We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

COMO Castello Del Nero

Save
Share
Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Barberino Tavarnellle Italy
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 03/25/2021.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
travelup.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (539)
Room & Suite (104)
Dining (84)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
COMO Castello Del Nero, Tuscany, is a 740-acre, historic Italian estate a 30-minute drive from Florence and Siena — and the first property in continental Europe from COMO Hotels and Resorts. At the property’s heart stands a twelfth-century Castello featuring 50 rooms and suites with light and modern interiors by Milanese designer, Paola Navone. The Michelin-starred La Torre restaurant showcases gourmet Italian cuisine, using the finest Tuscan produce. There are two informal restaurants — La Taverna and the Pavilion — as well as a comprehensive wine cellar, an outdoor swimming pool open during summer months and tennis courts. COMO Shambhala Retreat offers complimentary yoga for residents, therapeutic massages and expert guidance in holistic wellness.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quiet
757Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 600
  • 90
  • 36
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
strain1975 wrote a review Nov 2019
Worcester, Massachusetts19 contributions4 helpful votes
We have been to this hotel twice. This was the first since new management. The setting is spectacular in the midst of wine vineyards. Hiking is a must and the hotel does provide a small amount of paths for even the most novice walker. For advanced walkers there are more paths close by but you have to cross a busy road but well worth it. The room is large and very modern with an nespresso machine. The shower and tub are beautiful. Spa is amazing. And treatments are very well done and one should go early to enjoy the many facilities. Restaurant is a Michelin Star and it was one of the best restaurants in Italy. Breakfast is also very good. Staff is very nice and accommodating to your every néed without being pretentious at all. My only two complaints are that they hotel should make it clear that it is completely tip free. I ordered room service and I could tell that server wanted a tip although there was a gratuity included on the bill. Lastly, aLthough the renovations were very nice and more modern, the hotel lost a little of its Tuscan charm. But we definitely plan on returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Dear Guests thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We are delighted to know you had a most enjoyable time with Como Castello del Nero and we are grateful on your comments on the property and the quality of service. I am sorry for the bad impression you had from the room service waiter and his expectation for a tip. I would like to confirm that, to my knowledge, there are no hotels in continental Europe where tipping is compulsory. I do confirm that service charge is always included, at least in Italy, and tipping is always to the discretion of the Guest, but absolutely no obligation what so ever!! We look forward to seeing you again next season and wish you a beautiful winter season. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
alshin wrote a review Nov 2019
Atlanta, Georgia218 contributions130 helpful votes
This was the first hotel of my 16 day/ 7 hotels Italian journey, and was my favorite of all. It is located in beautiful Tuscan hills, but very accessible from the highway. It is best of both world: a beautiful Tuscan villa, redone top to bottom, with modern amenities. For me, it was just perfect choice. Communication before the arrival with the hotel was very prompt and efficient. I emailed requesting couple of restaurant reservations and they took care of it easily. I woke up to a postcard-perfect view of Tuscan country side. I loved the breakfast spread, however, they might have to increase the number of tables in the breakfast room, in case the hotel is fully booked. The food and service at the casual restaurant was impeccable. I highly recommend this hotel for someone who would like a Tuscan villa experience in modern setting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Nov 17, 2019
Dear Guests thank you so much for your kind revue and your nice comments. We are very proud to come "first" on your list of Italian hotels you visited during your Italian vacation. At the same time, we are very proud of our new look and feel since the Como Hotel and Resorts group has taken over Castello del Nero. Nature does all the rest and we are always very grateful for the beauty that we have all around us. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Italy. Best regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Wander_lust wrote a review Nov 2019
Rogers, Arkansas101 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
We had a lovely stay here overall! We stayed in one of the least expensive base rooms and it was absolutely dreamy! View of the gorgeous grounds out of the bedroom window. It was one of the most gorgeous designs of a room/hotel I’ve ever seen. The bed was amazingly comfortable and they had American movies on the tv included which was a nice touch. The staff was attentive and friendly. The grounds are gorgeous and the location is great. Not too far off the beaten path and restaurants and shopping within 5 minutes. Make sure you get a menu for the free included breakfast as the Buffett spread is very unimpressive. No one gave us a menu the first day and we were super disappointed in breakfast. The next day, we were given a menu and ordered the French toast and bacon, DELICIOUS! Last, I loved the turndown service and olive oil parting gift, such a nice touch! One one and only complaint is that EVERYTHING is crazy expensive here. We were fine with paying the $550 a night for the room; however the drinks are outrageously priced in the bar, the spa is insanely priced and we asked reception how much it would be to get a ride to a restaurant 5 mins away (2 miles) and they were going to charge us 80 Euros!!! We opted out and drove ourself the 5 minutes. I would definitely recommend a car if you stay at this hotel since their car service is ridiculously expensive and there is no taxi service in the area. I’d like to say I’d stay here again, but wouldn’t use any of their onsite amenities which kinda defeats the purpose of spending that much money on the room.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Nov 9, 2019
Dear Guests thank you for your kind review and positive comments about the property, the style, the rooms, the facilities and the professionalism of the Team. I must apologize for not being provided with a hot breakfast menu on your first morning. Normally menus at set on the table so that everyone can make his own choice. I do not agree on your consideration on our breakfast buffet, which provide Guests with every possible breakfast delicatessen starting from cold cuts (4 types) cheese (3 types) fresh salads and smokes salmon. Fresh orange and grapefruit juice, cereals, yogurts, seeds, nuts, homemade marmalade and our own produced honey. A selection of cut fresh fruit (4) and fresh fruit bowl. Croissant (4 types) 3 fresh fruit tarts, selection of fresh bread, butter, peanuts butter, olive oil…..I would not call it unimpressive!! As for the cost of drinks, prices go from 12 € for a glass of white wine to 16 € for a Negroni/Martini cocktail, 10 € for an after dinner drink and 20 € for a cocktail. I agree with you that transportation in the evening to local restaurants it's expensive as we are a country side resort and there is no taxi or Uber around here. As you wisely indicated, if you have a car it’s wiser to drive to an addresses nearby rather than pay money towards a chauffeur driven car. Luxury is 80% a matter of service and service is provided by human beings who work for a living. if we were an "all-inclusive resort" as you can find easily in the Caribbean, the cost of the room would need to be double if offering the same standards and level of service as we do. Thank you for your visit and hopefully your stay at Como Castello del Nero will remain as avery positive holiday and a beautiful memory. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Sara M wrote a review Oct 2019
Vatnajokull National Park, Iceland2 contributions
We stayed here for 4 nights in late September of this year (2019) during our honeymoon and me and my husband were both so so happy with this place! The hotel is beautiful, the views are stunning, the grounds are so magical and there are some really nice walks/hikes you can go on (bring some bug spray there is the occasional mosquito in the early evening). The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. But I think the thing that stood out was the attention to detail; turn down service left you a bottle of water on your nightstand every night, housekeeping was like ninjas waiting until the minute you left the room to tidy in the morning, everyone bent The only let down was the restaurant by the pool it’s overpriced and the food wasn’t anything special but, but Le Torre was great definitely go there if you can. Really can’t say enough great things about this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Oct 15, 2019
Dear Guests Thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that, somehow, we contributed in making your honeymoon a speciual one. I shall convey your compliments to the whole Team who made this possible. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
floristonhall wrote a review Oct 2019
london76 contributions63 helpful votes
A beautiful hotel with stunning Tuscan views. Picture postcard perfect. The whole hotel has been tastefully done. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff are without exception welcoming, super helpful and friendly. Particular mention to the Concierge who is a fount of knowledge and ideas. Overall service is hard to beat. The food is varied, interesting and tasty. Great wine list with an excellent Sommelier. Very good breakfast. Nice tennis courts and a really good long pool for those that like to do their lengths. The spa and the gym are top notch. My wife loved her massage. The location could not be better equidistant between Florence and Sienna and near to gems like Passignano, Radda in Chianti and Greve in Chianti. Our best day was exploring the local area on electric bikes, really fun and so so beautiful. I wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Oct 12, 2019
Dear Guests thank you so muh for your very kind review and for taking the time to compliment the team and the property. We are delighted you had a very enjoyable time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in anear future. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$552 - $836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello del nero boutique hotel and spa, castello del nero boutique hotel tavarnelle val di pesa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceBarberino TavarnellleTavarnelle Val di Pesa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about COMO Castello Del Nero
Which popular attractions are close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Nearby attractions include Opera in The Kitchen (4.3 miles), Pasta Fresca (1.8 miles), and Badia a Passignano (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria di Casa Chianti, La Capannina Sul Lago, and Caffè Degli Amici.
Are there opportunities to exercise at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero have an airport shuttle?
Yes, COMO Castello Del Nero offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Barberino Val d'Elsa (1.0 miles) and Monastero della Santissima Annunziata (4.8 miles).