We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Canelands offers stunning sea views and a beautiful ocean edge pool. The restaurants food is well presented and tasty, but very pricey if you are not from overseas. The suites are neat but not very big compared to other honeymoon suites we stayed in during our trip. They did provide a nice welcome to the room with a bottle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean L
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Canelands Beach Club and Spa is optimally located to allow guests with a sea view room an uninterrupted view of the Indian Ocean and very pleasant walks or runs along an unspoilt beach. Canelands’ restaurant (“Two Shrimps”) is phenomenal, offering a wide-ranging and excellent menu in a celebratory ambience. But, sadly, the room-services division is run in an appalling manner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
Christine M, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am appalled at all these comments and I feel like laying a criminal charge for defamation of character as you do not know me or my staff. I have asked tripadvisor to remove this comment as we do not allow racialistic guests to traumatise our staff. We are all equal at Canelands. From arrival to departure you... More 

Siegen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2016

After very imprssive Safari trips, we stayed for 3 nights to relax a liitle bit at dolphin coast. The staff in the hotel and rstaurant is extremely nice, the view including dolphin sights from the balcon is great. On top, the restaurant cooks on high level. Hearing, that we are vegetarians, the organized three different meal courses every evening, which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vbraun1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our stunning property directly on the beach. We really take pride in looking after you from our lovely polite staff to our very appetizing food. Shaun our Head Chef really enjoyed preparing your vegetarian meals so much so that the one pasta dish is going on the... More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We attended a wedding, which despite the rain was an excellent day. The original plan was for the wedding to take place on the beach but due to dreadful weather this had to be cancelled. By the time we arrived an alternative plan had been made by the hotel and we were still able to enjoy a wonderful occasion seeing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bomber08
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to review our beautiful Boutique Hotel directly on the beach. We desperately need the rain and therefore make sure if it does that our brides and grooms are always happy by making alternative plans. We look forward to your return to taste our tasty food and sleep in our beautiful rooms.... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

We had our honeymoon here. It was just what we were looking for. The staff was really friendly especially Wendy& Gisele from the reception! The rooms are luxurious, the food is fantastic and the view is breathtaking! I will definitely come back! Rob & Gitte from Belgium

Helpful?
Thank Rob F
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write about our beautiful Boutique Hotel directly on the beach. We take pride in looking after you and are very pleased that you enjoyed your special honeymoon with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Take care Christine Macvicar More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2016

To the lovely staff at Canelands. My husband and I hosted our wedding in July this year, and we can't thank you enough. The staff was lovely and attentive. The chefs worked magic in the kitchen and topped with a gorgeous venue with beautiful views it made for the perfect weekend wedding. We can't wait to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank robynrheeder
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are so delighted that we were part of your magnificent day. I will pass on your gratitude to our staff and chefs and we look forward to hosting you on your anniversary. Take care Christine Macvicar General Manager More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of potential and the spa is very nice, it just needs a little more flare. It also feels like their prices (food, drinks and accommodation) do not match the product that you end up receiving. This is a tourist milking spot in my opinion.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andries v
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for all your constructive criticism. It helps us to grow when we get reviews like this. There is no other boutique hotel like us directly on the beach and therefore we are constantly doing small upgrades to make sure that the hotel is in tiptop condition. We unfortunately can't please every taste. Next time spend more time... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2016

Perfect location, the friendliest staff ever, warm, welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. A pity that bookings.com did not say their was shower only, and the bedroom which was garden facing was minute. They did however comp us a sea facing room for one night, it was fully booked for the second night, which was huge, overlooking the lapping waves,... More 

Helpful?
Thank skintonic
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to write about our boutique hotel directly on the beach. We were so pleased that we were able to upgrade you to a seafacing room for one night and would have done so for your whole stay if not so busy. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our excellent food... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

We spent a very nice night at the Canelands Beachclub & Spa and enjoyed a marvellous seafood platter, vegetable korma and peri-peri prawns. Our waiter SURAN took really good care of us and was a funny and attentive employee. Housekeeping was very good and helpfull as well. Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the sea as it was rather cold and windy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rubalu
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response to our beautiful property that is directly on the beach. We take pride in looking after you you with our wonderful staff and our fantastic newly launched menu at our Two Shrimps Restaurant. The next time you come we will make sure that you have fantastic... More 

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Excellent place for stay over or short break. Very friendly staff. The rooms with seaview are super.'hotel and restaurant on the beach. The restaurant is really good and the food is presented like painting. Pool not used because of chilled wind but must be good. We were here for a stopover between Durban and st lucia

Helpful?
Thank benfk
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for writing your review about our beautiful Boutique hotel directly on the beach. Our two shrimps restaurant has very passionate chefs that do present their food like a painting but tastes even better. We look forward to your return. Take care Christine Macvicar More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
3.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
341 reviews
18.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
850 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,516 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
2.8 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 25 in Ballito
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Jewel of the North Coast is located in Salt Rock on the North Coast Of KwaZulu-Natal, this 4 star luxury boutique hotel has an Exceptional positon only 100 metres away from the beach which has direct access. Sip a cocktail in our 25m lap outdoor swimming pool parallel to the beach while watching the dolphins and wales playing in the surf. Our Western and Thai Asian infused Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can have a meal or a barbeque overlooking the ocean. Canelands Beach Club and Spa is 25 minutes away from King Shaka International Airport and is on the doorstep of all the major golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Address: 2 Shrimp Lane, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Price Range: $217 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canelands Beach Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canelands Beach Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canelands Beach Club Hotel Salt Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Canelands Beach Club and Spa staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Durban, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Canelands Beach Club and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The deluxe rooms offer spectacular views.”
 of 5 bubbles robynrheeder, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Must be sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles skintonic, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
“A sea view one”
 of 5 bubbles 18Marion, May 15, 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view of course would be best if available but also more expensive I believe.”
 of 5 bubbles Ewees, Mar 31, 2016 | Read review
“Best view on the north coast”
 of 5 bubbles sashena888, Feb 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay