We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Matira Point, BP 156, Vaitape 98730 French Polynesia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (3626)
360
Panoramas (33)
Room & Suite (1119)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
At InterContinental® Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, the day starts with breakfast in your overwater bungalow, delivered on a wooden canoe decorated with exotic flowers. Spend the morning exploring world-class dive sites, jumping straight off your private pontoon into azure waters for a swim, or beachcombing along stunning Matira Beach. Elsewhere on the island, Mount Otemanu provides some vigorous hiking and stunning views, or just potter about the main village for famed Tahitian black pearls.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
2172Reviews198Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,606
  • 415
  • 95
  • 37
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Coldbrew wrote a review May 15
Sunset Beach, North Carolina349 contributions154 helpful votes
We stayed 4 nights at the le Moana and enjoyed every minute of it. This is a large property and although it was fully booked every night it often felt like we had the place to ourselves. It seemed like there was never anyone on the beach or in the water and that we were the only people staying there. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and every person you passed had a smile and said la orana. The over water bungalows were separated quite a bit so you had privacy. Our Jr suite had a great over the horizon view of the water. The room itself was good sized with the sleeping area separate from the living area. The water around the bungalows is crystal clear and if you feed the fish from the glass table in your room you can get some great photos. Wifi connectivity is excellent throughout the property, I never had a problem getting a strong connection. Matira Beach, just across the street from the hotel is a fabulous public beach and the place to get Sunset photos. The Polynesian buffet and show on Tuesday night is worth it. The buffet is excellent and the show was pretty entertaining. The only negative aspect from my perspective is the lack of entree choices on the hotel dinner menu. Not much to choose from and not much that appealed to us. But, that wouldn't stop me from returning. I will say the bar restaurant has fabulous tacos (we had fish and Mexican chicken). Wish they were an entree choice at the main restaurant. I would return here in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: The Tuesday Polynesian buffet and show is worth it. There is a small market a few minutes walk away.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Mr Coldbrew Iaorana, Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The matter you have raised will be investigated and has received my personal attention. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that overall you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our resort I have forwarded your kind words to my team. The whole staff will be delighted to read your feedback, and we’re glad that you put our resort as your first choice in Bora Bora should you wish to come back. Yours sincerely, Laurence Lévy General Manager
Read more
sunseekerOregon wrote a review May 11
Bend, Oregon80 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful resort with boutique feel and top notch service. We felt like we almost the only ones there! We love Mexico for the hospitality-but this was another level! Maya the concierge was so very helpful. I loved the location. A little windy, however. We were able to rent scooters and see the island-so fun! Went to grocery store for snacks and tried other restaurants. This is something that is harder to do when your resort is on the motu. Over the water bungalows were very nice & comfortable. Great snorkeling off bungalow when not windy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sunseeker Oregon, Thank you very much for your kind ffed back and for highighting Maya and the whole team. It was a real pleasure having you. There is no better thnaks for us than having happy guests and we are proud to have reached your expectations. Sincerely yours Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
MelissaRStern wrote a review May 10
13 contributions
This hotel was amazing. The staff is wonderful, and checking in and out was a seamless process. They walk you to your room and make sure you have everything you need. The overwater bungalows were incredible -- spacious and had a little dock so you could go into the water from your own ladder. Everything was clean and there's plenty to do. You can use kayaks, paddle boards, among other things for free. If you book any excursions, you are picked up on time whether it be by car or boat. They also have deals with restaurants nearby, so if you book certain places, you can get picked up and dropped off...this was very convenient. The Intercontinental hotel has two locations in Bora Bora, so they usually stop at both to and from the airport for pickups...so pay attention that you get off at the right one! You can also take a boat between the two locations for a small fee, or if you have a spa appointment, it's included. The spa is located at the other property. Booking excursions was easy and the staff was helpful and knowledgeable when we needed anything. Although checkout was at 11 AM on our last day and we didn't get picked up for the airport until 4:15 PM, they had a private space where you can shower and get ready so you can enjoy your last day without worrying about showering before a long flight.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The bungalows at the end are more private
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Melissa, The view is nicer that the poscard ! Thank you for your wonderful survey wihch is a reward to the team. It was indeed a rel apleasure having you Sincerely yours Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
daacda wrote a review May 10
Dayton, Ohio27 contributions12 helpful votes
Wonderful, friendly staff; clean and beautiful bungalows over the ocean. Great room service. Breakfast buffet every morning was so, so good with everything you could ask for. This place is undoubtedly the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen. Crystal clear water-so beautiful are the blue, turquoise, and teal colors you’ll see every day. It feels like a dream. We kayaked to the Fishbowl to spend the afternoon snorkeling with the fish out there. Plenty can be seen from your bungalow as well! Last night a ray and a shark! Just incredible. Took a tour with Lagoon Service and swam with beautiful fish, sting rays, and sharks. Private appointment with Arc en Ciel, a local Tahitian pearl family owned company. I felt like a rock star. Unreal trip!! I wouldn’t bring small kids. It’s not set up for kids really.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Should I say "stay" Thank you for your warm feed back who will be sincerely appreciated by the team. Sincerely yours Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
firedogair@yahoo.com wrote a review May 3
Morro Bay, California10 contributions8 helpful votes
The staff was excellent along with the food. It is close to restaurants, car rentals, and small markets. The weather and water was perfect. Take a tour of the lagoon, swim with the rays, fish and sharks, drive around the island and enjoy a perfect spot.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear FIREDOGAir Iaorana, We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. There is no better thanks for us than having happy guests. The whole staff will be delighted to read your feedback, and we’re glad that you enjoyed the hotel and mostly the staff who are gems. Yours sincerely, Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
Andrada wrote a review May 2
Montreal, Canada44 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We visited the resort first time in 2019 and we loved it so much, that we decided to return in 2021. Outstanding view, excellent location (near restaurants and local shops) and fantastic staff. The resort is very well maintained, with lush vegetation, and gorgeous beach. Everybody is very nice, polite and helpful, you feel like in a family. The general manager is a treasure, she is so sweet, she greeted us upon our arrival and when we left, she really made us feel at home. Our overwater bungalow was excellent, we had a minor problem with the toilet but they immediately sent someone to fix it. Overall, was an amazing experience and we cannot wait to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ANDRADA A Iaorana, We thank you for your loyalty for having chosen once again the InterContinental Hotels Group and InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort. We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review. The expectation are higher for a second stay and we are proud to have reached your expectations. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments. We’re very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the resort. It seems that you appreciated the real spirit of Le Moana and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. We would be very happy to welcome you back for your third stay. Yours sincerely, Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
Robert H wrote a review Apr 2022
rhennssy5 contributions1 helpful vote
When I heard tales of the South Pacific as a young boy, Le Moana is the place that I dreamed about before I knew it existed. A lovely little bit of subtle luxury tucked away on the world's most beautiful beach, Matira. You are truly in Bora Bora when you step onto the grounds--the actual island, cared for the people who actually live there. The winds blow the bugs away, the staff eases your cares away. The property is managed by one of the world's foremost industry professionals in Laurence Levy. We have been to many resorts in BB, in Moorea, the Tuamotus, the Cook Islands, Fiji, and many others. But we love Le Moana the most. Our five trips there feel like too few and we long to return next. If you want the real deal, to stand on the island of Bora Bora and to be transported to the South Pacific, do stay here. xx
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We prefer the beach bungalows, but the overwater bungalows are a dream come true.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rhennssy Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort! We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to learn that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our resort. Our target is high when we do have loyal returning guests like you who should not be disappointed after each new. We are really proud to have met your expectations once again. I have forwarded your kind comments to my team, who will be delighted to read them. We look forward to welcoming you, your family or friends in the near future. Yours sincerely Laurence Lévy General Manager
Read more
Diana V wrote a review Apr 2022
15 contributions
+1
Bora Bora was number one on my bucket list for more than a decade. This year I made it come true. It was such an adventure, from beginning to end. I only spent couple days there but it was amazing. I stayed in over the water bungalow and was worth the hype. I celebrated a milestone birthday in Bora Bora and I am very happy. Hotel staff always friendly. It's small but it's quaint and clean. From my bungalow all you can hear is the wind and the waves. I couldn't get enough of it. We saw lots of fish under our bungalow- including black tip reef shark and sting ray. You can rent scooter, kayak , paddle board from hotel concierge and it's all included with your stay. Apply sunscreen often. I got a lil sun burn and I did not even stay to bake in the sun. I hiked mount Otemanu as far as I could with the help of a local. I did not book a trip as I do not believe they are available. Island is very small. Drove around it twice in 4 hours. Matira beach offered beautiful sunsets. Island is also full of dogs. Some strays and did not appear aggressive towards humans, but moving cars. Overall a good experience, I would go back but not for a few years. The world awaits me to discover new places. Pricey, but glad I could mark this off my bucket list.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Diana V, Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review about your stay at the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort. Satisfying our guests is our goal, and we strive to exceed your expectations. Your kind comment is our reward, and we will forward it to the team. It is nice to have ticked your bucket list. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Sincerely yours. Laurence Lévy General Manager
Read more
J B wrote a review Apr 2022
120 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This resort is beautiful. Super friendly staff. The over the water cabanas are spacious and comfortable. The surrounding water is shallow for a long stretch. It will not disappoint and if you want to venture out alone the location is ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jbM912XY Iaorana, We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. Thank you for recommending us as a great destination. We were delighted to read that you had a memorable time in our resort. It was a real pleasure for everyone to read your warm comments and special thanks to our team, who are indeed adorable people. We hope you will come back to our small paradise, maybe on another special occasion! Yours sincerely, Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
Michael Y wrote a review Apr 2022
Los Altos, California137 contributions154 helpful votes
We were 2 adults, 2 teens and spent a week here - it was the ideal vacation to get away from it all and just RELAX. Stayed in Bungalow 12 which has to be the best unit there is - at the far end of the pontoon and you wake up w/ unobstructed views of Mt Otemanu as well as the Sofitel Motu in the lagoon. No other bungalows are in your line of sight if you face north so it really feels private. The kids had Bungalow 17 and that was a very lovely one in a very good location as well. The bungalows are spacious, have reasonable wifi (for basic email and web surfing), and have reasonable AC. There was a nice breeze while we were there so you didn't need the AC too often. There was housekeeping daily and what you need the most is probably fresh towels and some floor sweeping, plus you get 2 big bottles of water every day which can get you thru the day. The breakfast buffet was a solid way to start the day - good custom omelets and lots of other goodies. We also did the Polynesian dinner and entertainment one evening - yeah, it's a bit cheeky but still worth doing once. As has been mentioned in other reviews, being on the island affords you a lot of flexibility to eat off the property. The standard restaurants recommendations are literally the only places you can go - Lucky's, Bora Bora Beach Club - really close walks and worth ducking into. Bloody Mary's is further away and you can hit it on an excursion or some other trip (not sure I would go just for a meal as my only reason). There's also a little market near LeMoana where you can pick up snacks and other drinks (given that you have a mini-fridge in your bungalow). There's no fitness center on property, nor spa - you have to go to Thalasso, the sister property for that. But there's always availability to use the free kayaks and paddle boards. Note, given that LeMoana is on the east side of Matira peninsula, the wind (and therefore waves) come in, so it can make the water choppy at times. The west side is like glass - accessible if you cross the road and use the public beach. Some days, I wish you could transpose the locations. The concierge is very useful helping you book excursions. We highly recommend Moana Adventures Jet Ski-Snorkel Combo, which is also the most popular activity. Nothing like cruising around the lagoon in a Sea Doo and then getting to snorkel in some very shallow spots teeming with sea life that is a once in a lifetime experience (sharks, rays). The also popular ATV activity is neat b/c of the views you get to see but it definitely ranks lower on the list. And of course, if you're a diver, then you have to go out with Eleuthera which is just a 5 min drive away - great small diving outfit that is very professional. Food on the island is so-so. Too much fried stuff IMO and not as much fresh fish that you would see in Hawaii, Mexico, or Caribbean. But the local beer, Hinano is a refreshing light beer. The LeMoana has a LOT of staff. Everyone is super friendly and clearly trained to stop, look you in the eyes and say La Orana. The staff is well intentioned but as has been mentioned elsewhere, expect service to be on island time - it may take 10-20 min just for someone to get your check. Last tip, do sort out your covid testing at the pharmacy in Vaitape before you head back to Papeete because testing at the airport there can be a zoo. The hotel can help coordinate the testing - just make sure they actually call to confirm a time for you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Levy, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear yangbness Iaorana, We thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Hotels Group and InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort. We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments. We’re very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the resort. It seems that you appreciated the real spirit of Le Moana and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. We would be very happy to welcome you back. Yours sincerely, Mrs Laurence Levy General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$683 - $1,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental bora bora le moana hotel bora bora, intercontinental le moana bora
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsBora BoraVaitape
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Matira Beach (0.09 miles), Leopard Rays Trench (0.10 miles), and Jena Jewelry Bora Bora (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bora Bora Beach Club and Restaurant, Matira Beach Restaurant, and The Lucky House - Fare Manuia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.