We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pierhouse Hotel

Save
Share
Port Appin PA38 4DE Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$243
View deal
Hotels.com
$339
$215
View deal
SAVE $124
Priceline
$243
View deal
Expedia.com$215
eDreams$243
Trip.com$339
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (382)
Dining (51)
Room & Suite (13)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Fishing
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Desk
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Swedish
790Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 585
  • 135
  • 41
  • 20
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sue W wrote a review Today
Woodbridge, United Kingdom73 contributions54 helpful votes
Ate here during stay nearby. I had tried to book into the hotel about a month ago but they were full which is great for them. However the receptionist advised us about a really good B and B to stay in and then booked us in for dinner on the Thursday night of our stay in the area. So onto the meal.... the gin and tonic cu-plum-ber was the most delicious I have EVER tasted. Well done David. Great recipe. Then on to the meal itself. We both had the scallops followed by the monkfish and langoustine stew and I had the lemon sole with clams. Both superb and full of flavour. Clever chef. No room for dessert but still managed a sticky toffee pudding and husband had the cheese cake. All in all really very delicious. Would move to port appin just so I could eat here all the time. Well done all and many thanks
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Room Tip: Didn’t actually stay here just dinne
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
FionaJLinlithgow wrote a review Jun 15
West Lothian96 contributions65 helpful votes
Have wanted to visit since we heard it's been taking over. Popped in for a quick lunch - langoustines (excellent) and scallops (beautifully cooked). We found all the staff to be charming and efficient and took our order quickly. Less than 10 mins later they arrived with our food and apologised for the wait - now that's service! The hotel restaurant area was buzzing and there was a great holiday atmosphere - a beautiful summer day helped. Love the new decor, and 2 log burners on made the whole place feel so cosy. Loved the high quality furniture and furnishings with beautiful rugs available for outside dining. The snug on the other side of the fire is delightful. Very classy toiletries in the loos too. Can't wait to come back and stay. So many walks and cycling tracks around here, beautiful views, a ferry trip with walks on Lismore at the doorstep. Wonderful area for a holiday - especially in June when there are no midges!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at the front have wonderful sea views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi FionaJLinlithgow Wow - what a lovely review; thank you so much! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent lunch with us. We have put a lot of thought into what we can offer guests to make your visit as comfortable as possible, and it is lovely when this is recognised. We are incredibly lucky to have such good quality local produce and suppliers (food, drink and toiletries!) and we agree that our location is pretty special too! We hope we are able to welcome you back to The Pierhouse in the not too distant future. Kind regards Fiona McLean General Manager
Read more
Janette S wrote a review Jun 3
Glasgow, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in a fantastic location which we have visited several times. The food is great, rooms comfortable and staff helpful. Beautiful food on our first night, I had the seafood platter and my husband the lemon sole both delicious. The second night the food was great, however limited choice as there was no langoustine, scallops or the house smoked salmon available, they had run out of these items. Only two cheese available for the biscuit and cheese option. Also 4 wines unavailable from the white line list. The staff acknowledged our disappoint and we were given a round of drinks. It is not good enough for an establishment of this calibre to run out of menu staples having said that we will return as it had been a favourite location to visit
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Janette S Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. We are sorry that you were a little disappointed with the availability of some of our items. We agree that it is not ideal to have limited availability however we and our suppliers are still working under extreme restrictions due to the global pandemic. We also have seasonal availability problems of things like langoustine. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Pierhouse soon. Kind regards Fiona McLean General Manager
Read more
Irene P wrote a review May 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom539 contributions244 helpful votes
Had stayed here many years ago and had always wanted to return. The new owner has upgraded the rooms and they are very comfortable. Had a sea view room on the ground floor. The bed was so comfortable. With wonderful views across to Lismore. Only thing missing was a fridge, would have been good to have fresh milk for the tea/coffee in room. Dinner was superb , fantastic seafood.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Irene P We are alwyas pleased to be able to welcome visitors back to The Pierhouse; regardless of the length of time between visits you are always part of The Pierhouse family! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will make a note of your suggestion with regards to a fridge. Kind regards Fiona McLean General Manager
Read more
David T wrote a review May 2021
Chester, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
The Pierhouse hotel has been sympathetically improved, without loosing any of its ethos. It is unpretentious with understated good taste. Part of the ethos is that guests talk to each other…it’s that sort of place. Another part is that the staff are mainly local and are determined to make you feel at home. The views over Loch Linnie to the mountains of the Morvern Peninsula are spectacular, and you can sit on the patio at the front of the hotel with a glass in the hand and watch the toing and froing on the pier. You can take a ferry from the pier to Lismore Island ( 10 mins) for some glorious walks. The food is good honest cooking rather than ritualised ‘haute cuisine’ so the local seafood is unfussed. The wine list is reasonably priced. And for those with children there are some familiar options of fish and chips and local beef burgers. The overall result is a feeling of well-being. We thought it was very good value for money…a little gem where you can restore the fibres, walk, cycle, read, or just sit and drink in the magnificent scenery of the highlands.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear davidW9496GB Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely feedback for us; we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit. We are so lucky with our location here in Port Appin, and to have the ferry right on our doorstep to visit Lismore is a real bonus. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Pierhouse in the near future. Warm regards Fiona McLean General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the pierhouse hotel seafood
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButePort Appin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pierhouse Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pierhouse Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Castle Stalker (1.7 miles), Kinlochlaich Garden Centre and Gardens (2.4 miles), and Beinn Lora (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pierhouse Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Pierhouse Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, an additional bathroom, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Pierhouse Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pierhouse Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pierhouse Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Inn, Tralee bay Fish and Chips, and Castle Stalker View Cafe.
Is The Pierhouse Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Port Appin.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pierhouse Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Dutch, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pierhouse Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castle Stalker (1.7 miles).
Does The Pierhouse Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is The Pierhouse Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.