We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

868 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 682: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights in a two-person glass igloo and we wanted to share some pros and cons of our trip for folks who are planning a similar trip. The short answer is that it’s probably not worth the astounding amount of money they charge. You can make it a little more worth it if you rent your own car... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank acar
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had travelled from Australia and were very excited about staying at Kakslauttanen. We were very disappointed from our very arrival. There was no signage and there was a massive construction of new cabins happening so instead of enjoying the natural surroundings we were surrounded by building construction. It would have been nice to be forewarned of this as other... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank SandyDeam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you're paying 400 EUR/night, you expect top-notch quality and service. Unfortunately, we didn't get that at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort. When we arrived, we were informed there was an East Village and a West Village area to stay in. Our glass igloo was in the West Village, which turned out to be a 10-15 min drive away from the main... More 

Helpful?
14 Thank Vanessaki_voyage
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an amazing time. Wooden log cabins are just adorable. When entering, the warmth and the smell of the pine wood engulf you and don't let you leave the place. Activities at the reception are quite expensive, but you can find better deals in the nearby area. Urho Kekonnen National Park is located... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank InFlames77
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure having you visit our resort. We at Kakslauttanen are doing our very best to make each visit fun and memorable. We are having one of the best Aurora seasons this autumn so weather permitting you have a great chance to see Northern Lights. Looking forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Yrjötapio Kivisaari General... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all this is NOT a Hotel, it's a very expensive camping place. There is no way you can have lunch at the place (a soup is all they offer), and dinner is poor and badly cooked. Saariselka is quite far away and the bus line is not frequent (last bus leaves Saariselka at 16h). The only bathrrom for... More 

Helpful?
25 Thank Ruth S
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your visit last winter. We take all the feedback very seriously to improve our operations and customers service. The resort is under new management starting from May 2016 and we are working very hard to make sure our products and services are first... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The venue is beautiful but the service is probably the worst I've ever experienced. I strongly recommend against staying at this resort, or considering organizing any events at Kakslauttanen. I travelled from London to view the resort for a wedding, and the general manager of the resort who showed us around didn’t have a clue what their services cost or... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank A1739BUmariar
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for considering us as a venue for your wedding. We are very sorry that we were not able to cater your request and organize your special day. Our prices for winter 2017-2018 season are not yet published so unfortunately up-to-date prices are not available at the moment. We are also - very much due to our... More 

Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

We went here at the beginning of December 2015 with another couple. Omg what can I say it's like walking into a Christmas card. We did the 5 day tour and stayed in 2 log cabins in the resort. These are amazing but very dimly lit. Wet room, sauna, open fireplace in the bedroom, shower bunk beds in lounge area... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank treacletoffeetoes
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure having you visit our resort. We at Kakslauttanen are doing our very best to make each visit fun and memorable. Please come back to visit us also during the summer time. The nature is beautiful and our national parks are so welcoming to guests. Looking forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Yrjötapio Kivisaari... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

This place has been among the more beautiful experiences. Of course the main draw is the Northern Lights but seeing them is highly dependent on time of the year, however Kakslauttanen has so much more to offer for anyone who loves nature. The cabin accommodation was cozy and had one of my favorite benefits of a personal sauna. The nightly... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew P
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, It was a pleasure having you visit our resort. We at Kakslauttanen are doing our very best to make each visit fun and memorable. We enjoyed having you over and are very happy that you also got to see the reindeer you nearly missed! Please come back this winter and bring some friends with you too! Kind regards,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

Stayed in the glass igloo on the west side of the resort for 4 nights. Very memorable experience. The foods were delicious, services were great, the activities that were offered by the Husky & Co were fun! I enjoyed the crisp air and the Northern Lights and they have very comfortable bed!! I wish I knew the brand of the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Miss L
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Miss L, It was a pleasure having you visit our resort. We at Kakslauttanen are doing our very best to make each visit fun and memorable. We will also pet the Huskies for you! :-) Looking forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Yrjötapio Kivisaari General Manager Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

I am trying to book a Kelo-Glass Igloo room for January 2017 for four nights. It would be around €630 a night and according their websites availability we might have to switch rooms. Giving the fact that I might be spending over twenty four hundred euros at this hotel, I emailed them with a question about this booking through their... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank SK2288
Yrjötapio K, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are extremely sorry for the delay in our response. We were posted in one international video blog and got 20.000.000 views in August. The amount of contacts completely surprised us. We have a ten sales representative team working now on our eMails seven days a week. We will do our very best to get back to you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1269)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (265)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (562)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
6.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#4 of 7 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 7 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muotkan Maja Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#5 of 7 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
22.6 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Price Range: $179 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay