We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos

Traveler (385)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#7 of 23 hotels in Mykonos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Experience the mesmerizing magic of Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos. Just 10 minutes from the airport and town, Santa Marina makes it easy to explore all the island’s must-see attractions – then return to our sanctuary of authentic Aegean beauty at Ornos Bay. Choose from 101 guest rooms and suites, along with 13 villas featuring two to seven bedrooms. Beach-chic interiors offer modern, natural luxury, opening to balconies with hypnotic Aegean views. Discover the only private sandy beach on Mykonos, gorgeous infinity pools, the international-caliber Ginkgo Spa and four options for dining and drinks, highlighted by the world’s first-ever Buddha-Bar Beach. Santa Marina invites you to savor the glamorous lifestyle of Mykonos in the island’s most fashionable and sophisticated setting. Don’t just visit Mykonos – live it.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
29Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
412Reviews
17Q+A
78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 285
  • 73
  • 27
  • 13
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My wife and I have wanted to visit this property for some time and were able to spend 1 day here with our family during a cruise. Our 3 kids (ages 11, 10 & 8) loved the beach. It is small but well maintained and the water is very calm. The beach chairs and service were quite good. The restaurant just above beach level was excellent. Service was great at check-in, the beach and the restaurant. We enjoyed our day here but did stay overnight. All food and drink was at the higher end of what you would expect at a luxury resort in Mykonos.
Read more
This is clearly a hot spot for the rich and famous. However, if you are not lucky enough to be both, I would go elsewhere. While the hotel is beautiful, and the staff generally helpful, if you are not coming off a 200 foot yacht, you might as well be from Mars. It’s hard to compete for attention with 500 Euro tips. I learned this the hard way when I lost a game of “biggest tip gets the only available taxi” with the valets out front of the hotel and almost missed our dinner reservation. Nice place, but there has to be a better fit for us regular people.
Read more
Response from LeonidasA95, General Manager at Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Andy W, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very keen to receive feedback as it is important to continuously strive to improve our service. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel facilities as well as our service. Kindly note that we always aim to provide a high level of hospitality to all our guests despite the amount of tips. I am also surprised to see that there was a guest giving 500 euro for a transfer equivalent to 20-40 euro. Our colleagues are doing their best to create a memorable experience to our clients . Thank you once again for your review. We do hope to welcome you back to Santa Marina and have the opportunity to impress you with a more positive experience. Kind regards, Leonidas Anagnostou General Manager
Read more
The moment you step into the property you are taken into paradise. The rooms are well appointed, killer views of the Aegean sea and every staff member are catering to your needs in the restaurant and spa. However, few things were missing, like the people checking you into your room did not know a lot of things, did not know a lot about the property. This could be because a lot of them were new seasonal hire, but a place that charges €1500 a night should ensure these slip ups don’t happen.
Read more
Response from santamarinaresort, General Manager at Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 962adityab, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent visit at Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos. We are very keen to receive feedback as it is important to continuously strive to improve guest service. We aim to provide a high level of hospitality to all of our guests and focus heavily on training and product knowledge. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the ambience of our property. Rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our team. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the great opportunity to welcoming you again at Santa Marina in the near future. Kind regards, Leonidas A. General Manager
Read more
The Santa Marina in Mykonos was the single worst customer service experience that I have had at a hotel. I have spent over 800 nights at Marriott properties in the USA and abroad, at most all brands within the Marriott family. The customer service from the Front Desk staff and management was atrocious. I redeemed 120,000 points for two nights at this hotel and paid an additional $1300 to upgrade the room to include a third person. Issues started before we even checked into the hotel. 1. We arranged a pick up at the port. The hotel was over one hour late to pick us up; many other hotels were waiting on guests at the port. When Santa Marina did arrive with a 15-passenger bus, they picked up one party of two and left two other groups standing there with the explanation that additional cars were coming. There were 10 of us standing in a hot parking lot with all of our luggage for over an hour. 2. When I checked in, the hotel tried to charge me for the upgrade a second time. It was paid in December. I spoke with both the person checking me in and the manager about it at this point. 3. We paid for an upgrade to a room to accommodate three people and yet, the room was set up for two – we had to request a third of everything upon arrival. 4. On our first night in Mykonos, we called the front desk to arrange a cab to take us into town for a dinner reservation. We called 45 minutes in advance and were told to meet at the pickup point. When we arrived at the pickup point, the staff there had no idea what we were talking about and told us we had to go to the front desk. I had specifically asked if I needed to come by the front desk in advance when I booked and was told no. We then went to the Front Desk and were basically called liars by the staff there. We finally got a cab an hour later. 