We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tsuruya

Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (30)
Video (1)

About

#11 of 32 hotels in Aso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tsuruya is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Aso, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Tsuruya offer air conditioning. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including room service. Guests of Tsuruya are also welcome to enjoy a hot tub and breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. Nearby landmarks such as Mo-mo- Farm Takehara Bokujo (1.8 mi) and Couples (1.8 mi) make Tsuruya a great place to stay when visiting Aso. While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Asian restaurants, including Yume No Yu Ramen, Rairai, and Shakuma Ramen, all of which are a short distance from Tsuruya. If you are interested in exploring Aso, check out a garden, such as Hanaasobi. Enjoy your stay in Aso!
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Spa
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Hot Tub
Meeting rooms
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Special Offer:Shuttle bus available!!

Location

Full view
22Reviews
1Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Well we certainly had a unique experience at this fine Ryokan. Our room was very nice with comfortable double bed (western style) but with a tub / shower outdoors on our private porch. Tub supplied by local hot water (but no too hot). We were prepared delicious and gracious
Read more
My son and I stayed 2 nights at Tsuruya while visiting the Mt. Aso area. We were warmly greeted with home-made macha tea and a small serving of sweet beans before any discussion of charges was made. Our room was in the ryokan part of the building, on the second floor. It was the
Read more
we were welcomed by such friendly staff - the dinner and breakfasts were superb - places was very clean - the photos are a true representation of the place - great location - off street parking is good - thoroughly recommend a stay here
Read more
+1
We, 2 couples, were very disappointed with our stay at the Aso Tsuruya Hotel! First, the pictures at web show a trendy, newly decorated, contemporary hotel. We were not able to see anywhere looked like the pictures! The truth is the hotel is old, run down, messy, dirty, very
Read more
Response from 料理旅館つるや, 支配人 at Tsuruya
Responded Feb 12, 2017
Thank you for staying with us. We were happy to accommodate you. Our property is not the western typed hotel. Its called RYOKAN that is based on the Japanese typical building. Its 5 minutes away from ASO shrine and there are many guests stay at our property from over the world to learn the history and Japanese cultures and enjoy the nature in ASO. We try our best to provide the comfortable and pleasant rooms to all the guests by keep renovating and reconstructing the rooms and property. You arrived at the back gate as the car navigation might show the back gate on the screen as Main gate. The staff didn't have perfect English skill and couldn't explain enough. We normally ask the guests to go around and get in from the main gate or let the guests check in at the lounge. Did you happen to come into building from the back gate and already took off the shoes when our staff come to you? The staff for the check in is working at our property for long enough to know that we don't ask the guests to come to the lobby from the back gate. You told us that the room we took you to is different to the one you booked. Actually, The room was the one you booked. When we asked more details, We realized that you were requesting to stay at the detached room. We informed you that you will need to pay extra fee to change the room type and we asked Booking.com customer services to explain to you again to avoid miscommunication. The staff from booking.com customer services explained to you that you need to pay the extra charges and the cancellation fee will apply if you cancelled on the day. What we hear from the staff was you understood that and decided to stay in the original room. About the room : We have air conditioner in the room and set for heat 25 degree. The guests are able to change the degree up to 30 by themselves. The air conditioner was working on the day you stayed at our property as usual. We had a hot carpet and a fan heater as well. In your brother room, had KOTATSU (that is table with heater and blanket to warm up legs) and YUTANPO (that is a bottle with hot water in to warm the bed and keep warm all night) The fan heater, it stops after 3 hours for the safety reason when the guest leave on. We apologize that we didn't explain enough for this. The noises for air-conditioner, We don't mind the sound, however there are different kinds of the guests. We will try our best to improve the air conditioner system by discussing with the specialist. We don't understand that you weren't able to use the hot water as if you leave the tap open, you should be able to get the hot water and we couldn't help with it if you could let us know at the time. We apologize for not having enough soap in the bottle. We couldn't bring it to you right away if you could let us know. We can see that you were pretty not happy with our property and us as you left the messages and reviews on other medias. We appreciate your reviews and will improve our property and services to provide the great services to all the guests.
Read more
I stayed two nights in a room with private bath. The room and bath were great, the ryokan is in a quiet area near Aso Jinja (which unfortunately is destroyed now). Breakfast was very delicious and staff overly friendly! Unfortunately, I was there just the two nights during the
Read more
Response from turuya2014, オーナー at Tsuruya
Responded Apr 21, 2016
Stay at this palace the other day, and thank you very much truly. And please permit the thing to which I couldn't give my service sufficiently for a big earthquake at all. I pile up that I received wonderful evaluation and thank you. Your family returned safely, and it was really good. Children's, a pretty smiling face isn't forgot wonderfully. Thank you very much.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$184 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKyushuKumamoto PrefectureAso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing