We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

COMO Castello Del Nero

Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa Italy
4 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$564
View Deal
Travelocity$565
Expedia.com$565
Orbitz.com$565
Hotels.com$565
Hotwire.com$565
ZenHotels.com$563
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (522)
Room & Suite (165)
Dining (82)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Bronze level
COMO Castello Del Nero, Tuscany, is a 740-acre, historic Italian estate a 30-minute drive from Florence and Siena — and the first property in continental Europe from COMO Hotels and Resorts. At the property’s heart stands a twelfth-century Castello featuring 50 rooms and suites with light and modern interiors by Milanese designer, Paola Navone. The Michelin-starred La Torre restaurant showcases gourmet Italian cuisine, using the finest Tuscan produce. There are two informal restaurants — La Taverna and the Pavilion — as well as a comprehensive wine cellar, an outdoor swimming pool open during summer months and tennis courts. COMO Shambhala Retreat offers complimentary yoga for residents, therapeutic massages and expert guidance in holistic wellness.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
748Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 593
  • 88
  • 36
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband and spent one night traveling from Pisa Airport to the Val D'Orcia. It is a lovely tranquil place. The rooms are light and airy with wonderful views. The spa is niv=ce - I had a massage which was the perfect antidote to long night of air travel. Staff is warn, friendly and very helpful.
Read more
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests thank you for your nice review and condìsiderations. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Comeo Castello del Nero and we are delighted to know that you consider it a perfect antidote to travelling related stress!! Hope to welcome you back in a near future for a longer stay. Warmest Regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
As we were let down by another Hotel nearby (they had failed to inform us that our booking with them was not confirmed!) we decided to opt for Castello Del Nero. We stayed here in 2014-Reception looked up our previous booking-and we were just bowled over with the transformation by the current owners. The touches were subtle, but so beautiful and respectful of the age of the property. Everything looked like it had been burnished to a bright new glow. The Lobby is stunning. Our room was magnificent with the most spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. I do not recognise any of the adverse comments about various members of Staff. To a man and woman, they were all charming, courteous and helpful. Restaurant staff were wonderful and the pool guys were tremendously helpful. Food in the Pavilion at lunch was pricey, but you expect that when staying in a hotel of this calibre. Everything we ate was beautifully served and delicious. Breakfast was fab and the one evening meal we had in the casual restaurant was also lovely. I could not fault this Hotel. We had a wonderful, relaxing break and hope to return.
Read more
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests thank you for your fab review and considerations. In a certain way I am glad you were let down by the other property so that we could have the opportunity to welcome you at Como Castello del Nero. From the Whole Team a big THAN YOU for your kind words and hope to see you back in a near future. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Not so sure. My family and I enjoyed a 5 night stay at COMO Castello Del Nero in August. We booked this property due to the COMO name, having been long term devotees of the brand. On whole we had a lovely holiday, but there were certain elements of the hotel that left us feeling disappointed and underwhelmed. Here are our pro's and cons! PRO's: 1) The property and its grounds are truly breathtaking. They are expansive, well maintained and incredibly chic. It has all the rustic design elements you want from a Tuscan property with the undeniably cool aesthetic of a COMO hotel. 2) The rooms are large and well equipped - comfy bed, rainforest shower & stunning views! 3) The breakfast is luxe - a beautiful buffet with fresh berries, homemade granola and a vast array of meats, cheeses & pastries with hot food direct from the kitchen - the staff will remember your name, favourite table and coffee order...bonus! CON's: 1) The wifi is truly awful - not good enough for a 5* hotel ie don't bet on a working holiday. 2) The food and beverage offering at the Pavilion restaurant by the pool is limited, expensive (think €20 for a sandwich and €30 for a simple spaghetti pomodoro) and the service is sub par (there are some clear exceptions to this rule including the young male manager). One evening I was given the wrong order and simply told "you'll have to wait 15 minutes" - no apology. On every dining occasion we had to request menus, cutlery or our wine order which was nearly always forgotten. There is also no kids menu on offer, even though it is a child friendly hotel. So our toddler cost us in excess of €40 per meal. 3) The transport offering at the hotel is incredibly expensive - we were quoted €60 for a one way pick up from the local town which is 5 minutes drive away. 4) On whole, the hotel has not captured the luxury travel experience and bespoke personal service culture that the COMO hotel group is renowned for. We will return to other COMO properties, but not this one until their service has improved. Such a shame. But with a little love/training this hotel could be incredible!
Read more
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests thank you for your review and for choosing Como Castello del Nero for your tuscan vacation. I am happy to hear that all in all you enjoyed the time spent with us and I made a note of your queries related to the wifi and to the service at the PAVILION. Most of your comments on Pavilion are related to one single amployee and ,as per your previous comments, we have already corrected the situation. I am sorry to have to mention that the priced you quoted are not correct as sandwiches go from 12 € to 18 € for a gourmet sandwich and a spaghetti "Felicelli" with fresh tomato sauce at 25 €. I will pick up on your comment on children's menu which existed in the past but hardly ever used from the Guests. We shall reintroduce it to have a stronger family approch. As far as transportation the hotel does not run the evening transfers. All we do is call a local taxi and these are their rates. Not much we can do about this as is not a service provided by the hotel. I thank you for your comments which have already been taken in consideration in our costant effort to provide the level of service and proactive guest's attitude which are part of the service culture Como is renowned for. I Hope you will consider staying with Como Castello del Nero again in a near future! Warmest regards G. Artolli
Read more
This has to be one of the best hotels ive stayed in world wide. The service was perfect from the second we checked in untill we checked out of the hotel. The staff is extremely well trained, warm and charming. The room was really spacious and very clean. The turn down sevice and room cleaning daily was the most detailed ive come across. The views from the hotel take your breath away. Worth every penny spent. Will definitely make the trip there again xx
Read more
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests thank you for the wonderfull and prising review. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Como Castello del Nero and we are delighted you enjoyed every single moment of your stay. We hope to have you back in a near future. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
My husband and I stayed for a week to enjoy all that Tuscany had to offer. We were delighted with the quality of the service we received from the wonderful and hospitable staff. Breakfast is included and is freshly made. The breads, cheeses and fruit were great. Also you can order eggs fresh and made for your taste. The food is top quality and flavorful. Never disappointed at all. Decided on a beautiful suite and it was just as promised. Large room with TV, movies in English which was rare. There was a beautiful view of the vineyards from our suite. A must do is the wine tastings in the wine cellar at the hotel. Lorenzo did a fantastic job and educated us in Chianti Classico wines. They had several hiking trails on the property which we also enjoyed. Can’t wait to return to this fabulous place!
Read more
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests thank you so much for your review and for going into details about the experience you had at Como Castello del Nero. We Always try to extend the best experience of Tuscany to all our Guests and we are delighted we succeded with you. Hopefully we will not wait too long before we can welcome you back!! Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$534 - $1,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello del nero boutique hotel and spa, castello del nero boutique hotel tavarnelle val di pesa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceTavarnelle Val di Pesa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing