We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ptd Marnes 20115, 3720, Benissa Spain
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (136)
Pool & Beach (15)
Room & Suite (15)

About

#1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Benissa
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.7
Agritourism Spain Refugio Marnes, consists of a huge old Finca (estate) spanning 50 acres of agricultural land and it lies at about 500 meters altitude near to the Jalon Valley we focus on offering ecotourism /sustainable tourism in a form that is unique in terms of location and design. Three buildings are located on the finca ´La Finca´ where 3 unique B&B rooms are situated: the old stables ´Los Establos´ where you can find another 3 great rooms, and the lovely cottage a converted sheepfold ´La Ruina´ that accommodates up to four persons. Further you can find the glamping tent La Jaima, where up to four persons can stay comfortably. Just outside of the property we offer a beautifully restored Finca with its own private pool in the middle of nature ´Finca Iris´ (for up to 8 pers) and Casa Grillo allso a separate Holidayhome with its own private pool. We offer Eco & Chic accommodations and all the electricity is solar. The emerald green tiled pool has been designed to fit in with its Mediterranean setting and is free to use for all guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
118Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 102
  • 13
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
EllieCorn1 wrote a review Mar 2022
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom152 contributions22 helpful votes
We can highly recommend and will return! If you are looking for a special bed and breakfast with stunning scenery and excellent hosts, Refugio Marnes is a must. Rooms were comfortable and very clean with tasteful furnishings. There isn't a television but you don't visit special accommodation like this to watch the TV. You have access to a kitchen with your own fridge and next time we visit we hope to sample one of Richard and Willems dinners. Breakfast is varied and a delicious continental breakfast. The bed and breakfast is surrounded in beautiful countryside with small terraces and there is areas when the weather is good to just sit and relax in the peace and quiet and just fully unwind. There is a beautiful swimming pool with sunbeds which due to the weather we were unable to try. The drive was a bit windy and you will need to take care if arriving in the dark but was so worth it! We had an issue with the WiFi once and after Richard restarted the router it worked perfectly. Ordinarily we wouldn't have needed it but with a family member sick and Ukraine we needed to check all was okay. There wasn't any mobile signal in your room. The bed and breakfast is environmentally friendly. I would have preferred more cushions on the bed but apart from that I thought it was perfect apart from the weather! This is a beautiful bed and breakfast in idyllic surroundings and we are now looking for a date to return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willem Pieffers, Owner at Refugio Marnes
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Eleanor and partner, Thank you very much for your fantastic review! It was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope to welcome you again to Refugio Marnes in the near future!! Kind Regards Willem & Richard
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MvI wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We had a great holiday at Refugio Marnes. We stayed in the beautiful holiday home Casa Grillo. For the five of us, two adults and three children, it was a spacious house, fully equipped and well cared for! From the terrace and the pool you have beautiful views, especially on the Sierra de Bernia. From the house you can take beautiful walks and run challenging trails. If you leave early you might spot some wildlife. Willem and Richard are the hosts and do so with great passion. They could tell us a lot about the area. We highly recommend Casa Grillo! Brechje and Michiel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willem Pieffers, Owner at Refugio Marnes
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Hallo Brechje en Michiel, Hartelijk dank voor deze review, het is al weer even geleden maar het was geweldig zulke enthousiaste mensen te gaste te hebben, heerlijk, Hartelijke groet Willem & Richard
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeterEijsbouts wrote a review Oct 2019
Vlierden, The Netherlands466 contributions187 helpful votes
On a mountain top , quite a drive away from the nearest big village you will find a beatifull renovated finca with 6 B&B rooms and 2 separate house. we had a room in the Los establos part, room, comfortable bed and a good bathroom. The host are very welcoming and know about the region and where to go for lunch and dinner. Breakfast in the morning is generous. All in all we had a very nice stay for 2 nights
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Just K wrote a review Jun 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Perfect stay. Gorgeous isolated place. Great pool. Great staff. Beautiful and nice dog. You need a car though. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is amazing. Mostly Dutch visitors. Nice walking trails from the finca. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Penster1974 wrote a review Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom18 contributions7 helpful votes
Had a very relaxing stay at Refugio Marnes, despite the ridiculous Easter rain. The house is beautifully restored, very comfortable and cosy. We had the en-suite room in the main house, which was very peaceful. I loved all the little decorative details, a mix of eclectic vintage mixed with modern pieces, and loved the cool wiring system and light switches! I think the owners must be designers/architects... You wouldn't think you were so close to the mass tourism of the Costa Blanca, although you do need a vehicle to get around, but don't be put off by the winding road up to the house! We were intending on checking out the local climbing but couldn't due to rain, and also didn't get to hang out in the surrounding gardens/grounds, but we did hang out in the main living space a couple of evenings, in front of the log burner, with their friendly old cat for company, and their dog when he felt like sitting with us. We'd love to stay there again with better weather, and be able to enjoy the local countryside and crags. Would definitely recommend to those looking for a beautiful rural hideaway.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Refugiomarnes, Owner at Refugio Marnes
Responded Apr 24, 2019
Hello Penny and Adam, Thank you so much for this fantastic review and compliments, making us blush! We were and are so sorry about the weather, I am sure that next time you will have the weather you deserve! We are looking forward! Best Regards Richard & Willem
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lauralommers wrote a review Dec 2016
