We knew we didn't want to go to ultra touristy spots, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmandPete50
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

Excellent get away on perfect beaches in beautiful Belize. Excellent service, excellent food, unbelievably wonderful experience. My 1st visit in May, 2015 I stayed in one of the over-water cabana's where we got to experience blue crabs, sea horses and sting ray from our porch. My 2nd visit in December, 2015 I stayed on the other side of the island... More 

Helpful?
Thank KTLaugh
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We love our beaches. Some people see the glass as half empty because one side of the island has muddy sand and natural sea grass, and others see the glass as half full, swimming in the ocean off the beach on the other side. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Great diving. Dive masters were fantastic. Room was nice and clean. Food could have been better. Mayan ruins trip was well worth it. Didn't get to dive the blue hole because there weren't enough people to go. So make sure you bring plenty of people with you! Manager of the resort was very nice and polite. I would definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1040ez
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Yes, we agree, please bring more people with you! We love family and friend dive groups and they are sure to have an excellent ocean experience with our professionals. More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Pros: Great food (until head chef departed). Friendly staff. Good weather. Remote location. Minimum technology. Cons: Severe gastro-intestinal illness began a couple of days before departure and persisted for a week after the vacation. The quality of food presentation and preparation both dropped dramatically when the head chef departed toward the end of the holiday. The resort cancelled excursions without... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JTKinSATX
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Even though you point out many issues that we have, I want to express my sincere thanks to you as your comments help us improve. Some of the items you mention were reflections of personal taste, but some are quite important to the overall experience of our guests. We have taken and are planning several changes to address the issues.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

378 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (342)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's Caye
23.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
24.6 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#2 of 3 in Turneffe Island
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
21.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. George’s Caye Resort is a secluded paradise located on a private residence island just seven miles from Belize City. Accessible only by boat, St. George’s Caye feels miles away from everyday life thanks to its cozy cabanas, breathtaking views of the Caribbean, and the highest level of service in Belize. Divers, anglers and those looking to just get away from it all will find everything they desire at St. George’s Caye Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. George's Caye Resort

Address: Beachfront, St. George's Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > St. George's Caye
Price Range: $321 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George's Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your St. George's Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George`s Caye Hotel St. George`s Caye
St Georges Caye Hotel
St. George's Caye Resort Belize/Belize Cayes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay