We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Lion Royal Hotel

Save
Share
61 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE Wales
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (78)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (7)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Bala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
587Reviews5Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 210
  • 192
  • 65
  • 56
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alison W wrote a review Yesterday
6 contributions
This is the eigths hotel in the UK that we have stayed in recently. It was also the most expensive, obviously we don't book high end hotels for our touring but the room was the dirtiest. There was no flush on the toilet and there was thick dust on the skirting boards and carpets. The bed bade was covered in scuff marks and dirt. At dinner the service was not good, however the evening g food was tasty, which was more than could be said about the breakfast which was CD and I could not eat it as the bacon looked grey and barely cooked. When we addressed the receptionist on checkout he see.ed more concerned with typing on his computer rather than listening to us. He did say he would address the matters but that did not help us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Exploration775525 wrote a review Jun 9
Blackpool, United Kingdom1 contribution
Called in after visiting Portmeirion which was uncomfortably busy Thursday 3rd June and needed somewhere to eat.Was shown to the table by a friendly Dave, given paper menu's and served some great beer and drinks by Tom.The food was excellent especially the pork chops.Would definately visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Thomas, General Manager at White Lion Royal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and have passed on your comments to Tom and the kitchen team. Hopefully we will get to welcome you back on your next journey through the area. Best Regards Dave Thomas
Read more
Lizzie M wrote a review Jun 6
1 contribution
Me, my husband and some friends stayed in the white lion hotel while on a mountain climbing trip. The room was okay as expected, but we had no hot water for the 2 nights we stayed. The hotel did offer us a small refund and the guy dealing with the situation was really lovely. The water situation was an issue but as I said was dealt with. However my biggest issue was the attitude of one of the hotel workers, a guy wearing all black with two pony tails! He honestly didn’t want to be there and it showed. Manners cost nothing but it was clearly to much for him. Even the way he spoke to another lad working there in front of us was embarrassing. The lady Serving our breakfast however was adorable and couldn’t do enough for us! Absolute credit to the hotel. Shame not all your workers are as pleasant as her.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from David Thomas, General Manager at White Lion Royal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for leaving your review. I apologise again for the hot water situation. I have made note of your concerns regarding one of the team members and will be raising this with them, but thank you for the lovely comments regarding the team member on breakfast, I have passed these on to her. Hopefully you will come visit us again in the future and see the improvements made. Best Regards Dave Thomas
Read more
mannygl73 wrote a review Jun 3
Margate, United Kingdom59 contributions17 helpful votes
Would I return to this hotel, probably not. This is based on a poor service and poor food. I do understand that they are now opening after being closed for a while but we had to wait so long. A party of four left as they had waited for over an hour for their food and drinks. I think we waited just a little less but only because they left. I had the nachos and didn't even get close to finishing them as they tasted awful. The main course was as disappointing, so no pudding for us. I did fear the breakfast would be poor but it was good. I do feel for the staff because they seem to be struggling with low numbers. The rooms were clean and no complaints there. If we were to return to Bala, which was beautiful then I would only come back here if there was nowhere else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David Thomas, General Manager at White Lion Royal Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving your review. I am sorry to see you didn't enjoy your visit. As I'm sure you can appreciate, the hospitality trade has been hit hard over the last 12 months and across the industry staffing levels are at their lowest for a long time. Recruitment here is ongoing and picking up, but unfortunately for this last week we were under-staffed and I can only apologise that this impacted your stay with us in a negative way. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the room and hope that if you do return to Bala you will be willing to give us another chance to show you that this was a temporary blip in our normal service. Best Regards Dave Thomas GM
Read more
Roz S wrote a review Jun 2
Bridgend, United Kingdom1 contribution
Lackadaisical, could hardly be bothered to check me in. No remote for TV, when queried was treated very dismissively by the Manager (Dave) who told me to use the knobs the back.. They were too sensitive and would only yield Radio2. Room situated above smokers courtyard so noisy in evening and motorbikesrevving in morning. Bath very badly chipped. Unable to locate breakfast area. Wouldnotreturnor rcommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from David Thomas, General Manager at White Lion Royal Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving your review. I am sorry you felt that I was dismissive towards you, but as I pointed out at the time, the previous occupant had stolen the remote for the TV so I had ordered a replacement, it wouldn't be arriving till Tuesday due to the bank holiday and that the TV could still be controlled by using the buttons on the TV itself. This was not enough of a reason to move you to a different room and with a full hotel, I had very little I could have done at that point. I had not been made aware of the chip in the bath so will be taking a look in to this. In regards to the breakfast area, I will take your note onboard and look at getting a sign put out in the morning directing guests where to go for breakfast. Best Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
white lion royal bala
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia National ParkBala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Lion Royal Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to White Lion Royal Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake) (0.1 miles), Stori Beer and Wine CYF (0.08 miles), and Capel Clay (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at White Lion Royal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at White Lion Royal Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at White Lion Royal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Lion Royal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cyfnod Cafe Bistro, Plas-Yn-Dre, and Aran Hufen Ia.
Is White Lion Royal Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Bala.
Are there any historical sites close to White Lion Royal Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tomen y Bala Castle (0.1 miles) and Castell Carndochan (3.0 miles).
Is White Lion Royal Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.