We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mango Drift Beach, Likoma Island Malawi
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
No booking options from our partners for this accommodation,
but there are similar options available. Contact accommodation for availability.
See available properties
Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Mango Drift is a backpackers lodge located on the west side of Likoma Island on the beautiful waters of Lake Malawi. Situated on an expansive and private stretch of beach Mango Drift has to be one of the most scenic places to stay on the island. There are a number of en-suite and standard beach chalets located along the beach; as well as an en-suite dormitory and camping facilities. The two en-suite mid-range chalets are slightly set back on the hillside, with private bathrooms and beautiful verandas. Under a big Mango tree is the bar and restaurant offering a full range of drinks including cold beers, soft drinks and an extensive assortment of local and imported spirits. Choose from the wide selection of food items from the breakfast and lunch menu. Dinner is a set menu each night from a delicious meal prepared by our kitchen staff. Relax on the Mango beach enjoy the lake or play a game of pool or volleyball on the beach. Or if you want to do something more exciting, Mango Drift offers a range of water sports from wakeboarding to waterskiing, Scuba Diving and even learn to Kite Surf on the only known school on the lake. Learn to dive with our fully qualified PADI dive instructors, with courses to suit all levels, from those first bubbles up to professional Divemaster. Learn to dive in the crystal clear waters of Lake Malawi and see the abundance of life that Likoma Island has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Full view
108Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 71
  • 26
  • 6
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We called on short notice when the plans of our ferry changed and we needed to stay one night on Likoma island. Dave took the trouble even after his shift to find us at the ferry dock late at night and bring us to the hostel. And what a ride it was! Bumpy but lined with beautiful baobab trees and the stars shining down on us. The Spaghetti Bolognese that waited for us at Mango Drift were heaven! And in the morning we had a nice breakfast on the beach, waiting for the ferry to arrive at Likoma again (it was the Chilembwe on a replacement schedule for the Ilala). Dave accompagnied us again and brought us and our luggage safely back onto the ferry. Such great service!
Read more
Response from Mango D, Manager at Mango Drift
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for a wonderful review of Mango Drift. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! The staff, food, beach, Baobabs, and stars are here for every guest to enjoy. We hope to see you again, safe travels.
Read more
What a delightful and unexpected find! Mango Drift exceeded all our expectations as a budget resort. Our bungalows were simple, yet comfortable and clean. The food was wholesome and plentiful with a well stocked bar and great service all round.
Read more
Response from Mango D, Manager at Mango Drift
Responded Jul 1, 2019
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at Mango Drift. We really try our best to be much more than just a budget place but still keep budget-friendly prices. Thank you again and we hope to see you again sometime at mango Drift!
Read more
Mango Drift is unbelievable for a budget place, it completely caters for comfort and fun. The lounge / restaurant / bar area is simply amazing, I spent most of my days here, it was just gorgeous, super comfy (I love the swingy chairs with cushions!), a hop and a skip away from a good swim. Best part - free kayak, SUP, pool, etc..... How can you ever get bored. Service staff are exceptional, everyone goes over and beyond. Food is great, beers are super cold. Mangoes everywhere. Perfection!
Read more
Response from Mango D, Manager at Mango Drift
Responded Mar 23, 2019
Thanks so much for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time at Mango Drift and all the activities we offer here. Except of free kayaks and SUPs, all the guests can also use snorkeling equipment and enjoy games on the beach such as volleyball, badminton or petanque. Thanks again and hope to see you again sometime in Malawi!
Read more
This was the highlight of our trip to Malawi. This place was directed to the budget traveler and delivered so much more. We stayed in cozy bungalows on the beach, spent the days snorkeling right off the beach, hiked the island and ate good breakfasts and lunches. Dinners were eaten at tables on the beach as a group dinner for everybody staying at the hostel. Staff were fun and very friendly. They helped us arrange a private flight from the island at the last minute. The setting is romantic, clean and adventurous. Every afternoon delivered beautiful sunsets over the lake. And if you want to treat yourself to a special evening, the managers can arrange dinner and drinks at the nearby and very unique hotel, Kaya Mawa. Definitely go to Likoma, and stay at Mango drift.
Read more
Response from Mango D, Manager at Mango Drift
Responded Mar 22, 2019
Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on the island one day again.
Read more
They place is located right on the beach in a secluded area. There are plenty of things to do (most of them for free): snorkelling, SUP, kayaking, walking on the island, etc.My stay in Mango drift had unfortunately a sour taste as my backpack was stolen from the dorm while we were having dinner. It was a great lost (mainly important documents as passport, driving license, etc.) but the management were very friendly and helped me the best they could to talk to the police, etc. I nevertheless recomm2nd the place as it is an amazing backpackers to relax and enjoy lake Malawi.
Read more
Response from Mango D, Manager at Mango Drift
Responded Mar 23, 2019
Dear Itziar, Thank you for taking time to write this review! I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Mango Drift despite the unfortunate event of theft. The island was always safe in the past and there was no need have locks on doors. But since you left, we have taken necessary steps to prevent any future problems: we have installed lockers in the dorm and safety boxes in all the rooms. Together with the safe at the bar that is available for campers, all guests now have the possibility to lock their valuables. I was happy to hear from you that you received the emergency passport and were able to finish your trip. Kindest regards
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
MalawiNorthern RegionLikoma Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing