We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fosshotel Hellnar

Brekkubaer Hellnum, Hellnar 356 Iceland
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$230
View Deal
Travelocity
$227
View Deal
Trip.com
$230
$214
View Deal
SAVE $16
Orbitz.com$227
Expedia.com$227
Agoda.com$230
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (380)
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (40)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Fosshotel Hellnar is everything people look for in a charming country hotel. The hotel is located right beneath Snaefellsjokull Glacier, a national park made famous in the novel Journey to the Center of the Earth. The glacier is said to be one of the seven great energy centers of the earth and has been attributed various mysterious powers. The area offers stunning lava arches and beautiful cliffed coasts where Orca whales are regularly spotted swimming in the ocean.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German, Icelandic
644Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 265
  • 240
  • 90
  • 37
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Loved this little stop on the lovely Snaefellsnes peninsula. Beautiful coastal hike, horseback riding on the beach nearby, nice room, good food. Would definitely recommend. We drove around peninsula from Stykkisholmur and it was the perfect place to "land".
Read more
Response from Eszter N, General Manager at Fosshotel Hellnar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jennifer S, Thank you for your kind words! I was happy to read that you had an excellent stay with us, and enjoyed the restaurant. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Iceland! Best regards, Eszter
Read more
First time touring Iceland and third hotel. This stop didn’t measure up. Towels not changed, room so dusty under the bed that we left a dropped item rather than activate an allergic attack. No laundry service and no front desk staff on site during the night; that’s OK if you don’t have an emergency as we did. Don’t have enough experience in Iceland travel yet but the bathroom was a micro. Our room #5 is to be avoided as is adjacent to outside deck and impairs privacy. Restaurant was good with quality service for our group of ten.
Read more
Response from Eszter N, General Manager at Fosshotel Hellnar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ElJeffeMiami, I´m glad you enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant. I´m sorry that you left disappointed with your room. I wish you would have mentioned any shortcomings while you were in the hotel, the staff is always happy to help with any issues. I hope to see you back again, so we can make sure you have an even better stay! Best regards, Eszter
Read more
nice beds, great location - right on the water with excellent views and a café down the hill. a good spot to rest when exploring the western penninsula of iceland - particularly snaefellsnes. recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Eszter N, General Manager at Fosshotel Hellnar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear aogunpaorjf, Thank you for your kind review. I´m delighted to read that you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed our hospitality. We certainly hope to see you again in our hotel! Best regards, Eszter
Read more
Nice Hotel with a great view, cozy bed, big room with a sofa and kitchen and helpful staff. We recommend to Spend some time in the lobby and relax. Breakfast was good but compared to the dinner in the restaurant lacking effort.
Read more
Response from Eszter N, General Manager at Fosshotel Hellnar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dani-mue, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I´m glad to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel, and enjoyed the dinner in the restaurant. We would love to see you back at the hotel again. Regards, Eszter
Read more
This is a good location to break up a trip around the peninsula with great views. Rooms were clean and stay was quiet. Staff was quite helpful. One major disappoint were the poor internet connections. There was only one spot in the room with a decent internet connect. Lobby wasn't much better for connections. Apparently this has been a problem for some time. Given what they charge for a room here, one would think they would have taken care of this problem a long time ago.
Read more
Response from Eszter N, General Manager at Fosshotel Hellnar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kai R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope that the issue mentioned did not take away from your stay, and you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer. The internet in the area is generally good, but in such remote place we have to rely on the service provider for good connection. We hope to see you again in Fosshotel Hellnar! Regards, Eszter
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Hellnar
LOCATION
IcelandWest RegionHellnar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing