We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 622: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very convenient location just off the M5, plenty of parking. Rooms warm and clean, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable. Good bar but restaurant lacked atmosphere, food decent, average prices. Buffet breakfast all good. Nothing to shout out loud about staying here but no complaints, did the job at a reasonable price, would be happy to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teg27
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice big car park. Entrance to hotel lovely. Staff on reception were quick and friendly. Room a little small but had everything we needed. Lighting wasnt very bright but good in bathroom. Glad room had a bath. All very clean. Bed was very soft and walls are thin. Good that there was a valve on the radiator to adjust the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uglybird3613
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you had to wait a while for your evening meal, however, I was pleased that you enjoyed the food and also the breakfast in the morning. This time of year we are extremely busy with Christmas Party nights, we do our best...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a great evening. The food was really good and the staff were lovely, efficient and friendly. The murder mystery was great fun and there was a great atmosphere with so many people there. Will be back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny022091939
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

What a fabulous 5 star review, thank you. Our Murder Mystery evenings are so much fun so it was a pleasure reading that you had such a fabulous time. We are already taking bookings for our 2017 Murder Mystery evenings so we look forward to welcoming you once again.

forest of dean
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Bed comfy, room nice and clean. But room really cold. I was frozen all night despite there being a radiator on on the room. Nice place, nice bar and murder mystery eve was really fun. Drinks a little pricey, food was ok. Staff friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed Buffett cooked breakfast in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emboj
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you were cold during the night, we can always supply heaters at Reception to our guests if they need extra warmth during the winter months. I was happy to hear that you all had fun at our Murder Mystery evening. We have the...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked here for 1 night in Nov 16. As a Best Western Diamond forever card holder, I asked if it was possible to have an upgrade, ( I am entitled to this as part of my BW loyalty card). I was told by the receptionist, Bethany, I had been upgraded prior to my arrival. I thanked her for that, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poggy497
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I will be contacting you directly regarding this issue. Kind regards

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located just a stones throw off the M5 at Jct 14, this is ideal for breaking a journey. The rooms are on the small side, but do the job and staff are pleasant & helpful. Breakfast is very good with loads of choices but be careful what you pick for evening meal. Probably best to stick with something the chef/cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila I
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Sheila for posting a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to here that our staff looked after you during your visit, and that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast range. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables in the very near future.

Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed before but booked one of the larger rooms this time. Super friendly receptionist, quick check in and very clean room. What stood out was that the staff seemed happy to work here and were naturally pleasant, none of the 'have a nice day' crap that passes for service now. We stayed for two separate nights on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tim for your fabulous 5 star review of your recent visit to The Gables. I will ensure that your lovely comments are passed on to all our staff, they will be extremely happy that you have posted such a wonderful review. To say that our staff were the best that you have met, when you have stayed in...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked dinner for 1.45 this Sunday for 4 people, on arrival staff were friendly and accommodating, we were escorted to our table, but it wasn't ready, so we went back to the bar area and waited. Only one had starters and to be honest it was nice, but when we went up to get dinner, there was very little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirkpatrick7
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to apologise profusely that you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch recently. These are not the standards that we wish to give our guests so please contact our General Manager here at The Gables, he would like to discuss this matter with you more in depth. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a short stay here, but the staff were fantastic, very welcoming and extremely helpful. The room was great, very comfy bed and nice powerful shower. And the cooked breakfast! Delicious! I would truly recommended this hotel to anyone, particularly those looking for an easy pitstop that is close to the motorway. Very impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismaz1
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful 5 star review, thank you. All our staff like to make our customers feel at home here at The Gables, and they will all be extremely happy that you have left a review on how fantastic they were. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review on your stay, it is very much...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we first booked our wedding reception we experienced first class service and knew we had the best venue. Our wedding coordinator (Emma) went above and beyond the call of duty at every turning point. We both have extremely high standards and the hotel and staff really did deliver. The function room: our wedding reception room was decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelly C
Natalie J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Kelly for posting such a wonderful review. It was our absolute pleasure to look after you and your guests on such a special day. All your fabulous comments will be passed on to our staff who helped make your wedding day so special for you. Please accept our congratulations once again, and we look forward to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
370 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
8.6 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Price Range: $66 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Devon
Leicester, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose larger room for more space”
 of 5 bubbles TimL731, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you're feeling romantic request the four-poster bed rooms. They also have a jacuzzi bath.”
 of 5 bubbles kellycB1057WZ, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rear facing rooms will always be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles GEMZZZZ, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Indicate upon booking your room preference”
 of 5 bubbles peterdQ7341DG, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“Disabled people must specify ground floor rooms as there are no lifts and some rooms can be a long walk”
 of 5 bubbles rogersP577PZ, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay