We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here
Save
Share
52610 Cuba
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (13972)
Pool & Beach (3779)
Room & Suite (1547)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Las Dunas
Updated 06/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 23 hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A beachfront location on Cayo Santa María, an exotic setting with wonderful natural luxury. 5 Star All Inclusive Resort. Lively environments for both families and couples, and renowned in Cuba for its dream wedding locations. A tourist village full of attractions, where life centres around the spacious lobby area, with its Caribbean colours, water mirrors and palapas, running into a unique boulevard of food and culture, with a main square, where elegant environments for families and couples converge, in a kind of challenge to the fantasy, which will make you falls in love with just breathing its breeze. Renowned for its varied range of cuisine and its modern and welcoming rooms. The superior rooms boast a spacious walk-in wardrobe, bathroom with shower and bath and their added-value package. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and circuits.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Bowling
Diving
Squash
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
10340Reviews1387Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,883
  • 3,502
  • 1,659
  • 774
  • 523
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gerry T wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I am just wrapping up my week here. Positive: the beach is exquisite on most days. Hit&miss: the service. Some nice people; others did not want to be there. Tip pressure is overwhelming. Negative: everything else. The rooms are very old and smell like mold. Not clean; frequently seen cockroaches. Shower water is warm at best on hottest setting. The resort is EMPTY. No one is here so therefore makes for a very boring vacation. There is NOTHiNG TO DO here. The kayaks and pedalos were never allowed out, even on very calm days with no wind. Most beach chairs are broken. Tons of seaweed wash up that they try and pick up daily... Food is just horrible. Buffet not worthy of that name. Menu in all restaurants the same every day. I got a stomach flu on my last day ( i don't drink ). Entertainment is nowhere to be seen. Most importantly, the resort is overrun by local families (90% of hotel guests). They cut in front of you at the buffet and are loud in their rooms until the early hours of the morning. The facilities are just not maintained. Sorry but this is my honest experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Director MLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr. Gerryt, We would like to thank you for taking the time to report your feedback on Trip Advisor about your stay at Melia Las Dunas Hotel and we are pleased to know you liked our amazing beach. However, we are surprised about your comments of our food, because it is one of the best points that our costumers remark on their opinions, prove of this, it is the dozens of review that you can check on this same page. Furthermore, our Executive Chef works hard to offer different types of dishes for our guests coming from all over the world; we apologize if our food offering did not fulfill your expectations. Concerning to our staff, we would like to point out that our resort enjoy of an excellent reputation among our repeater clients because our staff play an active role in making feel great to all guests and their priority is guest satisfaction. Regarding to the entertainment, we have several proposals. During the day, there are activities at the beach and pool. At night, we have dancers, karaoke, white night, Cuban night, etc. In addition, kayaks, catamaran and pedalos are available at the beach area, but please note that it is not safe to use them in bad weather or on windy days. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with these options and we will consider your comment to improve our entertainment offering. We can assure you we are going to work very hard in order to offer a better service to our clients who are our only reason of being and existing. Yours sincerely, Bernardo García González General Manager
Read more
Andi G wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
So far i love the hotel thanks a lot for the opportunity again food is super as the drinks n attention so special the entertainment is great they helped me with the kids also Ernesto is a good guy mention for him n all the stuff we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Director MLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 444andig, We thank you very much for your review. All the staff and myself are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us, in Meliá Las Dunas, and that you enjoyed your vacation here. We will be happy to receive you and your family again, at your new Caribbean house! See you soon. Kind Regards, Bernardo García González General Manager
Read more
Joseph J wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Cuba was an amazing experience, from the food to the activities to the staff. I enjoyed the weather, thanks to Ricardo, I learned a lot of Similarities between Cuba and Nigerian cultures. Cuba now is like a second Nigeria and I love how it feels like home. I look forward to back coming here. Thank you Melias las dunas for the amazing time
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Director MLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Muscleempire, Thanks a lot for your review!!! We feel very proud to have inspired this review you have recently posted. It is very good to us to receive these nice comments that stimulate us to continue working in order to improve our service quality. I love to see that guests leave our resort wishing to come back. It will be our pleasure to host you back again in a near future. Kind Regards, Bernardo García González General Manager
Read more
Compass617986 wrote a review Nov 2021
11 contributions2 helpful votes
Because the staff the entertainment, the shows are amazing. We had a nice time here the people very nice the food was magnificent rooms are very clean and the beaches are perfect. Also the costumer service was excellent. Ricardo Ernesto keily exelent. The manager of the resort very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Director MLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Compass617986, First, thanks a lot for choosing us to spend your vacations and sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to know your vacations were up to your expectations and that you had excellent days in our hotel. We will congratulate each member of our staff mainly those you mention. It will be a pleasure to receive you again! Best Regards, Bernardo García González General Manager
Read more
Yoven N wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Everything is good , Food is good Beer is good Entertainment is perfect Especially Ernesto n Ricardo we spend a good weeks with family thanks Melia las dunas we will be back for sure The beach was excellent it looked just like the pictures on the website
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Director MLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Happiness620149, Thanks a lot for taking your time sharing your experience on Trip Advisor web site and showing to all the travelers how good is our hotel. It will be a pleasure to receive you here again, thanks again for trust in Cuba, Melia Hotels International company and our Melia Las Dunas hotel. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Lisvey Valladares Sales Department
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia las dunas hotel cayo santa maria, melia cayo santa maria, melia hotel las dunas, melia las dunas cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaVilla Clara ProvinceCayo Santa Maria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
925
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Las Dunas
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Las Dunas?
Nearby attractions include Santa Maria Beach (2.2 miles), Delfinario en Cayo Santa Maria (1.4 miles), and Plaza La Estrella (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Las Dunas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Las Dunas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Las Dunas?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Las Dunas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Las Dunas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Las Dunas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Las Dunas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Does Melia Las Dunas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Melia Las Dunas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.