5. Upon checkout, the staff again tried to charge me for the upgrade that I paid for in December. The manager came over and gave me an excuse and then said he wish he had known there were issues – I talked to the same manager upon check-in about the same issue that he assured me he would resolve. I was only at the hotel for 48 hours. He disappeared behind closed doors. 6. When the manager returned, he credited me $200 for food and beverage of the $400 he head just charged me. Didn't really compensate for the poor service received. And fair warning to anyone who stays here, Nespresso pods for coffee in your room are four euros per pod. These were free to us at both the Autograph collection hotel in Crete and the Hilton in Athens on this same trip. Not once did anyone at the hotel seem legitimately sorry that we experienced issues. Communication among the team members clearly wasn't working. It is a shame that this hotel has such poor customer service as the resort is beautiful. The wait staff at breakfast and at the beach were top notch. It was really the front desk management and staff that acted like it was painful to help me. As a lifetime titanium elite Bonvoy member, I expected better from a hotel that Marriott has classified as “luxury collection”. We spent 15 nights in Greece – seven at Marriott properties, four at a Hilton property in Athens and three in a rental home. The two night in Mykonos were by far the worst – I wish I had not wasted 120,000 points and $1300 on this resort. Mykonos was by far the low point of our trip. I tried to resolve this issue with Marriott who assured me they had forwarded the concerns to the management staff at Santa Marina and that I would hear back from someone within five days. Well, it has been 20+ and not a peep from Santa Marina. I called Marriott customer service this week and two reps told me they had personally called the hotel and the manager would call me back within 24 hours. That was July 1. Well, 48 hours have passed and I have received no phone call and no response from the Santa Marina team. Not surprised based on my experience! Save your points, save your money!
Read more
Response from LeonidasA95, General Manager at Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear wildcatinknox, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us for once again. We are very keen to receive feedback, especially from a Titanium Elite Bonvoy member, as it is important to continuously strive to improve our service. We always aim to provide a high level of hospitality to all our guests. It is most unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are very sorry to read that you were not happy with the service because all of our staff are highly trained and try their hardest to please our valuable guests. Our aim is to give everyone a true and memorable experience. I would love the opportunity to hear more about your recent stay in an effort to prevent this issue from occurring in the future. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Mykonos. Please let me know the best contact number and time to reach you, or feel free to contact me via phone anytime at +302289023220. I look forward to speaking with you in order to restore your confidence in the Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos. Kind regards, Leonidas Anagnostou General Manager
Read more
This is a really tough one because I sincerely feel the management is of the mindset that they have a beautiful beach location so there is no need to try any harder. And I am sure management will respond highlighting all of the positive things, somewhat ignoring or becoming defensive to the negative things and somewhat try to neutralize what I am going to say... so make sure you do your due diligence here before booking. In summary, at €1300 per night for a standard room during peak season, this hotel should achieve perfection, consistently. Unfortunately, as you can probably tell from other less than perfect reviews, especially from people who have reviewed more than just a couple dozen times, there is a common theme here. And it’s not worth €1300 per night. Ultimately, the hotel needs to lower their prices which would be representative of what they have to offer, or they need to step things up big time. So many little things that add up to really big problems here: 1) Rooms vary greatly. Ignore all of the classifications. Inspect your room before you accept. We had a standard room for €1300 per night and we used Marriott to upgrade to a suite. Had to check out a couple because they vary so significantly. And the suite was appropriate more for €1300 per night but a standard room would have been a complete rip off for that price. Also worth mentioning is that the rooms look great in the pictures but in person are somewhat cheaply appointed. No stone flooring in the suite. Weird plaster that gets real dirty in the bathroom. Linoleum “wood looking” outside bathroom in bedroom. The other crazy thing is even in the suite in which we were upgraded, there was no bathtub. Just a walk in plaster shower. I can’t remember the last time I stayed and a five-star hotel, especially one that cost over €1000 per night, and there was no bathtub. Interestingly, we had a private Jacuzzi outside our room/suite and it never heated. But the first room we received had no bathtub and no Jacuzzi. Again, rooms very greatly. Our shower flooded water out into the rest of the bathroom the first time we used it. We called guest assistance and they immediately sent someone for maintenance to investigate. He said the problem was there was no plastic seal at the bottom of the glass door so the water would run out. He also mentioned the drain was not emptying quickly. He said he would contact plumbing to get it fixed. We left the room and assumed everything had been fixed because they did turn down service and things were tidied up well. Unfortunately, the next two nights, we had the exact same problem. Upon further inspection, nothing has ever been done to the shower, no new seal, no Drano, nothing. So we ended up just using a bunch of towels to absorb the water on the plaster floor. Here is a biggie, the window shades in the room are thin white material. Not black out. Not even light filtering really. With huge gaps on the sides. Mykonos is a nightlife island so it is kind of a problem to have a room where you cannot sleep past 6 AM because the light comes pounding in. 2) I didn’t believe it when I read it myself before arrival but they seriously charge €4 per Nespresso coffee pod in your room. I just can’t get over this. At the rates they charge, there is zero excuse for such thing. GM response to other people who have complained in TripAdvisor review says “this is standard practice.” Complete BS. Go stay at the Gritti in Venice or the FourSeasons in Paris. I have never in my life seen this anywhere in the world, not even Europe. Zero excuse. Completely unacceptable. And people have been complaining about it for years and they don’t change it. The irony? I’m not even a coffee drinker. But it really ticks me off. It cost them so little to just include it and not create friction with guests. For Pete’s sake, charge 1308€ per night and assume each guest drinks 2 cups. I know free water anywhere in the resort that we could find. Not even out the pool. The only place we had water was at breakfast, included as part of our room rate. I don’t remember the last time I stayed at a luxury hotel like this and they didn’t provide water at the pool or beach. Not saying you needed Glass bottled brand-name water, but there was nothing. You basically had to pay 8€ each time you wanted a bottle. 3) Transportation to town is few and far between. They do have a set schedule but it is really patchy and clustered in times. Seems like they would just run hourly transportation, again something you would just expect at a hotel of this caliber. It is only two or 3 km away but the road conditions make it impossible to walk even though it looks like you can track it on your own. I don’t fortunately, the taxi service on the island is practically nonexistent. Private transfers can be arranged with his short notice and are ridiculously overpriced. At the end of the day, it just comes back to the fact this hotel should just run more regular shuttle service to make the guest happy and accommodated. 3) Other annoyances... Room service tray from the night before was not cleared at 5 PM the next day even though they cleaned the room. It was sitting outside. Perhaps they forgot? I totally get it when you’re at a four-star or less but not five star standard. And the amenities... Aqua Di Parma which are great. But you will only get one set for your whole stay. Sure, you can call and beg for another set and they will deliver it but how ridiculous? Usually at a resort of this caliber they will replenish each day even if they don’t think you use them. Why are they rationing these so tightly? Why are they rationing these so tightly? Three nights and we never received one extra amenity. No water in the room. Nope, not even one bottle. Oh wait, they do have glass many bottles in the fridge which they want to charge you 6€ apiece for. Really? No complementary water bottles? Service at the beach was inconsistent at times. Clearly there are two different jobs. One is for the food server and the other is for the beach towels. And often we couldn’t find the food server so we would ask the beach towel guy to order things. rather than take the order he would say he would just go find the other person. Bellman got the bags to the room just fine but when our room was switched, they completely forgot to move bags to the new room. It delayed us over an hour as we kept calling to ask for our bags to be transferred. Wasn’t clear if it was a bellman issue or the front desk regardless, it wasn’t our issue but it caused problems for us and a hotel of this category and price should have these things dialed in seamlessly without ever disrupting guest enjoyment. The situation actually escalated so much that the GM got involved and was very apologetic and even sent a nice bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room as an apology. Very nice gesture that we quite appreciated but in light of all of the other experiences we shared during our visit, this hotel just doesn’t cut it for the category they are trying to capture. The hotel is suitable for couples, families, really anyone. There are a lot of steep hills as is the case anywhere in Greece. As I mentioned in my opening, the location is quite beautiful, wonderful private beach and the beach chairs, pool, all of that area is top-notch. And the restaurants are gorgeous. Expensive but overall worth it. Not the best food you will ever eat here but good enough and the ambience and view makes up for it. So no complaints there. The issue is that there are a number of great luxury hotel options here and I can only assume some of the others have it more dialed in. Maybe this place is brand new and they are still working out the kinks but I don’t think so. I would recommend more research and checking out some other options for the price. If you were going to pay top dollar you should be treated like it in every possible way and this hotel consistently fell short of those expectations compared to other world class hotels in this price range and reading category. Unfortunately, there is a bit of arrogance on Mykonos around money and some people are throwing it around loosely with little expectation of what they get in return. This might fly at some elite night and beach clubs, but it doesn’t at a Marriott managed luxury collection property. I am very happy to part with my money but I expect something appropriate in return and this hotel just didn’t seem to consistently understand how to deliver what is expected of them in their hotel category.
Read more
Response from LeonidasA95, General Manager at Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Love2TravelLuxfromCA, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very keen to receive feedback as it is important to continuously strive to improve our service. We always aim to provide a high level of hospitality to all our guests. It is most unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and we would like to apologise once again for all the inconvenience. Please let me know the best contact number and time to reach you, or feel free to contact me via phone anytime at +302289023220. I look forward to speaking with you in order to restore your confidence in the Santa Marina, a Luxury Collection Resort, Mykonos. Kind regards, Leonidas Anagnostou General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$495 - $3,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
santa marina resort & villas hotel ornos, santa marina resort and villas, santa marina hotel
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanCycladesMykonosOrnos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing