We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Road Marumbi Marumbi Village East Coast, Uroa 0000 Tanzania
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$71
View deal
Expedia.com
$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/27/22
Destinia.com
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/21/22
Travelocity$103
Hotels.com$103
Trip.com$62
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1179)
Room & Suite (184)
Dining (70)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • All employees are fully vaccinated
Updated 12/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Paradise Beach Resort
Updated 12/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 14 in Uroa
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Paradise Beach Resort is a recently renovated resort on the east coast of Zanzibar, with different room categories and bungalows. On the Indian Ocean there is a jetty with bar, lounge and sunbeds. The main restaurant is semi-buffet and offers live cooking. The a-la-carte restaurant is located directly on the beach. All rooms have ocean views (except Standards). The hotel is only 35 km from the airport, the ferry terminal, and Stone Town. The resort has a Spa & Gym and offers a wide range of Safaris, Excursions, Diving, Car Rental, and much more. The international qualification is 4*, the management is multilingual, transfer service is available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Manicure
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, Swahili
722Reviews84Q+A80Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 235
  • 283
  • 110
  • 49
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rachel C wrote a review May 12
1 contribution
My partner myself and a friend stayed here for 3 nights from the 24th April.. Beautiful hotel room was spacious and clean, the staff was amazing and couldn't do enough for you. We also used the spa which was fantastic I would recommend the Turkish bath. The only down fall was myself and my friend become very ill on the Tuesday evening we had food poisoning I have never been so unwell it lasted over a week travelling home to the UK was a struggle. We narrowed it down too some chicken we had eaten as that was the only thing we had all eaten that was the same... This has definitely put me off ever staying here again which is a shame because everything else was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Rachelcurlil, We are happy that you enjoyed our resort this much and the facilities that we offer. We agree that our staff go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry that you got ill during your holiday, but can with very high certainty rule out food poisoning as a cause. A shame that you did not inform us during your stay so we could have assisted you with a doctor to find our the cause of your sickness. We did not have any other reports of people getting sick, with more then 200 other guests in the hotel this should have certainly happened if it would have been the chicken. Besides this we follow very strict HACCP guidelines in our receiving, preparation and kitchen area. We looked back at our documentation and could not find anything that could point to a disruption of our food receiving and preparation processes. You mention as well that it lasted more then 7 days, which is very rare for food poisoning, it normally last a few days at most, which further confirms to us that it was something else that caused your unfortunate sickness. It is a bit disappointing to us that you gave us only 2/5 based on merely an assumption, which if you would have contacted us could have been easily investigated and sorted out. We hope that you understand that unfounded claims like these are very painful for all the people who put so much effort in creating a memorable and safe holiday experience for you. Again we are very sorry for you that you got so sick during your holiday as it clearly had a great impact. We do hope you will visit us again in this light, we are looking forward welcoming you back again with us. With warm regards, General Management
Read more
Kayleigh E wrote a review May 8
Willenhall, United Kingdom147 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for a week with a friend for a girls holiday. Upon arriving to our hotel we were positively surprised at the rawness of it. Not a huge resort but a small complex which was perfect to escape after being out all day exploring. Rooms were very spacious and would be ample for a family of 4-5 . Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and always well stocked. Tv also but didn't use. Food at the hotel was a little repetitive but could always find something to eat. Staff are the most welcoming of all, they made you feel right at home and comfortable and were always there to help, in particular when booking excursions etc Big let down was the "snack bar" every day was just pizza and nothing else, I have never known this anywhere else I've stayed before, especial in a 4 star hotel, normally there is good variety. You could choose to order and pay extra for other snacks but we didn't bother. The jetty is amazing for an evening drink after dinner, the breeze feels lush. The staff need training on making cocktails as they were awful, although we were all inclusive you could again pay extra to upgrade to premium spirits , we didn't bother as we weren't at the hotel much in the end, as zanzibar captured us after our first day, so every day we were out exploring the island. Overall not a bad hotel, I'd put it more as a very good 3 star, I personally would definitely stay again due to location and I particular the staff, but I would only go half board as the food was too repetitive for me.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 922kayleighe, Thank you for your review here, greatly appreciated. We are happy you enjoyed our rooms and that the staff and the resort pleased you as well. It brings us always great joy to read that our staff have played such an important role in your experience. We definitely will look at your comments, I am happy to inform that for now over 4 weeks we started to serve a bit more variety next to our wood fired pizza every day at 17:00. Bear in mind that this is intended as a snack, a small bite to make sure nobody goes hungry before dinner starts at 19:00. We hope that you would take the time to give us some more feedback about the cocktails to better understand what went wrong here. Thank you for your feedback at least on this point, this will help us to provide even better consistency in our bars. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again with us! With warm regards, General Management
Read more
TatianaNicola wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
If I have to choose between positive and negative impressions, positive definitely prevail. It's a cheerful hotel with a wonderful park, You can choose your "tropical spot" and get rest, whether in the swing or just sitting in one of few available bars. Everything is very well connected, so you can easily change your place during the day between pools, beach and bars. Jetty bar is absolutely amazing, it's a gem of the resort. For me, the best thing in the whole complex. Also, I have to mention a fantastic upper pool in Zanzibar Bay, always peaceful and deep enough to swim properly and without being disturbed. Food was also very good, diverse enough and I would dare to say, rather organic. Majority of staff were very friendly and nice, thank you Salome for big smiles and nice chats. Regarding negative impressions, there is one very important thing and I believe that the management should give a serious thought in order how to improve it. It's cleanliness. The very first day I came I got a towel full of stains. I felt really bed, a kind of nauseous. After 11 hours flight and seeing these colorful stains, my stomach got really upset, so I think it's not the best first impression for a guest to see, Generally, most of towels were old and shabby. And also, one day I got a pillow case that smelled of someone;s sweat. I asked the lady who was in charge for our room to change it, and she did it, but I still think these things are unacceptable if you present yourself as a four star hotel. And finally, people who work as bartenders, especially by the pool bars..I understand, they are very busy and they try to serve everyone, but wipe your hands with the dirty dishtowel and then with that same hand put the ice in my glass...oh nooo Another thing, especially for the guests with more sophisticated taste, very bad quality of all inclusive alcohol. Neither beer nor wine were good. But, of course, you can pay and get whatever you want. To summarize my review, as I already said, positive things prevail and if the hotel management give a thought to improve some things which I think are not insignificant, it might be a perfect place for vacation that I could recommend to anyone without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Tatiana, We miss you already. Thank you very much for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your feedback and we have taken notes of all mentioned points. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back.
Read more
darren p wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa75 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We spent a week at Paradise Beach Resort in Zanzibar. We thought enjoyed our stay. The food was good and the venue is stunning. Definitely worth staying at Paradise Beach Resort. The sun rises were a highlight.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Jambo Darren, Thank you very much for sharing your experience and recommending Paradise beach resort through TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is our most important goal. To know that our dedication to excellent service is appreciated is a great reward to us. Thank you once again, and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Paradise beach resort. With warm regards, General Management.
Read more
CAE17 wrote a review Apr 2022
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Accommodation: Prior to arriving, I liaised directly with the resort with the view to upgrading my room. I was particularly keen on staying in one of the two bungalows seeing as the staff informed me that both had “great sea views”. Not only was my room not ready upon arrival, I was emphatically told that the upgrade I had paid, was in fact not paid. I insisted I had paid this upgrade but was met with the reply “No you have not paid for it” At no stage did the receptionist even consider that the mistake could be on there side. I was told to wait a couple of minutes and they would come back to me. I stood in the rain for 10minutes. Nobody came back to me. It was only when I insisted on speaking to Sadick( reservations manager) that things started to happen. As it turns out, the error was on their side as I had in fact paid. Upon arriving at the bungalow I realised that I had in fact been lied to and that bungalow 2 does not have a sea view at all actually. Only bungalow 1 has a sea view. The upgrade was a total rip off. Staff: If you must go to this resort, you will be well advised to only deal with the the staff wearing white shirts and black pants. The staff in blue are generally quite stand offish. I am aware that there is a language barrier but surely if they don’t understand, they should call a colleague that does. This doesn’t happen. All you will be met with is blank stairs and shoulder shrugging . The alcohol: I am convinced this resort’s alcohol is watered down. You feel perfectly fine after 6 double cocktails. Yet go next door to five palms or the other neighbouring resorts, 1 cocktail leaves you feeling “ a little under the weather”. Towels: Having paid more than $200 per day, the expectation is that the towels will be of a certain standard. On more than one occasion we were given towels that had been patched up with other pieces of towelling.