We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
c/ del Cup, 2 - 5 - 7, 43893 Altafulla Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/02/22
Traveluro
$123
View deal
Expedia.com$137
Travelocity$137
Hotels.com$137
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (384)
360
Panoramas (51)
Room & Suite (261)

About

#4 of 6 in Altafulla
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.7
Value
3.5
The Hotel Gran Claustre is a small charming 4 stars hotel situated in the calm village of Altafulla, beach village at the heart of Costa Dorada and only at 8 Km from the historical city of Tarragona, declared world-wide patrimony by UNESCO.We have 39 double rooms themed, summer pool located in the old courtyard of the historic building and a relaxing penthouse with a summer Jacuzzi.Our award winning restaurant Bruixes de Burriac, from our chef Bernat Canellas and his team, offers a local cuisine with mediterranean and seasonal products.The SPA, beauty and massage center is the ideal place to enjoy the health care, the leisure and the wellness.Our rooms for company meetings, conventions and commercial presentations are equiped with the newest technology audio visual.In the surroundings of the hotel you can visit cellars and enjoy wine tourism (D.O. Priorat, D.O. Tarragona, D.O. Montsant, D.O. Penedes...) Hike, excursion with horse or with bicycle
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Street parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan
718Reviews5Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 196
  • 264
  • 153
  • 68
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Walther Sanders wrote a review Apr 2022
Bonnieux, France113 contributions33 helpful votes
Renovated hotel in an old building in the middle of a chaming medieval village. Got a very good deal with an upgrade to a suite. Very good restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Guarded parking in front. Near the beach with typical old fisherman houses. Two minor negative points: staff not speaking any foreign language. No foreign tv channels. Very small indoor pool.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Chose one of the suites or room with balcony.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
rosiemrh wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom81 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
The beautiful old buildings that make up the hotel are in the most picture perfect village of Altafulla and our expectations were v high for our little Spa Break. First Impressions : our suite was basic, lacking in any personality or chic soft furnishing touches. It felt very cold, clinical and like an unloved basic air b n b not a supposed 4 star historic hotel. The living area was also super dark, no real amenities in the bathroom besides nailed to the wall shower gel / shampoo. No luxe touches at all, no mini bar, coffee maker… nothing that I’ve come to expect from a European 4 star hotel. The lovely Italian male receptionist couldn’t have been more helpful tho he moved us almost immediately and continued to help us throughout our stay despite our issues so 5 stars for him. The housekeeping staff was also lovely and our waitress in the super fancy resto. Here are the list of issues that the hotel need to address: - Sinks are still shallow the water just splashes back at you. V much style over practicality - only 1 bathmat in a room for 2 people - grill in shower came off and moved around - no rug , no paintings/ photos/ no coffee machine or kettle / no mini bar - no room service - no tissues / cotton buds / body lotion / conditioner - safe was not working I had reserved spa slots and massages n advance but when we arrived the Spa is NOT a spa it’s a tiny facility with a v small jacuzzi type pool big enough for 4 people and another tiny plunge pool all in a very confined space which feels claustrophobic with more than 2 or 3 people in. The sauna is tiny as is the steam room which was not even working. Never mind we thought we will brave the cold and go for a lovely outdoor swim … another reason we choose this hotel as according to the website the pool would be open, it was not ! It was being dosed with chlorine and we were not allowed in. The spa had double booked our massages and in fact they could only accommodate one of us the following day and the therapist was one hour late as her car had broken down and when she did arrive made no apology, made my friend wait until she’d had a coffee and then administered a very poor massage with next to no pressure despite being asked several times to go harder. She didn’t ask any health questions about allergies or injuries …. Shockingly poor ! The dinner at the restaurant was v good if a little fancier that what we fancied but the pizza resto wasn’t open. The lighting in the restaurant v bright and lacking ambience as a result. The winery trip was interesting and the village is fabulous with a couple of great bars and restos and an amazing deli. It’s a shame about the hotel as it could be spectacular if the management spent some money on some tweaks that would make a world of difference to the guest experience. A good interior designer could help to warm up and personalise the gorgeous old buildings
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Gran Claustre, Otros at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Jan 20, 2022
Dear Rosie, Thanks you for your time and your opinion. We are very sorry that her stay did not meet all her expectations, we take note of her comments in order to improve. Receive a cordial greeting,
Read more
Nanachubs wrote a review Jan 2020
Barcelona, Spain50 contributions22 helpful votes
First the good news: We found the service to be very friendly in all departments. The wifi in Room 15 was excellent. The location and external ambiance of the hotel are impressive. It is situated in a 16th century building separated by a road but this didn't bother us too much. The breakfast is quite good; the service very friendly. Delicious eggs! We were initially shown to Room 38 (a double superior). It was the one with no window and sloping ceiling. This ceiling is very low on the right hand side of the bed and my husband bumped his head twice. The appointment of this room was quite alarming. There was considerable mould around the bath and major damage to the paintwork in both the bathroom and bedroom. We asked for another room. We then went to Room 15 in the other building. Be aware that there are many, many stairs and corridors going up and down and into all directions probably due to the renovations of an extremely old building. But it is confusing. Room 15 was better, with windows and high ceilings. However, the poor maintenance was still in evidence with a large crack running through two walls and also on one of the surfaces. There was no hot water our first morning. It was fixed at 11am. Then the bath/shower button seized up and we couldn't engage the shower so had to have a bath. Overall, this hotel falls short of its 4* rating. It is a bit sad, neglected and needs pretty major maintenance. The external areas are tastefully done and it all looks classy until we entered our room(s). The management should thoroughly inspect its rooms and carry out necessary maintenance work. By not doing so, they are sacrificing what would otherwise be a very nice establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Scrutinise room carefully and point out any contentious issues.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Molly S wrote a review Dec 2019
Granada, Spain560 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
I booked two superior rooms and a standard rooom for a stay in Altafulla on Aprill 19th 2019. My group were 5 people (me + 2 couples) Note the hotel is split over two separate buildings. Although I knew that my standard room would be smaller that the other rooms I didnt expect it to have marks on the ceiling, to be very dark and drab or to have the terrible service from the staff onsite. I arrived late on the first day and asked for lunch in the restaurant. I was told that they were too busy to offer me lunch (or room service) So I had to find something in the village. (priority was given to non residents eating in the restaurant) The following evening the same thing happened again. I was told that it was too late for room service, but reception managed to convince the kitchen to prepare me something quickly. On checkout the hotel changed me and another room the restaurant bill twice over. Overcharging and causing a bad feeling and impression with the people I was travelling with. We had a lot of luggage and some of the guests were older but hotel staff didnt assist with moving luggage on arrival or departure. I really cant express in words how dissappointing this hotel stay was. It was the 1st night of a long route around Spain and we certainly didnt begin well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Make sure you get a superior room in the newer building. Book restaurant tables ahead of time.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupClaustre, Community Manager at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience with us through the Tripadvisor portal. Below we will explain our vision on the points you comment. On your comment regarding the size of the room, each and every one of our rooms are of different characteristics in terms of size, color, layout and furniture, which, when compared to others, are likely to be inaccurate. As for the service of the restaurant, as you comment arrived late and considering that the hours of the restaurant and the service room is the same could hardly provide you with your request since it was already closed. Regarding the charge of the two services of the restaurant, to ask him apologies at no time was intentionally made if he did not have to be charged by mistake, which was solved at the time. As for the luggage that he comments, the hotel does not have a bellboy service, but if the client needs it and the staff that is at the reception can leave at that time, do not doubt that he would have been helped. We regret that your experience has not been to your liking, we hope to be able to receive you again on another occasion. Greeting you sincerely,
Read more
Bruce C wrote a review Oct 2019
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom139 contributions30 helpful votes
This was a really nice hotel located in the old town of Altafulla next to the church and fort, the standard double rooms are large we had a small Juliet balcony which we could put a chair on to catch the afternoon sun. In the old part of the hotel the design is traditional Spanish with tiled floors, it is very nice. There's a terrace with a pool which got the morning sun, the breakfast is a mix of cold buffet plus fruit salad, cheese and ham served at the table with a hot eggs to follow, this filled us up until dinner time. The serving and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. A couple of suggested improvements, wifi in the room was bad 1 bar at best had to move to communal areas for a decent reception (not best). No coffee or tea facilities in the room, no bar or pool service we could find, only 1 hour per week free in the spa (others we've had 1 hour per day). But all said and done we enjoyed our stay and will return, as it's a beautiful setting in a gorgeous area. P.S English is not always spoken or understood so some spanish/catalun would be helpful if you visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Old part of hotel is more traditional, new part more modern, rooms on lower floors have better wifi
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupClaustre, Community Manager at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Oct 30, 2019
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will consider your recommendations. Greetings,
Read more
Ann wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Extremely unfriendly staff. I fell from (2 meter) stairs that were directly INSIDE the (pitch dark) hotelroom. Stairs they had not mentioned. Fractured 2 arms, came back from the hospital at 3 am. Obviously I never had the chance to enjoy my stay. Especially when, the next morning, they told me it had been my own fault because normally they warned guestes (well this time they didn't). They offered nothing whatsoever. No discount, and worse: no sympathy, To make things even worse: on arriving home it turned out I 'd left my dress in the wardrobe. Yes, they found it, yes they would send it to me, but only when I paid €15 shipping costs. I would never recommend this hotel to other people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupClaustre, Community Manager at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Sep 24, 2019
We are very sorry that the attention was not to your liking. Apologize if the deal was not right and we hope you get better. We will consider your comments. Greetings,
Read more
LesFlamantsRoses wrote a review Jul 2019
Altrincham, United Kingdom453 contributions190 helpful votes
This was my second visit, having stayed last year. I love its position which gives shelter from the intense summer heat and a restful space in an atmospheric setting. The rooms tend to be rather dark and narrow, but comfortable nonetheless. The staff are great, the breakfast interesting and varied. There is adequate parking free of charge and a lovely courtyard bar with music in the later evening.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupClaustre, Community Manager at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Aug 30, 2019
Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Greetings,
Read more
Colin B wrote a review Jun 2019
Trefriw, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
We visited on recommendation. The building is stunning, located in the old town of Altafulla. The hotel could, and should, be exceptional however it doesn't quite do it for a 4 star hotel. The room we were initially allocated was on the top floor of the building and was without windows apart from two velux windows in the sloping ceiling. In a corner a roller blind covered what appeared to be a ventilation shaft. We asked for a different room and were given a bigger and far nicer room on the first floor with a large bathroom and Jacuzzi bath. The room was clean with a large comfortable bed and spacious sitting area. Unfortunately there was decorating and electrical work taking place in the corridor outside of our room. It felt as though they hadn't really fully geared up for summer even though it was well into June. We felt that signage in the hotel was inadequate as it is split over two sides of a road and we were never quite clear where things were. The hotel details say that there is a 'lobby bar'. This is not really the case. There is no bar just some sofas and chairs some of which are in an enclosed courtyard. To get a drink you need to ask at reception as there is no waiter service. The hotel has an outdoor pool in an enclosed courtyard. It is a lovely location but unfortunately the local pigeons also like it and we watched the domestic staff cleaning pigeon droppings from the surrounding decking. Perhaps it was a blessing that the pool was available for a couple hours on our first day as it was closed for a private event. However it was not all doom and gloom. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a range of meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, eggs, yoghurt, juices etc. The highlight of the in the hotel's own restaurant. We both chose the seasonal menu and the food was exceptional as was the recommended wine and the service. We both enjoyed our stay but felt that it should be an amazing hotel but it doesn't quite get there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Marielletammer wrote a review Apr 2019
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands7 contributions4 helpful votes
What a lovely place. Amazing hotel and superb restaurant. In a lovely location of the village. Really had a lovely time. The room was modern, comfortable and clean. The people were all very friendly and attentive. The restaurant exceptional: all dishes high on flavor with surprising combinations. Really worth a try. Don't miss this place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupClaustre, Community Manager at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Apr 25, 2019
Hello Marielletammer, Thank you for commenting your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards,
Read more
Magda wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution
Very poor service. Before reserving I called and also sent emails to reassure that I will get a double room with a doble bed and once entered the room there were two individual beds. We didn´t have wifi in our room and after complaining about it nothing was done. I was told that it´s possible that the wifi doesn´t reach top floor and that´s it. So if I wanted to use wifi I had to sit at the reception which was ridiculous in a so called 4* hotel. The first day the breakfast wasn´t superb but it was okay, on the other had the second day, something went wrong (they didn´t bring croissants that we had the previous day and they forgot about scrambled eggs so we had to wait a lot). The apartment itself wasn`t cozy at all, the sofa had stains, there were holes in the bathrobe and the bedding. Also, it felt like being in a basement, even though the room was in a top floor, but had only one really small window. We also went to the spa, which again was waste of money. The space is really small and they let 4 other couples at the same time and literally there was no space for everybody! Although the massage was ok, it wasn´t good idea to go there. In general I wouldn´t recommand. No point to pay so much for such a poor service and conditions. I left with a bad taste in my mouth. Shame.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Raquel R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Claustre
Responded Dec 13, 2018
Hello and thank you for commenting your experience on Tripadvisor. We regret that the experience was not to your liking. In this way, we will send your opinion to direction, so they will take into account what you are saying. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of TarragonaCosta DoradaAltafulla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gran Claustre
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gran Claustre?
Nearby attractions include Plaza de Sant Antoni (0.04 miles), Platja d'Altafulla (0.6 miles), and Cal Cano (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gran Claustre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Gran Claustre?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gran Claustre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gran Claustre?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gran Claustre?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Toque, Suko, and Altaburg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Gran Claustre?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Gran Claustre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Altafulla.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Gran Claustre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Gran Claustre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gran Claustre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Catalan.