We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bougainvillea Barbados

Save
Share
Maxwell Coast Road, Maxwell Barbados
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/29/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Official Hotel
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2155)
Room & Suite (554)
Pool & Beach (544)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Maxwell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Ocean View
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bougainvillea Barbados
Updated 06/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
2401Reviews335Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,416
  • 742
  • 172
  • 39
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
BPB82 wrote a review Oct 16
Ayr, United Kingdom31 contributions5 helpful votes
I have just returned from this hotel (first trip to Barbados) and have nothing but positive things to say about it. The hotel is well situated between Oistins and St Lawrence Gap which are both within walking distance. It has its own lovely beach and is right next to Sandals which has a beach with a rock formation in front of it which calms the waves. There are free watersports (kayaking, paddle boarding and boogie boards) and if you want to go jet skiing there is a man called Ellis who rents them off Sandals beach for $60 USD for 30 minutes. The facilities are excellent, including a spacious and well equipped gym and games room and a nice on site shop selling essentials. You can also change Sterling and US dollars for Barbados dollars at reception. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped and there are 3 lovely pools. The on site restaurant, Calabash is well priced and features a small but good quality menu. There is a live singer every Wednesday and A steel drum player on a Sunday. A highlight of this hotel is the staff, from reception to ground staff to cleaning staff, everyone is extremely polite, helpful and will say hello. The reception staff are so welcoming and helpful. The only tiny negative I can mention is regarding the sun loungers. The usual Brit abroad habit of getting up early, draping a towel over several beds then walking away for hours was evident on occasion. If staff could possibly crack down on this it would be the cherry on the cake but otherwise an amazing holiday at a great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth wrote a review Oct 6
Douglas, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
As a solo female traveller I could not have been made to feel more welcome. Everyone was friendly and kind during my stay. My room was superb, spotlessly clean with its own private sun bed area as well as a covered balcony and fabulous sea view. I wish I had visited prior to Covid as the Siam restaurant wasn’t open regularly during my stay as I didn’t get to visit it. I will definitely come back if I return to Barbados
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Andy FL wrote a review Oct 5
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Just got back from our trip to Barbados and have to say this is a beautiful hotel with an amazing beach and friendly staff. Room: We stayed in a Junior Suite which was everything we needed. More spacious than we anticipated and had all the amenities that we required including a hob, fridge/freezer, toaster and kettle. An oven would have made cooking somethings a bit easier so if you would like one I'd suggest going with the 1 bedroom suite. The room was clean and fresh and had both ceiling fans and air con so we were never too hot. The balcony was spacious with a dining table and sun lounger. Our balcony view was blocked somewhat by a large tree but we didn't spend much time on the balcony anyway so wasn't much of an issue and all the foliage adds to the beauty of the resort. Food and Drink: The Calabash Cafe is a great little restaurant right on the beach and good food. We went with a room only rate so we had the flexibility to go out and buy our own food to make in our room so only ate breakfast at the restaurant a couple of times but it was good quality and a decent range of food. The menu for lunch and dinner I felt could have been a bit larger and varied, particularly if you're staying for more than a week it can feel a bit samey and would've loved to see some more Bajan dishes on there as their fishcakes were delicious. It would have been nice if the other restaurant Siam was open too just for a bit of variety, but it is the low season and not as busy so understand the decision to close it. Resort: The hotel itself is beautiful and green with lush vegetation and trees everywhere. There are three pools which never seemed over crowded except for the sunbeds, which people seemed to reserve with their towels during the middle of the night as when we went down as early as 6.30 and most were taken already. There are plenty more sunbeds on the beach but it can get hot with the sun reflecting off the white sand. The beach itself is the nicest i've ever been to and the water is crystal clear. However the last 3 or 4 days a lot of seaweed drifted in and built up a lot on the beach. Over at the sandals resort next door this was cleared up each day but built up a lot more in front of our hotel. The pool swim up bar was nice and had a good selection of cocktails and spirits but you weren't allowed to sit at the bar for covid reasons. Staff: Staff were all very friendly and helpful, booking taxis to restaurants for us and providing recommendations. We had an issue with room service where we weren't notified of a $15 upcharge to deliver to the room when we could have just gone and collected it from the restaurant. This wasn't on the menu and were only told about it on our final evening; however we spoke to the front desk and they very kindly removed the charge for the two times we had the food delivered. Location: The hotel is located on the south coast between St Lawrence Gap and Oistins, so is within a 5 min taxi ride of each which is great for going to local restaurants. It's a shame there aren't more amenities within easy walking distance to pick up some things from the shops but there is a large Massy's supermarket in Oistins which is only a 5 min drive away. Special Mention: One of the evenings we were watching the evening entertainment when I spotted a baby turtle hatchling headed towards the hotel on the beach. All of a sudden there were dozens of them and everybody rushed to collect them to stop them heading the wrong way and it was amazing! We collected them into a box and then some volunteers from the Barbados Sea Turtle Project came to take them to a sanctuary. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel we had an amazing time and was great value for money. We spoke to a few people from the Sandals resort who said that waiting times for restaurants there were up to 2 hours and the place was understaffed so I'm glad we opted for somewhere a bit smaller and less expensive and would happily come back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Christina da Silva wrote a review Oct 4
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just came back from Bougainvillea Barbados and had an amazing ten days! Front desk staff are amazing, friendly and so helpful. All other staff were great too. Rooms are clean and spacious. Will definitely be back soon ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DRM wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
This stay was a real shame. Bougainvillea could be so much more - it has so much potential but it missed the mark in so many ways. Positives: We were upgraded from a junior suite to a full suite which we really appreciated. The views are beautiful on the higher floors. The pool bar is nice, although you can't sit at it during COVID and the drinks were predictable and no different/better to everything else on the island. Parts of the property are very pretty. I like the White Company toiletries - but why attach big bottles to the wall? This level of cost cutting seems cheap and penny pinching. The bathroom was lovely, modern and clean. The shower was great. Negatives: The property is DANGEROUSLY slippy. When it rains, the slope going from reception down to the pools and restaurant was really dangerous. When you arrive, there is nobody to meet you from the car to take your luggage. Instead, you have to drag your luggage up the stairs, speak to a member of staff, then drag it back downstairs to go into storage. Do not try and check in before 4pm - you will have to wait for hours while you watch them assist other clients. And when the room was ready, we had to wait another 30 minutes for a member of staff to show us to our room. The staff, on the whole, were pretty rude and abrupt, and made us feel like an inconvenience (except for Natasha on reception who was lovely). We booked a king room, and were given a twin room. We raised this and they did change it - after 90 minutes of waiting. The breakfast buffet was pretty minimal and you have to wear plastic gloves. This is a COVID thing and we appreciate the attempt to be sanitary, but it just left used plastic gloves blowing around the property and on the beach. The beach was messy, not very clean, and the water is too rough to go in (appreciate the hotel can't control this). There's no literature in the room... want to know about room service? or when the restaurants are open? or when check out is? or what the TV channels are? or how to work the air con? Best get your crystal ball out because there is nothing to tell you! The kitchen wasn't very clean. The sides were wiped down, but the glasses were quite dirty and down the side of the fridge and oven were disgusting. The bedding isn't up to standard of a 4*. The pillows were lumpy and you get given one blanket. I get really cold at night so asked for a duvet, and was told they don't have them and so was just given another blanket which was then a bit awkward. I appreciate it's a hot country, but do think that offering was pretty poor. We weren't told about any of the facilities on check in. I only knew there was a spa and a gym because I looked it up before... I still don't know where they were in the property... The voucher system for breakfast is pretty poor. You are given vouchers to tell the staff what sort of breakfast you can have. We weren't even given ours on check in so the restaurant sent us back to the check in desk to get our vouchers. We didn't even order coffee as it wasn't on the buffet and didn't want to be charged. There is so. much. waiting. Wait to check in, wait to be shown to your room, wait to have your room changed, wait to make a breakfast reservation, wait to be shown to your table... the whole operation is pretty inefficient. We got 'room service'... it took quite a while, cost a fortune, and arrived in cardboard boxes in a carrier bag. They wouldn't even bring it inside! It was like getting Deliveroo but paying for 4* room service. The food is very expensive for what it is. 7USD for fries which were cold and soggy is awful, the caeser salad was missing dressing and the fettucine was bland (and if you wanted chicken on top - you paid about 15USD on top, to make the whole dish about 40USD). Our housekeeping didn't even turn up on day one. Wifi kept dropping out - so if you're planning on working remotely from here... don't. As adorable as the resort cat was, he/she would sit next to your table when you're eating and beg for food. The towels in the room were tiny and wouldn't wrap around us! The SAIM (?) thai restaurant was shut but this wasn't made clear to us. There are alot of stairs in the property, so if you struggle with stairs, maybe give it a miss. All in all - this is not a 4* property. It's 3* at best, and there is zero risk of us returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Suites on the high floor have great views
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabrina Mendes, Owner at Bougainvillea Barbados
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback and we do apologise if there were any unique issues which may have adversely affected your stay or may not have been in keeping with your expectation. We would have liked to have had the chance to look into and address any concerns that you had while you were here with us and regret that there was not an opportunity to do so. However, there are points made that are factually inaccurate and warrant a response. First, we find it necessary to refute your account of the cleanliness of our rooms, beach, and property and the image painted, as it simply is not the case. Secondly, in keeping with the island's Covid protocols, all high-touch material (including brochures, service directory, etc) were removed from our rooms. However, all guests are provided with a welcome letter, which includes QR codes for the restaurant & spa menus along with additional general information. The information shared on the cost of food is overstated - for example, fettuccine alfredo with chicken is actually US$24, not US$40 as you indicated. We appreciate that you like the White Company toiletries provided and understand your preference for the amenity bottles but they are not in keeping with our environmental commitment - Bougainvillea Barbados has been a certified green hotel for over 15 years. The small amenity bottles result in a massive amount of waste from the plastics, which cannot be recycled in Barbados.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$202 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bougainvillea beach hotel christ church, bougainvillea barbados, hotel bougainvillea beach, bougainvillea hotel barbados, beach bougainvillea resort, bougainvillea resort, bougainvillea beach resort barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church ParishMaxwell
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bougainvillea Barbados
Which popular attractions are close to Bougainvillea Barbados?
Nearby attractions include Dover Beach (0.5 miles), St Lawrence Gap (0.4 miles), and Scoopie's Jazz (0.4 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Bougainvillea Barbados?
Conveniently located restaurants include Happy Days Cafe, Bliss Cafe, and My Friends Place.
Are there any historical sites close to Bougainvillea Barbados?
Many travelers enjoy visiting George Washington House (3.2 miles), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (2.9 miles), and Gun Hill Signal Station (4.6 miles).
Does Bougainvillea Barbados have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.