We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights in one of the self-catering Vlei cottages and loved every minute of our stay! We had a bit of a vlei view from our cottage, but walked down a little pathway every morning with coffee and rusks to watch the sunrise on the banks of the vlei. As South Africans, we love to be outside and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanli F
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

De Hoop Nature Reserve is a beautiful and peaceful place. We stayed at De Opstal Cottages (Black Oyster Catcher). The 3 bedroom cottage was spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We had a beautiful 'secret' braai area completely secluded from the house, hidden by a huge tree. Really a magical place. The staff at the reserve is fantastic. Very motivated and... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikideWolf
Utrecht, The Netherlands
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit here. We stayed for two nights in the rondavels (one room circular cottage) and it was a really awesome experience. Its not for people who don't like the cold though! The nights can get quite cold but we found it made it more of an experience. Beautiful views of the lake and a fantastic sunset.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GarethW100
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Dassie Suite facing the Vlei. What an amazing place! Words cannot describe the tranquility and beauty of this place. The staff were amazing and helpful. The food was outstanding at both breakfast and dinner - we had a fire lit for us whilst we dined and returned for a cosy night in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BaaBaaBails
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Without a doubt the De Hoop Nature Reserve is a living jewel. It may be out of the way on a gravel road, but the trip there is worth it. Once you crest the hill and look down at the De Hoop complex you will appreciate its beauty. We were lucky to stay in the Manor House which was built... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenn J
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful few days at Opstal house, part of the De Hoop collection. The cottage was comfortable and well furnished with a nicely equipped kitchen. It was cold during our visit and we made full use of the fireplace! The bathroom and kitchen are a little dated. We enjoyed the electric blankets and some wall panel heaters would... More 

Helpful?
Thank suedL5827NN
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you so much for visiting De Hoop and for your feedback. Please note that our cottages get updated on a regular basis, however not all at the same time so that we are able to accommodate guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the relaxation the reserve offers. We do not actively promote the fact... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Beach, open wilderness, single track, bird paradise, relaxing and peaceful. Happy family moments and quaint self catering cottages. Staff are helpful and accommodating. Drive down in a good car as dirt road gives car a beating! Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank J K
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and for the great feedback JK. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

After a very long drive down the dirt road arriving at De Hoop was a pleasure. The setting is lovely with wildlife all around. We spent the first night in the Stable Suite but the smell of what I believed to be what the timbers were treated with but the management said was the thatch was so strong we asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you so much for visiting De Hoop and for the feedback. We are so happy that we were able to assist you with the Dassie suite and that it lived up to expectations. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip down to Koppie Alleen and the great birdlife, De Hoop has to... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

The cottages are old and worn out. We stayed in Opstal cottages - duiker. It was just not clean, the carpet has probably never been hovered, insects everywhere, dirt behind doors. It seems the cleaning did a very bad job. The kitchen facilities are not great. The pool was very dirty, there was brown mud outside the pool that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank coconuts1234
De Hoop C, Owner at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Dear coconuts, Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to De Hoop. I followed up your feedback and must apologize for the carpet in the room. Previous guests spilled a bottle of Red Wine during a wedding event. We were unable to remove the stain and were waiting for a carpet contractor to replace. However I can assure... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

We camped here for 3 nights and the view was stunning! Unfortunately you cannot swim in the dam as it is marine protected but there are two swimming pools to cool down in. We saw eland, bontebok and zebra and tons of birds who visited our campsite daily. Watch out for the baboons and lock everything away!

Helpful?
Thank Lainey0401
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Lainey, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at De Hoop and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bredasdorp
17.5 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
21.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
208.3 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 12 in Bredasdorp
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
21.0 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#4 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
20.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tirzah's B&B
#7 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Few other reserves offer as complete an outdoor experience as De Hoop - sea, sand dunes, the vlei, a floral sensation of rare fynbos plants, diverse antelope and the Potberg Mountains, with world class whale watching in season. Activities are diverse and guests choose between various day walks through the rich fynbos plains or along the deserted coastline or mountain biking along the many gravel roads. Accommodation ranges from neat campsites to luxury suites. Onsite restaurant open daily, and day visitors welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

Address: Longstreet | Overberg, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages Hotel Bredasdorp
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing