We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

COMO Castello Del Nero

Save
Share
Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Barberino Tavarnellle Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$793
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/28/22
Booking.com$842
ZenHotels.com
Orbitz.com$843
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (553)
Room & Suite (141)
Dining (88)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
COMO Castello Del Nero, Tuscany, is a 740-acre, historic Italian estate a 30-minute drive from Florence and Siena — and the first property in continental Europe from COMO Hotels and Resorts. At the property’s heart stands a twelfth-century Castello featuring 50 rooms and suites with light and modern interiors by Milanese designer, Paola Navone. The Michelin-starred La Torre restaurant showcases gourmet Italian cuisine, using the finest Tuscan produce. There are two informal restaurants — La Taverna and the Pavilion — as well as a comprehensive wine cellar, an outdoor swimming pool open during summer months and tennis courts. COMO Shambhala Retreat offers complimentary yoga for residents, therapeutic massages and expert guidance in holistic wellness.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quiet
774Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 607
  • 96
  • 37
  • 19
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anastassia Talas wrote a review Nov 14
Toronto, Canada89 contributions42 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel. Some service glitches, but overall positive experience. Big, clean rooms with beautiful large bathrooms. My only note, that rooms have poor noise isolation so you hear everything in the hallways and the showers in next door rooms. Great breakfast with a great variety of food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Joseph B wrote a review Sep 2021
Cornwall, New York8 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I just ended our trip to Castello del Nero and were there for seven nights. Without a doubt, this was one of the best hotels we’ve been blessed to come to in the world and we will absolutely be returning again. Alberto, Giulia and the entire team at Castillo del Nero went out of their way to make our stay stress free. From helping us with reservations and arrangements before we even arrived, to checking in on us regularly and being proactive about suggestions to make our stay even better, the entire staff treated us like family. The location of the hotel is very central to many of the areas of Tuscany we wanted to visit so it was also very good from a geographical standpoint. We highly recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Monica wrote a review Aug 2021
San Francisco, California62 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived in Tuscany extremely excited to stay at this hotel. We booked through Amex Platinum, which includes noon check-in when available, free breakfast for two, room upgrade when available, 4pm late check-out guarantee and $100USD food and beverage credit. When we arrived there was a couple at the front desk complaining about the dining service and overall experience. I had really hoped they were wrong. Alberto checked us in and said the room was not ready and said we asked for two beds vs one king. I said that we booked a room with one bed. He kept insisting. Very rude, and eventually I had to pull up my e-mail and show him we booked a king bed. No upgrade received and no early check-in. Dining for breakfast was truly bad, especially for a five star resort. The staff was rude and never bothered giving us a menu for eggs (not once in 5 days). We asked for coffee and were always given a look as though we were inconveniencing them. Very bad service. The best part - as we were leaving the property they closed the gates on us and said “you need to sign your bill!” Literally trapped us… what are we criminals? They then charged us for some food for which should have already been covered by our Amex Platinum credit. EXHAUSTING! Always so exhausting dealing with the staff. Had to sit there and have them fix it for another 30 minutes. The one good thing was housekeeping. They were amazing. Organized everything and very sweet. 5 stars to housekeeping. Overall, they don’t deserve 5 stars and certainly do not deserve to be a part of the Amex Fine Hotels & Resorts collection.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here! Not truly 5 stars!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Artolli, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Aug 25, 2021
Dear Mrs Monica Many thanks for your review and valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not go as well as you expected. I investigated on the issues during your stay and partly I do have to agree with. However, after checking on your reservation I must confirm the probably by error your agent did book a twin bedded room. Upon arrival Alberto mentioned that to you but as the rooms was not ready, full summer season, we asked Housekeeping to prepare a large bed out of the twin bed. I agree with you that service during those days was a bit chaotic and I apologize, but you were not ignored in purpose. The team just happened to be overwhelmed by all guest coming to breakfast all at the same time. I take full responsibility for the inconvenience and I am prepared to offer financial compensation for the unpleasant service during breakfast. I will contact you directly to find out how you wish to be reimbursed even if breakfast was complimentary. I will refund you the value of breakfast as pre our price list. Concerning the billing issue, I am sure you did not leave to hotel in purpose without checking out. However, your bill needed to be settled and rather then call the driver while already on your way they just closed the gate. Once you were back the issue was solved in a couple of minutes admittedly there was an error on the bill, which was promptly corrected so you would be able to pay for the balance. Sadly, we have not been able to deliver the kind of service we pride ourselves on and that you expected and I am very sorry about it. We do try very hard to deliver a heartfelt experience to all our Guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Best Regards Giuseppe Artolli General Manager
