We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Crusoe's Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crusoe\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 309: English reviews
Parkes, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in a Seaview Bure, beautiful views up on the hill: but no air conditioning, internet or TV!!! We had a week at Crusoe 22 Nov 2016; humidity horrific, as were the sand flies!!! Meals of an evening were awful, cold, no vegetables but you got a salad each night consisting of lettuce, carrot curls, with 2 slithers of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolanddavidramsay
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Carol & David and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay at Crusoe's. You stayed in our entry-level Bure - the SeaView Bure, which is located on the hillside with stunning views of the gardens, beach and ocean. These...

Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came back to Crusoe's Retreat (formerly Man Friday) after staying at the Sheraton Denerau which could be anywhere in the world. The atmosphere was great with simple daily activities organised by the staff and locals which included lessons in sarong tying, yoga on the beach and weaving. Met up with Mess Waka whose father had taken me out fishing many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Coldvine
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka and thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are thrilled when guests return to visit Crusoe's! We are very happy that you were able to take advantage of so many Fijian cultural activities, as well as visit our friendly neighboring village. We do our absolute best to create...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to Fiji many many times and this resort needs personality. Accommodation is fine, rooms are clean and comfortable however food is so over priced & not up to standard. You must have a car to enjoy what's around for meals. There is a lovely village next door which is only to happy to treat you to Fijian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed traditional-style Fijian bures, and that you had a chance to experience our friendly neighboring village. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We really appreciate your feedback, and will do our...

Belfast, Maine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a wonderful week in Crusoe's Retreat. The seaside bure we had was very nice and had a beautiful ocean view and gardens. We had the meal plan, and the food was very good The staff makes your stay the best. Everyone is so kind and concerned about you. Even the manager walks up to your bure to talk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackguineapig
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had the time to experience our friendly neighboring village. This is makes Crusoes such a special place - the ability to experience traditional Fijian village like firsthand. Like you, all...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed November 1, 2016

The resort was beautiful staff were awesome the only let down was the food, lunch was the same menu everyday dinner was ala,cart two items to choose from ,had a curry night ,which was not very nice and desserts were only ice cream never saw a mango anywhere which was funny cause people were selling them on the road side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonzwilson59
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka and thank you so much for your review of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. We are so very proud of our local and friendly Fijian staff, and we thank you for your lovely comments about them. A stay at Crusoe's is really incomplete if you do not take advantage of spending some time with our lovely staff, as...

Woody Point, Australia
Reviewed October 31, 2016

This retreat is 3.5 stars but the facilities deserve more, beautiful cabins, beautiful gardens, heavenly views. The staff are amazingly friendly and efficient - and great entertainment. Food was great and happy hour (2 really) was great with fantastic cocktails. Nothing was too much trouble. The most relaxing time

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trishsue60
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Trish and thank you so much for your lovely review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are thrilled to read that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your very kind words about our friendly local Fijian staff, of whom we are so proud. We are happy you enjoyed the food (and our fun Happy Hours!). We like...

Reviewed October 31, 2016

Overall I enjoyed my stay, the Fijian staff were friendly, warm people, it felt a bit isolated at times, you need to break the monotony after day 4 by seeing other places or visit the nearby town (40min drive) through reception arrange a drop off /pick up service (we were charged $100 Fiji money per car for a return trip)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol H
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Carol and thank you so much for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are so glad that you enjoyed your spacious bure, and that you loved the natural surroundings and our amazing views. We also want to thank you for your very ind words about our friendly local Fijian staff. Crusoe's Retreat is very much an off-the-beaten-path resort. We...

Hanoi
Reviewed October 27, 2016

A disappointing stay due to the greed of management . The local staff were lovely but things are not as they seem on the booking . My bure was a different style than the photo on my booking paperwork. When challenged staff pointed out the difference in name ,something you would not be able to determine when booking from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronniec2012
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Ronnie and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the meals at the resort, and we feel bad that you were expecting a different bure from what you had confirmed and paid. Unfortunately, there are some travel agencies and online...

Montreal
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Won't be necessary to write a long one as the Marketing staff knows nothing clearly about hospitality and how to respond to people that have had bad experiences. - Food is meh - over-expensive for old and not impressive facilities at all - some staff are nice, some are terrible, some are liars - was charged for all the meals...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Artsy27
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, from about one year ago. We are sorry that you experienced any confusion over the meal charges during your stay. Crusoe's offers an optional meal plan that can be pre-purchased prior to your stay, or...

Reviewed October 16, 2016

It all started with the weather (not crusoes fault) but the rainy season does extend from November to April. When it is raining at Crusoes, all life ceases. My partner and I invented a new activity called “spot the human being” as everyone just stays in their rooms and only emerge for afternoon tea (free tea and cake). But the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Richard - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are all very sorry that the weather did not cooperate during your visit. Everyone wants it to be beautiful and sunny every day. Unfortunately, it does rain in Fiji, which is why our gardens and surrounding area are...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

347 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (330)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
19.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
911 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
818 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
18.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Wellesley Resort Fiji
#2 of 3 in Korolevu
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst lush tropical gardens and fronting a palm-fringed sandy beach and stunning lagoon, Crusoe’s Retreat is a friendly, intimate, traditional Fijian resort. Featuring only 29 Fijian-inspired Bures, Crusoe’s truly embodies all that is wonderful about the Fiji Islands: world-famous hospitality, an unhurried pace, fresh island cuisine, lots of complimentary activities, and a dedication to local culture and traditions. Crusoe’s Retreat truly is Fiji. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crusoe's Retreat

Address: Nr Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Price Range: $64 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crusoe's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Crusoe's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crusoe`s Retreat Hotel Coral Coast
Crusoes Retreat Coral Coast
Crusoes Retreat Hotel
Crusoe's Retreat Fiji/Coral Coast
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Coral Coast
#13 Spa Hotel in Coral Coast
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Coral Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crusoe's Retreat staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Crusoe's Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No air conditioning unless you book into a Delux Bure!!”
 of 5 bubbles carolanddavidramsay, 1 week ago | Read review
“Bring your own wine if you want more than the local beer which is also good.”
 of 5 bubbles Coldvine, 1 week ago | Read review
“The seaside bures require no climbing.”
 of 5 bubbles blackguineapig, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Poolside room unless you like climbing steps to get to other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles leonzwilson59, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Trishsue60, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay