We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Refugio Marnes

Ptd Marnes 20115, 3720, Benissa Spain
Traveler (131)
Room & Suite (21)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Benissa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Agritourism Spain Refugio Marnes, consists of a huge old Finca (estate) spanning 50 acres of agricultural land and it lies at about 500 meters altitude near to the Jalon Valley we focus on offering ecotourism /sustainable tourism in a form that is unique in terms of location and design. Three buildings are located on the finca ´La Finca´ where 3 unique B&B rooms are situated: the old stables ´Los Establos´ where you can find another 3 great rooms, and the lovely cottage a converted sheepfold ´La Ruina´ that accommodates up to four persons. Further you can find the glamping tent La Jaima, where up to four persons can stay comfortably. Just outside of the property we offer a beautifully restored Finca with its own private pool in the middle of nature ´Finca Iris´ (for up to 8 pers) We offer Eco & Chic accommodations and all the electricity is solar. The emerald green tiled pool has been designed to fit in with its Mediterranean setting and is free to use for all guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
109Reviews
2Q+A
7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 13
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Perfect stay. Gorgeous isolated place. Great pool. Great staff. Beautiful and nice dog. You need a car though. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is amazing. Mostly Dutch visitors. Nice walking trails from the finca. Highly recommended!
Read more
Had a very relaxing stay at Refugio Marnes, despite the ridiculous Easter rain. The house is beautifully restored, very comfortable and cosy. We had the en-suite room in the main house, which was very peaceful. I loved all the little decorative details, a mix of eclectic vintage mixed with modern pieces, and loved the cool wiring system and light switches! I think the owners must be designers/architects... You wouldn't think you were so close to the mass tourism of the Costa Blanca, although you do need a vehicle to get around, but don't be put off by the winding road up to the house! We were intending on checking out the local climbing but couldn't due to rain, and also didn't get to hang out in the surrounding gardens/grounds, but we did hang out in the main living space a couple of evenings, in front of the log burner, with their friendly old cat for company, and their dog when he felt like sitting with us. We'd love to stay there again with better weather, and be able to enjoy the local countryside and crags. Would definitely recommend to those looking for a beautiful rural hideaway.
Read more
Response from Refugiomarnes, Owner at Refugio Marnes
Responded Apr 24, 2019
Hello Penny and Adam, Thank you so much for this fantastic review and compliments, making us blush! We were and are so sorry about the weather, I am sure that next time you will have the weather you deserve! We are looking forward! Best Regards Richard & Willem
Read more
+1
I spent two weeks at Refugio Marnes in May 2016 with my wife and two girls, aged 4 and 2. During the first week we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the tent which contained all of the facilities we needed. It was a perfect place to relax and feel connected with nature. Our girls enjoyed the vicinity of the donkeys, which they fed on a number of occasions. We also loved the pool and the fantastic views over the terrain and surroundings. Hard to imagine that you are only little over half an hour away from the Spanish coast. I also rented a race bike from Solybike in Calpe (recommended by the owners) and managed to get some exercise in the astonishing hills and mountains around Refugio Marnes (the climb from Benissa is a nice challenge yet manageable for most enthusiastic cyclists). We spent our second week in the Bed & Breakfast to have a bit more luxury. The rooms were beautiful, breakfast an excellent start of the day and the evening dinners with other guest organised by the owners were very special (both excellent in quality and "gezellig"). In short, we I would recommend everyone to consider a stay at Refugio Marnes and everything it has to offer!
Read more
A truly wonderful experience . Beautiful setting albeit a long and winding road ! Really accessible from the main autoroute and a good road in ...but so quiet when you arrive at your beautiful destination just a few km from the Costa Blanca ! Warm welcome from the owners into their beautifully renovated home and accommodation. Swimming in the purpose built swimming pool was like swimming in a mountain pool surrounded by amazing scenery . We were lucky enough to arrive on an evening when dinner was available that was a bonus ! Dinner and wine ! was amazing and very reasonable priced .... and we enjoyed it together with other guests . The room we had in the main house was beautifully furnished and with a large comfortable bed .We slept well and awoke to an excellent breakfast served with other guests making for a very convivial start to the day . I believe if this is not your preference alternative arrangements can be made to dine or have breakfast elsewhere in the grounds . We would love to return to this oasis of charm one day . Thank you so much for a super stay at Refugio Marnes !
Read more
If you like to relax on your own, this is not the place to be. Despite the fantastic, well designed accomodation on a amazing location. No privacy at all. Rooms very noisy. You can hear every word your neighbours say, or taken a shower. Outside on the communal terrace you sit just 2 meters from your neighbours. In this remote area there are many mosquitoes which made that you can't sit outside at night in your shorts and you have to keep the doors closed Poor organised. When we arrived they didn't know we were comming and we were lucky they had a room left. the bookins system was not up to date They had to clean the room first before we could move in. At the morning we left they asked us to pay for the stay. But we had payed the total amount for the room allready 4 months before. Hot water not always available and very poor wi-fi (only inside)
Read more
Response from Willem100_12, Owner at Refugio Marnes
Responded Jun 27, 2016
Dear guests Thank you for your critics in this actual review and we want you to know that we will take it very mucho into account! We are very sorry for the fact that you didn’t have a good time during your stay with us. We are very sorry for the unclear situation on your arrival and that won´t happen again. It was not that we didn’t register your booking properly but in the morning we checked our bookings and your reservation didn’t appear because of an IT problem. But it was not that there was no room reserved for you! There was a room booked on your name and we had it ready for you in 25 minutes whilst we served you a drink and a bite. Then we can assure you that all buildings are completely build according Spanish building regulations and this is the first complain about being ´very noisy´. But of course we will take this point also very much into account and look seriously in to it. About privacy; The rooms are located in the former stables and yes the three rooms are next to each other and come on to a balcony. When when you visited us only the room next to you was occupied and we were on the whole premises 8 persons dived over 3 separate buildings and 20 hectare of land. You were completely free to sit where ever you wanted to create more space between you and the few other guests. Refugio Marnes is known (see all other reviews) as a very quiet and private place with a huge amount of space to be used freely. If you would have told us about this and your other concerns and complaints during your stay we could have solved them in the instant, have looked for other options ore point out the possibilities etc……. we are very sorry you didn´t, Best Regards Willem Pieffers and Richard Steenblik
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$99 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainValencian CountryProvince of AlicanteCosta BlancaBenissa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing