We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Barberino Tavarnellle Italy
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Wellness Experience Package
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (580)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (95)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
GreenLeaders Bronze level
COMO Castello Del Nero, Tuscany, is a 740-acre, historic Italian estate a 30-minute drive from Florence and Siena — and the first property in continental Europe from COMO Hotels and Resorts. At the property’s heart stands a twelfth-century Castello featuring 50 rooms and suites with light and modern interiors by Milanese designer, Paola Navone. The Michelin-starred La Torre restaurant showcases gourmet Italian cuisine, using the finest Tuscan produce. There are two informal restaurants — La Taverna and the Pavilion — as well as a comprehensive wine cellar, an outdoor swimming pool open during summer months and tennis courts. COMO Shambhala Retreat offers complimentary yoga for residents, therapeutic massages and expert guidance in holistic wellness.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Hotel links
Special Offer:Wellness Experience Package
786Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 616
  • 97
  • 38
  • 20
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sid S wrote a review Aug 8
Zug, Switzerland19 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Great stay with 3 children aged 10,9 and 2. First we were worried about staying at a Como with kids but we booked the two rooms overlooking the vineyards away from the main building and it was super relaxing. I had some issues with emails and planning excursions out of the hotel but the GM got involved and everything was fixed. Highly recommend hikes around the property even with kids and the gelato making San Gimignano. The Michelin restaurant was great for a date night with my wife and the babysitter the hotel organized was also very professional. The shuttle bus back and forth to Firenze and the breakfast staff / big thumbs up.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: With kids stay in the rooms away from the main building.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest, Greetings from COMO Castello Del Nero. Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. We really appreciated it and we all hope you can visit us with your family soon. Best regards, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
Philip K wrote a review Apr 2022
Shrivenham12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Attentive but not intrusive service Absolutely stunning at every turn Very calm and relaxed Impeccable cleanliness Amazing setting Every single detail has been thought through… for instance access to my flannel and shampoo was exactly arms length away from me while bathing Turndown service new level
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Artolli, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Kate thank you so much for your most kind review. We feel very honoured by your words and we are delighted to have succeed in making your stay a memorable one. Have a great summer Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli General Manager
Read more
Dorothy S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We stayed at the property for three nights as the first part of our honeymoon in Italy. We were immediately impacted with castle. The building and the grounds are just stunning. The staff is very friendly and helped us to setup our wine tasting, and the truffle hunting, which is a must. La Torre, the Michelin starred restaurant was great. The tables are settled at the outdoor terrace so the experience is even more scenic. Thank you Rafa the bartender, great service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Dorothy, Greetings from COMO Castello Del Nero, and thank you for your kind words towards our hotel and staff. We hope you can visit us back soon. Best regards, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
dgold105 wrote a review Jul 2022
Malvern, Australia52 contributions22 helpful votes
The grounds and property are stunning. We had 3 rooms. The air conditioning wasn't overly effective in any and all 6 of us had sleepless nights as a result. In one of the rooms the air conditioning leaked water over one of our bags making clothing soaking wet. To their credit the hotel had the clothes cleaned and dried at their expense. In addition the service was very poor across the board. At breakfast on 2 occasions we waited over an hour for food to be served and even then orders had been mucked up. Food on the buffet had dead insects in it and the staff would just fish them out. Our pancakes one morning had 2 dead insects cooked in them and after waiting for 15 minutes for a second set we were told it would be another 15 minutes so we gave up. There was often no attendant at all by the pool. On one occasion we couldn't even get towels for chairs at 11:30 in the morning and had to go to reception to find someone. Same goes for the outdoor bar in the evening. Often it was impossible to get any service or find anyone there so we gave up on 2 occasions. The quality of the food overall was very good for all meals and as I said the property itself is fantastic. I think the issues I've outlined above let the Como brand down significantly and certainly don't justify the prices that are charged for the property. Having come from Borgo Egnazia and the Four Seasons properties in both Florence and Taormina the service here does not come even close. I did notice a lot of negative reviews regarding the service last season and contacted the property some months before we arrived to ask if they had been ironed out and was assured they had. Clearly not. Like others I rarely leave reviews but felt the need to leave one in this instance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear dgold105, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to read all the issues you faced during your stay and please accept my apologies for the various shortcomings you have listed. All your points related to services have been well noted and are being reviewed with the team to ensure they get rectified immediately so no other guest will be inconvenienced. Thank you for highlighting the quality of our food. It is certainly unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found your experience below your expectations. The entire team strives to create memorable moments for all our guests and we deeply regret that we were unable to leave a positive mark during your stay. Sincerely, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
Rod Marvin wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California8 contributions3 helpful votes
The view, the grounds, the food, all better than expected. Sitting at dinner, or by the pool, or just about anywhere, you are looking at an incredible expanse be beauty that will immediately help you feel calmer and more peaceful. The rooms are large and updated and comfortable and the pool is ample size for laps or lounging. You can take a walk or run through the adjacent forest or to one of the nearby lakes near the rows of grape vines. The friendly staff will help you get whatever you need so there is no reason to leave the amazing grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Rodmarvin, Thank you for your kind words towards our property and our staff. You have described so well the essence of our property, and I am happy to hear that you experienced a relaxing stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
Athanasia Efthimiu wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York12 contributions2 helpful votes
Castello Del Nero is an absolutley wonderful place. We started our honeymoon there and it couldn't have been a more amazing start. Our first night we ate at the pavillion and our minds were blown at the amazing food--the Pici and the Shambala chicken. Miro was an amazing host and we got to chat with him every day, a great guy. Then we'd get a night cap at the bar inside where Rafa was bartending and we became good friends with him. We did truffle hunting on the grounds with Matia whose family has been hunting truffles forever, plus his two dogs Briza and Spritz. it was SO fun, and then we were able to take those truffles we found and the chefs used them to cook us a 4-course truffle meal. It was amazing. We also did 2 wine tastings with the amazing Sommelier Ana. We got the amazing room with the giant terrace so we could see 360 degrees of tuscany and it felt like a dream. We did a great complimentary yoga lesson at the spa and then we also did a couples massage which was wonderful. We had the best time there. The room and grounds were amazing but what really made this place shine was the friendliness of the people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear AKE212, Thank you for your kind words towards our property and our staff. I am happy to hear that you had a great time with our signature experiences, such as the truffle hunting and the wine tasting. I will share your feedback with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
melaniepeisen wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York69 contributions28 helpful votes
I had high expectations for this property, given the COMO reputation, the caliber of the restaurant on property, and the immaculate setting in Tuscany. I THOUGHT I could not have thought of a better place to spend such a special occasion with my husband after not being able to travel for two years. However...from the moment we arrived, the experience was one disappointment after another, both big and small. Starting with being checked-in and escorted to a room that had not been cleaned from the prior guests departure. We we're left to wait outside for several hours until the room could be made. On the second day of our stay, the beautiful pool had turned green from poor keep. And on the third day after a short unexpected rain storm mid-day, the terrace outside La Torre was left with dirty plates, half empty cups, and soaked napkins for several hours. As for the staff, some of the staff members were pleasantly friendly, yet lacked the training or professionalism to be expected at a 5 star resort. Other members, such as the bar attendant by the pool were cold and unresponsive. The Chef was ever present trying to make up for other members of the team's short comings, though it was apparent his patience was often tested. Because of the initial issue at check in, the team offered to make up for the poor welcome by reimbursing some of our stay for the night, which was an unexpected gesture at the time the gesture was made. However, at the time of check out, because we had prepaid, we were told the best that the team could do was cover the ride of our driver to our next destination that day. One last instance of over promising and under delivering. I am not one to typically write a review, and I tend to give the benefit of the doubt to the team in instances like this. Unfortunately, what had been expected to be the experience of a life time ended up just being the low point of a nice trip and I hope my feedback helps make sure that this is not the case for future guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Dear Melanie and Michael, Thank you for sharing your feelings about your recent stay. I would like to once again apologise for the issues with your arrival experience. These occurrency is certainly not the norm at COMO Castello Del Nero and definitely should not have happened. I have addressed this already with the team. I realise that this was a once in a life time trip for you both and that you were expecting nothing but a perfect honeymoon. I am sincerely sorry that this was not the case. I particularly regret that we were not able to turn this around. I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your time in Italy and I am at your disposal should you want to discuss this further as I mentioned on the email that I sent to you. I hope you can be my guests at our hotel soon so you can properly enjoy our COMO experience at Castello Del Nero. Warm regards, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
Anonymous8 wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada371 contributions188 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at this hotel because I had very good memories of my stay at two Como hotels in Bhutan. I was here for 4 nights over the Easter Holidays. It is a very lovely hotel and the grounds are simply beautiful. I had a room in the main building with an outstanding view of the vineyards. The room is generously sized and well stocked with amenities. Housekeeping was wonderful, together with the nightly turn down service. Front desk staff were very friendly and professional. A few hiccups on the service level specifically in the Pavilion and the pool area. I was told it was due to lack of staff (and it was impressive to see the Chef pitching in to help!) - but the hotel should have known how many guests are expected and planned accordingly. I must say that on the third day, they were able to improve the service to a higher standard. The food served at the Pavilion, however, was top notch. In addition, dinner at La Torre was simply outstanding - both in food and service. The other hiccup I had was one night I was kept awake by all the noise (which included shouting) coming from the bar (unfortunately, below my room). I had to go down to Front Desk to request the guests to tone down as it was already past 1:00am - this would be something I would expect from an urban hotel, but not from a wellness retreat hotel. Overall, it was a very good stay and experience for me - just needs a bit more "polishing".
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded May 14, 2022
Dear guest, Greetings from COMO Castello Del Nero. Thank you for your time sharing with us your detailed review, we are actively working on the improvement of our services and your feedback is extremely valuable in that process. I am glad to hear your kind words towards our staff in housekeeping, front office, and restaurants, we have a highly motivated team here, and is great to see the positive impact on our guest experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Warm regards. Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
Cheryl G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Castello del Nero is by far the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. It is a 5 star resort and the staff is so very friendly and professional. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager, Eddy who was so very kind and genuine. We were upgraded to a room (300) that was FABULOUS. We were told that if they have have the ability to upgrade and the reservation was booked using AmEx, they automatically upgrade you. The reception staff, especially Julia, were extremely helpful and pleasant ALL THE TIME! Dining on the terrrace overlooking the vineyards is an experience we will never forget. The view, service and food were perfection! The free shuttle to Firenze is a great deal (normally $300) and the drivers are nice and all speak English. We will definitely be back to Castello del Nero!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 300 is beautiful, quiet and very large with wonderful view of the vineyards.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Edvaldo Brito, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear Cheryl, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back in the future. Warmest regards, Edvaldo Brito General Manager
Read more
Anastassia Talas wrote a review Nov 2021
Toronto, Canada91 contributions70 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel. Some service glitches, but overall positive experience. Big, clean rooms with beautiful large bathrooms. My only note, that rooms have poor noise isolation so you hear everything in the hallways and the showers in next door rooms. Great breakfast with a great variety of food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$783 - $1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello del nero boutique hotel and spa, castello del nero boutique hotel tavarnelle val di pesa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceBarberino TavarnellleTavarnelle Val di Pesa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about COMO Castello Del Nero
Which popular attractions are close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Nearby attractions include Badia a Passignano (3.4 miles), Pasta Fresca (1.8 miles), and Opera in The Kitchen (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria di Casa Chianti, La Capannina Sul Lago, and Ristorante Borgo Antico.
Are there opportunities to exercise at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero have an airport shuttle?
Yes, COMO Castello Del Nero offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero have airport transportation?
Yes, COMO Castello Del Nero offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.