Fleetwood, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I spent two weeks at Refugio Marnes in May 2016 with my wife and two girls, aged 4 and 2. During the first week we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the tent which contained all of the facilities we needed. It was a perfect place to relax and feel connected with nature. Our girls enjoyed the vicinity of the donkeys, which they fed on a number of occasions. We also loved the pool and the fantastic views over the terrain and surroundings. Hard to imagine that you are only little over half an hour away from the Spanish coast. I also rented a race bike from Solybike in Calpe (recommended by the owners) and managed to get some exercise in the astonishing hills and mountains around Refugio Marnes (the climb from Benissa is a nice challenge yet manageable for most enthusiastic cyclists). We spent our second week in the Bed & Breakfast to have a bit more luxury. The rooms were beautiful, breakfast an excellent start of the day and the evening dinners with other guest organised by the owners were very special (both excellent in quality and "gezellig"). In short, we I would recommend everyone to consider a stay at Refugio Marnes and everything it has to offer!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mclaren152 wrote a review Oct 2016
France1 contribution1 helpful vote
A truly wonderful experience . Beautiful setting albeit a long and winding road ! Really accessible from the main autoroute and a good road in ...but so quiet when you arrive at your beautiful destination just a few km from the Costa Blanca ! Warm welcome from the owners into their beautifully renovated home and accommodation. Swimming in the purpose built swimming pool was like swimming in a mountain pool surrounded by amazing scenery . We were lucky enough to arrive on an evening when dinner was available that was a bonus ! Dinner and wine ! was amazing and very reasonable priced .... and we enjoyed it together with other guests . The room we had in the main house was beautifully furnished and with a large comfortable bed .We slept well and awoke to an excellent breakfast served with other guests making for a very convivial start to the day . I believe if this is not your preference alternative arrangements can be made to dine or have breakfast elsewhere in the grounds . We would love to return to this oasis of charm one day . Thank you so much for a super stay at Refugio Marnes !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
UNIFIL1982 wrote a review Jun 2016
Oostburg, The Netherlands14 contributions1 helpful vote
If you like to relax on your own, this is not the place to be. Despite the fantastic, well designed accomodation on a amazing location. No privacy at all. Rooms very noisy. You can hear every word your neighbours say, or taken a shower. Outside on the communal terrace you sit just 2 meters from your neighbours. In this remote area there are many mosquitoes which made that you can't sit outside at night in your shorts and you have to keep the doors closed Poor organised. When we arrived they didn't know we were comming and we were lucky they had a room left. the bookins system was not up to date They had to clean the room first before we could move in. At the morning we left they asked us to pay for the stay. But we had payed the total amount for the room allready 4 months before. Hot water not always available and very poor wi-fi (only inside)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willem100_12, Owner at Refugio Marnes
Responded Jun 27, 2016
Dear guests Thank you for your critics in this actual review and we want you to know that we will take it very mucho into account! We are very sorry for the fact that you didn’t have a good time during your stay with us. We are very sorry for the unclear situation on your arrival and that won´t happen again. It was not that we didn’t register your booking properly but in the morning we checked our bookings and your reservation didn’t appear because of an IT problem. But it was not that there was no room reserved for you! There was a room booked on your name and we had it ready for you in 25 minutes whilst we served you a drink and a bite. Then we can assure you that all buildings are completely build according Spanish building regulations and this is the first complain about being ´very noisy´. But of course we will take this point also very much into account and look seriously in to it. About privacy; The rooms are located in the former stables and yes the three rooms are next to each other and come on to a balcony. When when you visited us only the room next to you was occupied and we were on the whole premises 8 persons dived over 3 separate buildings and 20 hectare of land. You were completely free to sit where ever you wanted to create more space between you and the few other guests. Refugio Marnes is known (see all other reviews) as a very quiet and private place with a huge amount of space to be used freely. If you would have told us about this and your other concerns and complaints during your stay we could have solved them in the instant, have looked for other options ore point out the possibilities etc……. we are very sorry you didn´t, Best Regards Willem Pieffers and Richard Steenblik
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stevanamous wrote a review Jun 2016
Brighton, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for a wedding in nearby Xavia and had a great time. Beautiful surroundings, comfy and well designed accommodation, and really well looked after by friendly hosts Richard and Willhem. Definitely worth the wiggly roads to get there...we'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lena276 wrote a review Apr 2016
Fort William, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed as a couple in the tent "La Jaima" - a brilliant alternative to your "normal" accommodation options in the area and it does indeed have everything you could wish for. We cooked almost every night in the little ktchenette and had everything we needed for it! It is hidden away from the other buildings and you definitely get your privacy. And whenever we really needed to catch up with the "real world", there is free wifi in the main building which we were welcome to use. Perfect! We would certainly recommend it if you are after something different in a beautiful and pieceful setting.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
SpainValencian CountryProvince of AlicanteCosta BlancaBenissa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Refugio Marnes
Which popular attractions are close to Refugio Marnes?
Nearby attractions include Club Hipico Calpe (4.6 miles), Mirador Monte Toix (4.6 miles), and Mirador Cronistas de Espana (3.6 miles).
Is parking available at Refugio Marnes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Refugio Marnes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Go Vegan By Adrian Muser, Mango Curry Calpe, and Buddha Castle Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Refugio Marnes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Refugio Marnes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Refugio Marnes?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cementerio Literario de Polop (6.8 miles), Castillo de Polop (6.8 miles), and Gaia Altea (6.0 miles).
Is Refugio Marnes accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.