We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Save
Share
Near Lee Beach, Pefkos 85107 Greece
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$73
View deal
Expedia.com
$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$86
$69
View deal
SAVE $17
Hotels.com$77
Travelocity$77
Trip.com$86
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (789)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (273)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Updated 04/23/20

About

#10 of 33 hotels in Pefkos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Diving
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Greek, Italian
1437Reviews185Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 928
  • 355
  • 113
  • 31
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Davenjacqui d wrote a review Nov 2020
Haworth, United Kingdom380 contributions106 helpful votes
We were unhappy with our room so went to reception to asked to be moved. The room was supposed to be on the ground floor, but was actually about 4 or 5 feet below ground level. Dark and smelling dank, there was mould above the mirror in the bathroom and we had to have the lights on all the time. The room, 906 I think, was more like a dungeon than a hotel room. We were told there were no other rooms available. We went back next morning and we were told the same thing. Before going back the second time, I brought up their website on my Phone and lo and behold, there were rooms available. Then I showed them my phone, Abracadabra, they said there we other rooms available. Magic. I was not at all happy that I had been lied to, and I told them so. For the next couple of hours or so, they pestered me with messages saying I had misunderstood and that I wasn't offered the other rooms because they were also on the ground floor. Ground floor would have been a massive improvement!! They lied. They will probable say the same things in answer to this post. If they do, they'll be lying again. After all that, the hotel is great, the position couldn't be better and if we'd have had a decent room, this review would have been very different.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't book rooms on the ground floor, they are mostly below ground level.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Hello Davenjacqui d Thank you for your review following your stay at the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We have been anticipating your review as at the time of your stay, you did threaten that you would be leaving us a negative review. We would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments to ensure that TripAdvisor members are able to read a full and balanced account of guests experiences with us and ensure that they are fully appraised of what actually transpired during your stay with us. You contacted the Hotel prior to your arrival, via Facebook messenger on our business page, asking for a room in block 9. You made no mention of a floor preference. Upon arrival we were delighted to have been able to allocate you a room in block 9 as you requested. The room which you were allocated is a ground floor room. Any guest that has stayed in block 9 would be able to verify that your room was ground floor. Due to the varying gradients of the car park and pool area, there are 3 steps down to the entrance door-way of ground floor rooms in block 9 – they are in no way "basement" rooms. You visited our Reception following check-in to express your dissatisfaction with the location of your room and stating that you were unhappy with a ground floor room. We correctly advised you at the time that we had no higher floor rooms available to move you to. Still unhappy with this response, you decided to check via our online booking platform and discovered that we did have 1 room available at the Hotel. At this point, we must make it clear that your behaviour towards our staff was what can only be described as abhorrent. You walked into our Reception and started to shout at our staff, calling them liars and giving them absolutely no opportunity to explain that the room that you could see that was available was also ground floor. You left Reception without us having the opportunity to explain this. At this point, we decided to contact you via our Facebook messenger (we did not wish to have a further face to face confrontation with you) and sent the following message: "Good Morning. We would like to clear up any confusion that may have arisen with your room allocation. As you can see from the message above you requested to be allocated either block 8 or 9. As per request you were allocated block 9. You informed reception that you were not happy as it was on ground level. It was not mentioned in your request that you had a preference for the floor level you were allocated. It was explained to you that we did not have the availability to move you to a high floor. However, this morning you have been to reception believing that we have not been honest with you. We have 1 x Studio left available which is located on ground level in block 4. As you requested high floor then reception saw no reason to offer you this room as it did not meet with your requirements. It saddens us that an explanation is required as we see no reason to be dishonest with our guests. Just to confirm with you we also have a 1 Bedroom Apartment available if you wish to upgrade but once again this is located on ground level. Kind regards." You replied to this message insisting that you had been told there was no availability at all – we again clarified that there was no availability of a higher floor room – which was entirely correct. You declined to respond to this message. As a Hotel, our staff have had an incredibly stressful job this Summer. They have worked very hard in difficult circumstances in order to offer individuals such as yourself a small reprieve from the ongoing health crisis. To have to face being screamed at by guests and being called a liar is entirely inappropriate not to mention disrespectful and rude. Our Reception staff were left visibly shaken following your aggressive tirade. I am sure TripAdvisors readers will agree, is not something that anyone should have to deal with whilst already working under extreme pressure. It is evident from the aggressive tone of your review that this confrontational dialect and behaviour is something which you clearly do feel to be acceptable. We are grateful to have the opportunity to explain and defend our actions in a public forum and to address your unacceptable behaviour during our stay with us. Regards Stefanos Pallas
Read more
BlueTB wrote a review Nov 2020
69 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
I decided to take the plunge and book a solo holiday in October. Usually I would stay at Pefkos Beach hotel but as that was closed decided on Matina due to its location to the beach, bars and restaurants. I wasn’t disappointed. The team at the hotel really made me feel welcome as a solo traveller and looked after me well. The attached People’s Bar and Meltemi restaurants were handy if I didn’t want to venture far at night. The room 420 was very nice. Had a lovely view and a large balcony which I was grateful for. It was nice to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening sat enjoying the stars. Yes the room could do with a little upgrade but it was clean. My only challenge with the room was my clean was due at 5.30pm and I was always back in my room by then. So I emptied the bins myself. A clean wasn’t that important just for me but it would if there were 3 guests in the room. It would be good though if the cleaners could change their routine so I wasn’t last to be done in the day. Used the ABC online booking service for my shop and it was amazing to have the beer in my fridge on arrival ! Used the pool on a couple of occasions when I could get a sun bed with space. Some of the beds were a little too close for me in the current climate. I would definitely return ... in fact I am next August. There is just something magical about Pefkos and Matina ...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Hello BlueTB Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback. Your positive comments regarding the staff, rooms, facilities and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and it’s good to know that are getting things right and that these things had such a positive impact on your holiday. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future. Kinds Regards Stefanos Pallas
Read more
marion_00123 wrote a review Nov 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom40 contributions38 helpful votes
Booked for 1 week and stayed for 3. 1 week Matina, 1 week Anthi Maria and 1 week Lemon Tree. All excellent accommodation with lovely, helpful staff. Valentina, Tsambika, Chris make a great team. Vera our maid was great too. Highly recommend these places to stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Hello Marion_00123 Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback. Your positive comments regarding your stay with us and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and we're delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future. Kinds Regards Stefanos Pallas
Read more
getawaykent wrote a review Nov 2020
kent169 contributions93 helpful votes
My wife & myself stayed at the Matina during the last two weeks of October. This was our first visit to Pefkos for 5 years. Our delayed flight (faulty aircraft) from Stansted with Jet2 meant we arrived 2 hours late. However checking in was straightforward, as we had completed our details online prior to leaving the UK, & we were given our electronic key card. We stayed in apartment 211. Having arrived later than anticipated we decided to grab something to eat at the "People" Snack Bar attached to the Matina & we weren't disappointed. My wife had requested a high floor in a quiet block with a sea view, & that's exactly what we were given. The studio apartment was large, well equipped with everything you needed, including a "smart TV". We found the beds comfortable & the balcony enjoyed a sunny disposition. The balcony was small but had sufficient space to for us to enjoy breakfast & lunch with views of the Aegean Sea. Our apartment was cleaned to a very high standard by a lovely member of staff 6 times a week, & the change of linen & towels was as good, if not better than we've enjoyed at other resorts on Greek Islands. As the weather was exceptionally good during our stay, we spent a lot of time around the smaller pool. There were sufficient beds & shades during our first week, but during the second ( half term) week, finding the best positions became more difficult. Lee Beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the Matina & we were able to swim in the sea & then walk back to use the showers around the pool. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks at the Matina & would not hesitate to return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 211 is quiet & has views of the Aegean Sea
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Hello getawaykent Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your holiday at the Matina Aparthotel Pefkos. It’s wonderful to hear that our Hotel has offered you a warm welcome and you enjoyed your stay with us. It was good to know that you found your room and the resort in general to be of a high standard and the standard of cleaning to be good. It was also great to read your positive comments regarding the additional facilities at the Hotel such as Peoples Bar. We do aim to offer our guests convenience as well as value for money so it’s great to see that we have got this balance right. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Hotel again in the future. Kind regards Stefanos Pallas
Read more
Tracey G wrote a review Oct 2020
Athens, Greece99 contributions27 helpful votes
Arrived early evening and had used the fast checking service quickly given our keys. We were in block 8 ground floor. The apartment clean and tidy and standard basics you get in Greece. Out the next day checking out the facilities can back to our room and both the beds were covered in ants all running up the wall and over our bedding. Rang reception to be told maid would come which she did 4 hrs later sprayed and left us some spray too. No outlook at all on ground floor just the wall and untidy garden area. If I had know I would had requested upper floor, this the made told us is why there is an ant problem. Shop great and all staff very friendly. Bathroom has a strong unpleasant smell which isn’t very nice at all. Also had 2 evening with no hot water, worst was last night (Saturday) possibly due to the number of people leaving, so we had to boil water to get a wash. So with with a little more attention to detail this could be a great place, would come again but would request upper floor room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for upper floor room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Hello Tracey G Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback. Your positive comments regarding your stay with us and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and we're delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. We were also happy to read that the issue that you reported regarding ants was dealt with swiftly although you were incorrectly advised that the ant issue is due to the room being ground floor. Unfortunately during hot weather ants do venture indoors, regardless of the floor and despite us making every effort to eradicate this problem, its not always possible without using harsh chemicals regularly. We do try not to do this but on some occasions it is the only option available. The view from lock 8 ground floor is of the Hotel grounds and pool, we're unsure why you referred to it as an untidy garden area as all of our gardens and outdoor space are maintained to a very high standard. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future. Kinds Regards Stefanos Pallas
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matina aparthotel hotel pefkos
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanDodecaneseRhodesPefkos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Which popular attractions are close to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Nearby attractions include Zig Zag Bar Pefkos (0.3 miles), Lee Beach (0.10 miles), and Cavo Pefkos Cocktail Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oasis Pool Bar, Philosophia Beach Restaurant, and Artemis Garden Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Matina Pefkos Aparthotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Matina Pefkos Aparthotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Greek, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Church of the Panagia (2.3 miles), Village of Lindos (2.3 miles), and Statue Of Ioannis Zigdis (2.4 miles).