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Chrise, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and we are real sorry for the type of experience you had during your stay. Often we know how hence and we take initiative and anticipate our guest’s needs, we offer to our guests our desire and eagerness to share their experience and give us a feedback during the stay. Usually our managers are around to make sure that every single service we provide is at the guest required level even beyond since we believe that our guest’s satisfaction is our responsibility and we take action always. Further more we hope all Paradise Beach Resorts fans they know how much we strive in keeping our guests base happy before they leave the properties. As we provided you the option to get the room that you asked the team at reception to give, but you finally decided to stay in the same room after you realized that is same room category as per your booking. Our staff are well known for their attentiveness and friendliness as you can see from the other reviews. We are investigating deeply to see what seemed to be a challenge. We would welcome an opportunity to discuss this matter further through fom@paradisebeachresort.com, we are ready to work with you sort the points accurately. Thank you. General Management
Read more
Laszlo V wrote a review Mar 2022
Velence, Fejer, Hungary55 contributions12 helpful votes
We have stayed in this wonderful hotel 9 nights . We have just arrived so all the written experiences are very fresh. Everybody there from the FOM (Spanish lady) via the house keeping staff, cooks till the nicely dressed masais were really very kind and helpful! Our room was very close to the pool , large like 55m2 cleaned everyday by very cheerful young girls and ladies.Every evening we have got anti-mosquito spraying and the mosquitonets around the bed were arranged by them. The restaurant the food and the service were perfect. What we really didn't like was not depending on them.It were the changing low & high tides and the disgusting sea weeds and eel-grass on the beach and in the ocean. Otherwise everything was really wonderful! My advise : try to learn some words in Swahili as a respect to the people who works there. Asante sana!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Hello Laszlo V, Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. Happy to read that you enjoyed your time so much with us. Very nice to read that our staff played such a big role in your holiday experience. Thank you for your kind words regarding the food and the drinks, happy they were to your liking as well. Hope to welcome you back soon again with us! With warm regards, General Management
Read more
Antonio Lemos wrote a review Mar 2022
Oslo, Norway532 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
I'm not a fan of all inclusive resorts, but I don't regret choosing this place for a well-deserved vacation after two years of Covid 19. From the beginning of the reservation to the end of the stay, everything went in the best way. First I have to thank Claudia (front desk manager) for her kindness and excellent service, which was a great help throughout the whole process and thank you for putting me in the room in front of the beach with a magnificent view of the sea. 5 star service. I can start with the food served, for all tastes, with a variety and quality to make you smile every day, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The bars are available to serve you a wide choice of drinks from wines to cocktails. Beautiful resort with monkeys jumping from tree to tree but polite without being annoying :-) rooms not very big but sufficient in size, without luxuries but comfortable in an African style. I had a problem the first night with the air conditioning and I have to say that Hangi (relationship's manager) was incredibly helpful in fixing the problem, 5 stars to him too. Now there are two things people can criticize, but personally the resort shouldn't be blamed. The first is the internet connection, very unstable and down periodically, this is not a resort problem, it's a Zanzibar problem. I must remember that you are in Africa and things here don't work like in Europe or America. I've been to the island before and the problem with the internet is almost widespread, so don't blame the resort. The same goes for power outages, it's an island problem, not a resort problem. The second is the seasonal issue of seaweeeds on the beach, this is a problem the resort has, depending on when you travel, please check with the resort when this issue occurs so you won't be disappointed when you get to the beach and see seaweed everywhere (even though they try to clean it every day but nature is stronger) even thought you can still bathe in the sea through the sea pier. Also to note the good entertainment team with shows every night and very fun to watch ...loved this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask a room with sea view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Dear Balaia315, Thank you for your kind words and your review here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy you took the time and highlighted the effort of two of our staff members, always great to read that they went out of their way to make your holiday a memorable one. Thank you for highlighting our food and beverage offerings, we try to please everybody's palate and are happy you appreciated our offering. We hope to welcome you back in the future again with us, please do let us know when you plan to visit us again! With warm regards, General Management
Read more
Madyson T wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
MIGUEL AND THOMAS WERE WONDERFUL. They made this trip amazing! On top of that everything was clean and well put together. The drinks were good. The beach was clean. We weren’t heckled or asked to buy anything. Only a massage they were offering but once we turned it down they walked away. Great time! Will be coming back again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Hello madysont196, Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor, it always delights us to receive such high marks. We are happy that our team members made your holiday and that you enjoyed our bar offering that much. Its true that we are on a remote piece of the island and there are hardly any beachboys, one of the big advantages of our location. Looking forward to welcome you back. With warm regards, General Management
Read more
Philcz wrote a review Feb 2022
Brno, Czech Republic25 contributions7 helpful votes
I will start with room equipment. In-room you don't will find basic equipment. There is no refrigerator (so you don't have any cold drink or small minibar - really in the all-inclusive hotel is missing mini-bar?), TV, only one chair (in a luxury room), one bed something like a couch. But you can see a lot of animals (spiders, ants, and cockroaches) Food is disgusting. Every day is the same. Juices are made from powder, on the grill, you will never see a slice of fresh meat (all meat is boiled before, and on the grill is only heated). The biggest fun is their Sushi, please don't show it to any Japanese If you are a smoker is this paradise for you. An Ashtray you will find everywhere and you can feel the smoke... Bars are open only to 11:00 PM after this time is everything payment. Yes, all-inclusive is not all-inclusive. For all-inclusive guests are only a few drinks and cocktails for free but... On Bar is missing a lot of ingredients (for example curacao, triple sec, someday is a problem with orange juice...) Employers from SPA are like mosquitos, they want to sell you overpriced spa service five times a day, day after day... Housekeepers sometimes forgot to clean your room... Jetty really needs a renovation and looks dangerous. Wifi is very very slowly. Are you surprised by my review? Don't be. Hotel buys reviews, if you write a true review about this "resort" they will offer you money back. For the first time 50 % after 5 minutes 90 % back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded Feb 13, 2022
Hi Philcz, Thank you for sharing your feedback on all platforms. We recommend all of our guest to visit our website before visiting to see what we offer and what our packages entail. Opening times of bars, room descriptions, meal plans even complete menu's are available on our website so all what you mention regarding this should not have come as a surprise. In the all inclusive you can choose from 17 different cocktails to just mention something, in our opinion a balanced menu. In a resort our size you will always see our maintenance busy touching up and checking condition of for instance wood. We constantly access this and replace when necessary. We can assure you that the Jetty is 100% safe. The vast majority of our guest enjoy the food, we are sorry this was not to your liking. Smoking is not allowed in our restaurants and in the rooms. In open spaces, around the swimming pools this is something that we indeed allow as is industry standard. With warm regards, General Management
Read more
Jack Bass wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel operator seems to run a real turnstile "resort" its a proper "tourist trap" and a operation set up for mass market, travel companies. There are so many good options on Zanzibar, that "Paradises" offering is poor. Large eating halls, crowded pools, beach that most will not be happy with and staff that are not mindful, as thye too seem unhappy. Search elsewhere.......
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Paradise Beach Resort, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort
Responded Jan 13, 2022
Hi jackpaulbass, Thank you for taking the time and posting your review. We are very sorry that we were unable to match your expectations and we were not the resort for you. It is indeed a big resort with 4 swimming pools and a long beach. On our website we try our utmost to inform our guest as much as possible to create the right expectations. Unethical and tourist trap seems a bit harsh and as you can read in many other reviews, our staff is actually complimented for their friendliness and our grounds as well because of all the places where you can quietly sit and enjoy. Again we apologize that were unable to connect with you and show you the personalized experience that we offer to so many of our guests. With warm regards, General Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandUroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Paradise Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Paradise Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Uroa Bay (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Paradise Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Paradise Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Paradise Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Paradise Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Paradise Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kambakocho Bar & Beach Restaurant, Kae Funk Sunset Beach Bar, and Sai marce restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Paradise Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Paradise Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Paradise Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Paradise Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Paradise Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Paradise Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Paradise Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Dutch, and Swahili.