We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday. Food was lovely and staff were very friendly. The leek and potatoe soup was fab as was my cheese and bacon burger. My kids had a rack of ribs and they were excellent. Only negative point . The dining room was absolutely freezing. We were going to have a dessert but it was too cold. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pauli-scotland
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. I am very sorry you found the room cold unfortunately we were having a small problem with the boiler that day. I am delighted to say that is now fixed and...

Reviewed January 1, 2017

We had a great new year party night. The only problem was the lack of staff to serve food and drink.. The rooms where spotless but the breakfast was again effected by the staff. The only member of staff was run off his feet trying to serve. This was our sixth visit for new year hopefully it won't be our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brian S
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. I am glad you enjoyed New Year at Cartland Bridge. It was lovely to hear you found the rooms spotless. I will pass on your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back next year. Kind Regards

Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Hadn't visited the Cartland for over 10yrs and decided to have our works Xmas party night here and wasn't disappointed. Booked rooms for the guys who wanted to stay over I was in room 109 and it was lovely very big and warm, ensuite could be doing getting replaced very out dated but other than that the room was perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott W
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your work night out. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. We hope you return soon. Kind Regards

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here sat night while visiting relatives . The rooms were clean and good size , not many places you actually can sit in chairs in the room as it's big enough. We had dinner in the bar area and despite there being a Christmas Party on only had to wait half an hour for our food . The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smokey270
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Bedroom very pleasant, en suite bathroom could do with a little updating but overall the double room was very clean. Breakfast superior to evening meal, but good value. Receptionists both friendly and informative, thanks for a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOAN g
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind Regards

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

First time at the Cartland Bridge, easy to find and big car park at the end of the drive. Check in was efficient and I had a large room, the decor in keeping with the style of the hotel but with only one radiator in the room it was was cool and I had to keep my fleece on. Dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

After several attempts of trying to book I found alternative accommodation only to be then be offered a room a fortnight later which I took. That was a mistake. I will say the lady who took my final booking and the lady on reception when we checked out were both very helpful as were the bar staff, however all of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank therealAA
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards

Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Spent the weekend in Lanark on a family occasion.stayed at cartland bridge hotel found it to be very welcoming the staff are so friendly and exellent at there jobs especially jamie the barman.I will advise to visit in the summer as november in scotland in a castle aint to warm but the log fire and 17 year old whisky helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuneatonmitch
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind regards

Keith Scotland
Reviewed November 6, 2016

The hotel reminds me of a stately home and the interior is old style country house appeal. The bedroom was very comfortable with a good shower and the bed was comfortable. the food for evening meal was well cooked and enjoyable and the cheese board was substantial. Breakfast was cooked to order and was good. All in all a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William H
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, I will pass on your fantastic comments to the whole team. Please return soon. Kind Regards Ashley McGuinness Operations Manager

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Convenient location for both Glasgow and Livingston/Edinburgh, magnificent hotel set in some beautiful grounds. I dined in the bar area which was quite good compared to some hotels. The menu wasn't that extensive however it was reasonably priced the meal I had offered good value for money. Drinks again were reasonably priced Breakfast was very good in real pleasant surroundings....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark L
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind Regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
0.9 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.5 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
565 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
530 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
277 reviews
13.2 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Price Range: $98 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
london
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms would be up to a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles Y7776YPwilliamh, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“all much the same the hotel is away from the road a short distance so no noise”
 of 5 bubbles lindafK9852FM, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room allowed a beautiful breeze to blow through.”
 of 5 bubbles dlschurman, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
“Any room is perfect....”
 of 5 bubbles betty672156, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
“Nice bedrooms, but no lift”
 of 5 bubbles maryfromlanark, Dec 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question