Read more
Christine Anding wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York5 contributions
Beautiful hotel and lovely amenities, but thought it was a bit overpriced for the level of service received. I agree with the other reviewers that the service staff (particularly the restaurant service) seemed very inexperienced and understaffed — the service was often very slow and there were several times when our food or drink orders were mixed up or forgotten altogether. It unfortunately just wasn’t quite the 5 star hotel service quality that we were expecting for the price that we paid, but hopefully it’s only a temporary impact related to reopening after the pandemic. That being said, we thought all hotel staff were very nice and welcoming and the room and common spaces were spacious and well kept. The food was good, but a bit pricy (even at the Pavillon, which is the lowest tier restaurant on the property) - I recommend having a car to be able to have some lunches/dinners in the nearby villages as it is very expensive to eat that the hotel for all meals and there are a lot of very good restaurants/wineries 10-20 min drive from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own car
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
helene m wrote a review Aug 2021
Paris, France18 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed 3 nights with our children at the Como hotel. We were booked at the Loft suite, which is very accommodating for a family as you can add 2 beds downstairs and keep space. The room was very beautiful and clean except under the coffee table where crumbs remained, but given the rest I suppose it was a mistake. Excellent housekeeping with a night shift that is nice and not the standard at all the 5 stars unfortunately. The hotel is overly beautiful with stunning views, the pool large and clean, extremely agreeable and our kids just loved it. The setting of the restaurant exception all. I thought breakfast was good all in all. Now the less good: well the service… Réception not very friendly, especially at check in, and if you need something, be it a pen at reception or salt at the restaurant… just be relax because because literally anything will take 30 minutes minimum to arrive. Except the food that takes twice. Restaurant staff was friendly though, it’s just that I wondered where they fetched things that it could take that long, and eventually often gave up. Where is the Pavillon? It is on the website but nowhere to be seen In real life, so a bit of a fake in my opinion (just mention on the site when I will be opened) And lastly, a détail but that annoyed me enormously. I am the mother / wife of the family. I did the reservation, was the contact point at all times (when I have my credit card details for example). The day before my arrival I was asked the name of my husband. When we arrived largely displayed on the screen « Dear Mr XX » and then everywhere, every paper, every email « Dear Mr XX ». Not even Mr and Mrs, just Mr. Well, I believe it is time to update a bit because as much as I enjoyed my stay I won’t return or recommend a place that does not acknowledge women.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Artolli, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Dear Mrs Helen Many thanks for your review and valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not go as we would have hoped. It's highly appreciated you took the time to comments on the little issues you had during your stay. I am sorry if you felt service was slow and a little inefficient, I shall definitely look into it and speak to the relative Managers. As for the Pavilion I can reassure you that it does exist and was hidden by those green screens down at the pool. Because of the many slow down and closure of the site related to Covid issues unfortunately the restaurant could not open along with the Hotel. It will open officially tomorrow and we look forward to solve many of our present service issues. I would like to reassure you on your comments about not taking in consideration ladies within our property. As you were able to see most of our team on site consist in ladies and we have the highest respect for them. The fact that all communications once in the Hotel were done on your husband's name is due to the IT management system we use. In case of a couple the husband name is used to open the Hotel account and consequently that becomes the leading name. Nothing to do with no acknowledging women, nothing at all Mrs Helen. I am sorry if you felt offended, please do accept my deepest apologies but there is only a technical reason behind the use of your husband’s name. I have added your comments on your guest profile and we shall not fail to have both names on the hotel account and on the various communications we may have to address you during your next stay. Warmest regards and have a great summer. Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$552 - $836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello del nero boutique hotel and spa, castello del nero boutique hotel tavarnelle val di pesa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceBarberino TavarnellleTavarnelle Val di Pesa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about COMO Castello Del Nero
Which popular attractions are close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Nearby attractions include Badia a Passignano (3.4 miles), Pasta Fresca (1.8 miles), and Opera in The Kitchen (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria di Casa Chianti, La Capannina Sul Lago, and Ristorante Borgo Antico.
Are there opportunities to exercise at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero have an airport shuttle?
Yes, COMO Castello Del Nero offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero have airport transportation?
Yes, COMO Castello Del Nero offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.