We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Camp Waipu Cove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Camp Waipu Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 292: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, comfortable, well organised campground. We stayed in a cabin that had all the essentials. No bathroom in ours but their are some units that have this. Bathroom, kitchen and laundry are a short walk away. A BBQ area is also available. A short walk to the beach. Also playgrounds for the children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meganjenings
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just had 9 nights at this fabulous camp. The staff were friendly and helpful and the Managers Anton and Lucy Trist are amazing hosts. The faciities were very clean and tidy and the tents size are large. I would recommend a stay. We have booked for next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heissyfamily
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just spent 9 nights at Camp Waipu Cove. Our three kids 4, 6 and 10 my husband and I throughly enjoyed our time. Camp facilities were great, kids playground and organised activities (have a go nippers and kids disco) were well received and I was impressed with the shower (great water pressure and plenty of hot water) washing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely site right next to sand dunes. Very clean facilities. Very beautiful place. I wouldn't go with young kids again because of the noise at night ( quiet time not until eleven), but would be great with older kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayelogan
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We would love to welcome you back at any time of the year. Perhaps you'd like to try one of our cabins next time? They're ideal for those with small children that prefer to go to bed a little earlier. We have security guards patrolling over the summer to ensure noise is kept...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very well run camp right on one of NZs best beaches. The sites are well serviced and a decent size. Camp facilities are within an easy walk from any part of the camp ground. The environment for kids seems safe, they run around and socialise easily. The playground gets plenty of use. There is a shop and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you've already rebooked for next year! There's a lovely communal atmosphere here over the summer months and many guests love to come back each year for their summer holiday. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The beach had some algue problem so unfortunately it was not in perfect condition otherwise the location would have been the best. The park was crowded and the bbq was not cleaned and my ice pack was mistakenly taken by someone in the fridge. So be ware of things to be tightly locked and marked. The bunkbed complex has four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kumikoj2016
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and marketing. It's been a beautiful, busy summer here at Waipu Cove but unfortunately we did have some red algae wash up on a section of the beach. We were lucky enough to always have a clear section of beach/sea accessible for relaxing, swimming etc. and now the remainder of the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great site and facilities, very well organised and clean, perfect for young children! However, what ruined our experience was the fact our tent site was located literally 2 metres away from a toilet block. This meant that we had not one, but TWO extremely bright lights directly onto our tents!! Also there was no door to the toilets so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyjayne83
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your positive comments about our camp ground and i'm sorry that the location of your site overshadowed your experience with us. As you had a little one with you we had put you on a site that was nice and close to our children's playground but unfortunately that did mean that you were quite close...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even though it's a big campground we've got a quiet site and enjoyed reunion with nature. The facilities are good and tidy, very close to a grocery shop. Great place for surfers. Fascinating view and beautiful sunrise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlgafromNZ
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Even over the busy summer months we are predominantly a family camp ground so we like to have a nice relaxed atmosphere and have guards patrolling at night to make sure everything runs smoothly and everyone is happy. We're very lucky to be right next to a...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bunk house beds are horrible to sleep on, but a very good camping site for families with young children. No parking for the bunk house which is inconvenient, camping facilities eg toilets,showers were good, sleeping in tents would be ideal, wouldn't recommended staying in the bunk house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendylucx
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on the camp ground in general. Our bunk house is our budget accommodation option and is priced accordingly. We do offer a range of cabins which are much more comfortable but unfortunately we are very busy at this time of year and they tend to get booked up months in advance. We would love...

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our third year in a row stayng at Camp Waipu Cove and we still love it. Cabin right on the beach practically. Everything there that you need - beach, surf, shop down the road, café across the road, life guards on duty...it's an awesome place to stay. Very well maintained and very clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Wow what a great review! We love reviews from our regulars and really appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoy staying here and hope to see you again next year :)

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
0.1 mi away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
50 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Lodge
Aurora Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waipu
31 reviews
24.0 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You'll find Camp Waipu Cove nestled at the southern end of the beautiful and unspoiled Bream Bay. Our Northland holiday park’s and cabins great facilities, supreme beach location and well-kept Waipu Cove accommodation create the ideal setting for a classic Kiwi getaway. Our Waipu Cove camping ground has been a Northland holiday haven for generations of Kiwi families, and continues to offer one of the best camping environments in New Zealand to visitors from near and far. We look forward to seeing you here at Camp Waipu Cove, Northland! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camp Waipu Cove

Address: 869 Cove, RD2, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Price Range: $47 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camp Waipu Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Camp Waipu Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Camp Waipu Cove staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
travelling
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Camp Waipu Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Bunk house is very tiny and beds are terrible to sleep on, not recommended, good for camping in tents.”
 of 5 bubbles wendylucx, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“There are no views from Bungalows but front ones facing beach area would be a gd choice if i went again”
 of 5 bubbles WILDscONE, Dec 10, 2016 | Read review
“To get a good room book early. Cabins are close to the beach. . A variety of cabins to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles swissmaid51, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“The new cabins have double glazed windows which help with noise and temperature”
 of 5 bubbles RobynR701, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet on all sites.”
 of 5 bubbles 958roryc, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay