We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Melia Buenavista Hotel

Save
Share
Pedraplén a Cayo, 52610 Cuba
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (6398)
Pool & Beach (2137)
Room & Suite (1126)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Buenavista Hotel
Updated 01/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 22 hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 108 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio" plus three new, beautiful and comfortable three and four bedroom villas. Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Bowling offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3608Reviews463Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,576
  • 619
  • 248
  • 96
  • 69
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SmokeyBear wrote a review Mar 2021
Vancouver, Canada12 contributions
Not sure this hotel has the correct rating especially for food Pizzas were our favourite thing about this resort which says a lot! Other than that the food is not great and some of it is horrible and served luke warm. Sand fleas and mosquitos were a big problem for us. Hundreds of bites. Oceanview suites worth the views and are nice rooms. Cups at all the beach bars are way too small
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista Hotel
Responded Apr 8, 2021
Dear SmokeyBear999, Receive our most respectful greeting from sunny Cuba. We heartily appreciate you honest review. We understand some of our services did not exactly meet all your expectations but we thank your giving us the chance to identify these improvement opportunities. On this time off by the covid we are working really hard in the improvement of all our services and your opinions constitute a great help for us to orient our efforts. Concerning the food, our Executive Chef works hard to offer different types of dishes for our guests coming from all over the world, we are sorry if our food offerings did not fulfill your expectations. About mosquitos, unfortunately it is a typical tropic-area situation that we fight every day. Also, the authorities have a plan of air fumigation and control of the natural flora around the hotel. It will be a pleasure to receive you again, if you decide to give us another chance; please do not hesitate to contact us.
Read more
Steve S wrote a review Oct 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom50 contributions59 helpful votes
Service was impeccable the 3 beaches all had something different. As the restaurants were al a carte the food was cooked to order as you would expect it tasted unbelievable. Adults only and we met some lovely people cant wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista Hotel
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Dear SteS720, Thank you very much for your great review, I am very happy to see that you had such a great vacation with us, I hope I can see you in a near future!!
Read more
Steve B wrote a review Jul 2020
Worsley, United Kingdom457 contributions237 helpful votes
A superb hotel / resort. A small hotel by Cuban standards (maybe 80 rooms) which is ideal for us. Adults only. All inclusive, which is not our normal choice but it is hard to get any other option in Cuba. We stayed in a The Level Romance Junior Suite Sea View which I can recommend as being the best rooms. Very spacious rooms, with two showers (one outside) and a different towel / flower display in the room every night! The mini bar is very poorly stocked - only one beer, no spirits, no fizz, and a couple of soft drinks. What makes this resort is the superb beaches, three of them, which surround the hotel on three sides. The beaches are totally unspoiled and ecologically magnificent, with fabulous marine life. Take a walk to the left along the coast and it is also superb. Beach / pool staff are very good and brought drinks to us on the beach on a regular basis. The small pizza shack between the pool and beach is good. The staff are mostly great - you are allocated two butlers who attend to you on alternate days. Erik was very good - efficient and personable. Our other butler was frankly fairly useless. You have to book your evening meal through your butler and one butler (not Erik) messed up our booking twice. 3 restaurants, with a limited menu which hardly changed through our 11 night stay. Los Caribes and Los Nevagantes were ok, but not 5 star quality. Los Marinos, next to the beach, was pretty awful - poor service and full of flies on the food and everywhere else. The Lobby Bar was absolutely brilliant, both during the day for a coffee, or in the evening for a cocktail. Fairly small (which is good) with different entertainment every night - authentic Cuban music. So good, and fantastic staff. There are two sister hotels along the coast where you can visit - free transport provided from reception - but don’t bother. They are enormous! Over 1000 guests, many bars/restaurants, noisy, brash, poor food. We tried once and would not go back. Overall we had a brilliant holiday. I highly recommend. It would be nice to sort out the food for next time though, as we will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista Hotel
Responded Jul 7, 2020
Dear 82SteveB, Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience. It has felt very good to read your review. We understand you have had a really good time, even when your experience had some negative points. We heartily hope this recent visit will not be the last one. I´m completely sure that the next ones will be even greater and you will enjoy more our services and offer.
Read more
Lyse B wrote a review Jun 2020
Ottawa, Canada362 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
We were at this resort in December 2019 and we wrote our review accordingly - we were disappointed (that you can go read on trip advisor). We had the opportunity to go back in March 2020 and this time we were pleasantly surprise. There is a new manager, Manuel. He seems really nice and wanting to improve the resort. We did not have a chance to meet him personally, but maybe next time around. Hopefully, he will still be there when we return. The downfall of this resort, is that the manager never seem to stay for more then a few months (6 months). Therefore, the continuation of plan for improvement is always starting over. I think you should have a great manager like Manuel and make sure he is there to implement new and better the resort (for exemple : redo the walkway to the beach, make sure all light fixture outside the pathways are in working order). We left Melia Buenavista and we were one of the last customers because of the pandemic Covid 19. The staff was very careful and taking all the necessary precautions. We are return customers (more then 10 times) because we consider the staff like family and friends. Hopefully, after all of this situation in the world, they will return to work at this hotel, because without them it would not be the same. I hope they all come back and stay healthy. Lester and the pool bar, is a great man and always so polite. Sucel a waitress at Los Marinos, she is so nice and she speaks great French. I really enjoyed talking to her every day. Daylin and Sydney at the reception are so accommodating and always wanting to help. Daylin was able to take care of me while I wanted to talk to the Sunwing Representative at the other sister hotel. Sandy a waiter at the restaurant is very funny and always a nice smile. At the grill BBQ, we just love Piti and Big Papa (Pedro). Navy at the animation is just the best. We truly enjoy rock night. We hope it will still be there when we go back. Liban, at the pool is a very good connoisseur on wild life and we enjoy spending time with him. Louis, Yamasela, Dorgsys at the lobby bar, just great people. Edel, Gerardo, Outlandier, those concierge are just amazing. We are very fortunate to always have Edel and Gerardo. These 2 man are just amazing. They both work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay and that you have all the necessary. BBQ- grill I don’t believe the grill should be open all night long or long hours. It was not always like this but they (the management) decided to change this. I don’t think it is necessary at this resort. I truly enjoyed having Piti and Pedro (Bid Papa) work together during the day in the previous years. This place is home away from home for us. Every time we go, it's like going to see our family and friends. It almost feel like your own private resort. It's a quiet place that we will always cherish.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista Hotel
Responded Jul 7, 2020
Dear Lyse B, First of all many thanks for take your time writing on trip advisor... We are so happy to see that you finally enjoyed your stay with us. For sure that we will share this review with all people you are referring us. Thank you so much for your comments. It will be a pleasure to receive you again and you can enjoy our improvements
Read more
DeChR wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
This was our 2nd visit here and we absolutely love it! It’s smaller, quaint and easy going atmosphere is the draw. And of course All of the staff (Luis, Lauren, Joel, Levan, Lanni, Orlando, Lester, Yobani, Sandi, Miguel, Dyorges, Dianellis, Julio, Yamisela, Pedro, Pitti ) and SO many others make our stay so comfortable and pleasant. The beaches are well maintained and beautiful. There’s always a lounge chair available on the beach or at the pool and you don’t have to walk miles to get to either!! The restaurants also provide excellent food and hospitality. We always enjoy the options and never leave hungry 😋. We happily will return again once the pandemic curse is lifted! ❤️Cheryl and Derek
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Director_General_MSM, Director General at Melia Buenavista Hotel
Responded Apr 20, 2020
Dear DeChR21, First of all many thanks for take your time writing on trip advisor... We are so happy to see that you finally enjoyed your stay with us. For sure that we will share this review with all people you are referring us. It will be a pleasure to receive you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia buenavista hotel cayo santa maria
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Melia Buenavista
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaVilla Clara ProvinceCayo Santa Maria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Buenavista Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Santa Maria Beach (3.7 miles), Delfinario en Cayo Santa Maria (3.0 miles), and Plaza La Estrella (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Buenavista Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Buenavista Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Buenavista Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Melia Buenavista Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Melia Buenavista Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.