We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Tamarind Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Tamarind Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile

Well the tamarind is 'interesting' so far. Firstly, the location is perfect. It is right on the beach and the views are incredible. There aren't any beach boys or women selling things and it's very peaceful. When we arrived and had to call to find out where our pre-booked transfer was, we discovered that the hotel was under new management...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa A
Lulea, Sweden
Reviewed January 12, 2016

This is a hotel that was probably good at some time, but has seen its best days. There doesnt seem to be any interest to renovate or freshen it up. The food is not good in the restaurant. The taste is not terrible, but for the price it is definitely not worth it. Most of the rooms dont have AC,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saggio2016
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Swimming pool is awful. Rooms awful. Toilet flush not working. Very bad food This is not a good place to stay Very unfriendly staff... they need to fix these issues. The swimming pool was very very dirty. We had to run away from there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Asif D
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed September 3, 2015

If you must go to Uroa in Zanzibar, then this hotel is the best for the beach location. You can actually lay on the beach (instead of a wall being between you and the beach like a lot of the other hotels) and there is little/no hassle from people trying to sell tourist experiences. However, the hotel itself is pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

The personnel in the hotel is very friendly and quite helpful.. The food was average and the rooms were quite large but the hotel needs a bit of a renovation.. The most amazing part of the hotel was the beach which is so beautiful that you could spend the entire day gazing at the scenery :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Didier G
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed May 5, 2015

I am very sorry to say that this is not a nice place. The rooms seems at a first sight to be clean, but when you look closer you soon realise that is only on the surface. There are a lot och dust and sand in the corners and it seems they haven't cleaned the rooms properly in years. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julia L
Trond F, Owner at Tamarind Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Just a comment about dust and uncleanliness. Our rooms are cleaned every day. The dust is wood dust coming from woodworms in the ceiling, We have been trying everything to exterminate these bugs but it is impossible.

Lecce
Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We just about had this hotel and a glorious long white sand beach to ourselves. Nice large room with veranda in a thatched bungalow beside the pool or another 20meters to the beach. Generous breakfast. The lunch and dinner menus were limited but included fresh fish from the village market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Richmond, Indiana
Reviewed March 6, 2015

I'm sorry to see the recent poor reviews of the Tamarind. I have stayed there many times in the past, and have just booked stays for two groups for next August and October. The beach is lovely, and you can enjoy it with no harassment from "beach boys", a rare and delightful situation. Local kids play soccer, women harvest sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy078
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed February 18, 2015

The Place for sure needs renovation, but over all it is still value for the money. You have beachview from all bungalows and there is a nice pool. The food is mostly typical zanzibari, very tasty and good. This place is just perfect if you are looking for silence and tranquillity on the otherwise mostly busy and noisy east coast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 19maksmei78
Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Room was in a terrible condition in fact the place is badly maintained. Blood stained walls, brojen mosquito nets, no shower doors and the shower drain is next to toilet. Very unhygienic to say the least. If you a frequent traveller, then this is an absolute waste if money. I spent one night of my planned 6 nights and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacques S
Trond F, Owner at Tamarind Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I understand you had many grievances at our place, we are sorry for this. The reason I did not want to talk to you on the phone is that you already had told our manager that you want a refund or else.... bad review! Guests who use bad review as a threat I will not listen to. 2...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.7 mi away
Moonshine Uroa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
224 reviews
27.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
965 reviews
27.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bungalows by the white sandy beaches of the Indian Ocean. Tamarind is affordable paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel

Address: East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tamarind Beach Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Nairobi, Kenya

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tamarind Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask specifically for AC and hold your thumbs that you will have electricity.”
 of 5 bubbles saggio2016, Jan 12, 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here.”
  • Wall behind the bed
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles ChelseaK_13, Jan 2, 2015 | Read review
“There are larger rooms away from everyone else - these may be pricier but worth the amazing view.”
 of 5 bubbles NjenvaHeimi, Sep 3, 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are good - some are close to the beach and others are close to the pool but the hotel is beachfront so all are amazing. Dont understand why anyone (other than young party backpackers) would go anywhere else :)”
 of 5 bubbles 680siang, Jun 6, 2014 | Read review
“ask for a cottage right on the beach - the ones by the pool are nice too.”
 of 5 bubbles 152stephanieh, Apr 30, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question