We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
#3 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 267: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my friend came to uroa bay for a seven night and we did enjoy our staying.The staffs are nice everytime smiling.For sure we realy being impressed by one of the staff from restaurant is name is Mwinyi,he speak good English and understand everything you tell him.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mwinyi M
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mwinyi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and for your rating. It satisfies us to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the service provided by our team. Please rest assured that your nice words will be shared among the teams. Sincerely, Sara More 

Czechowice-Dziedzice, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a great two weeks in Uroa Bay Beach Resort. I met very kind and helpful staff and amazing people. It is not a luxury hotel, average (between 3-4*) but it provides all needed things to have a good holiday. The beach is dirty, but during outflow you can go forward into the Ocean and find a beautiful sand... More 

Helpful?
Thank krolic
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Krolic, Very best wishes from Uroa bay Zanzibar! Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay with us at uroa bay. We are so proud to read that you truly enjoyed your time with us and that you found our team to be "very helpful and kind", ! Such feedback is both, gratifying and motivating for us!... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited Uroa Beach Resort in Uroa, Zanzibar from the 7th to 13th November 2016. All my travel arrangements were done by Stars in Transition a local Travel Agent in Port Elizabeth South Africa. Uroa Bay resort is about 1 hours drive from Zanzibar Airport. On arrival we were met by the Operations Manager Sarah and her staff. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 343tourist
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your extensive and detailed feedback on your recent stay with us! We were absolutely delighted to read the comment. I am so happy and proud that we succeeded to meet your expectations and we managed to make your recent holiday as enjoyable as ever. And Thank you so much for such wonderful comments about me.... More 

South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How this hotel is rated a four star hotel is beyond me! The food is terrible,the wifi signal is poor ,spa is overpriced,mattresses are thin, cats running around the dining hall while holiday makers are dining,no fluffy towels,beach is full of seaweed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nomusa N
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nomusa, Thank you for giving us insight into your recent stay with us. We are deeply saddened to read that your experience was less than what was expected. regarding the SPA it is not relating to the hotel, it is rented. We prefer if you came to reception to inform us about all the comments you have so we... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I recently spent a week here and had a very relaxing 7 night holiday. The largeroom was very comfortable and the food generally good , with a good variety. As mentioned by various reviewers , swimming in the sea is not that great , due to the seaweed , but the resorts swimming pool is great !!... More 

Helpful?
Thank robinpatterson
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such wonderful comments. Such feedback is so motivating and gratifying! Thank you as well for your kind words about your "very relaxing 7 night holiday", "The large room was very comfortable" and "the food generally good , with a good variety".. We are so glad that you could enjoy all the wonderful things the Uroa... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a cosy place with lovely rooms......it's romantic the pool is great the beach is even better and every night they have a theme for dinner. Lots of activities from tennis pool table swimming board games and even excursions organised by the hotel. The staff is lovely. Would definitely come again

Helpful?
Thank Loise w
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Loise, It is always such a pleasure to have you as our guest and I cannot tell you how proud the team was to read your wonderful review.Thank you! The team sends their very best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! Yours, Sara More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a newly built hotel, this is a lie, its probably older than me. Food is not good at all and my back is still hurting from the thin matress in the rooms. Do not take the all inclusive package as the serve only the worst cheapest spirits out of plastic bottles!

Helpful?
Thank warren i
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Warren, Thank you for giving us insight into your recent stay with us. We are deeply saddened to read that your experience was less than what was expected. Regarding your point about the all inclusive package, we never received a negative comment about it as we tried to apply the right items to match all different requests. about the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! words fail me...I had a great time! Uroa Bay Beach your hospitality is on level 100! The excursion guys, SLIM & TAREEK from Indoma Tours are just too excellent and friendly...they took care of us and made sure we are safe while having fun. The tours were great, Stone Town, Spice Tour, Club Spice we danced the night away!!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ThandiWelch
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ThandiWelch, Thank you for such wonderful comments. "Service" is such a big word these days and we truly believe in rather creating experiences and meaningful relationships with our guests while they enjoy their time with us in Zanzibar. The team here is so dedicated and it makes me proud to share your kind words with them. It is both,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a warm welcome, from the moment my husband and I arrived till we had to say our goodbyes. We had perfect weather, high-tide wonderful guest around and the most friendly staff we have ever encountered. The evening entertainment was fun. Spacious rooms, big swimming pool, tanning beds on the beach and around the pool. Thank you for making our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 596aninee
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many Thanks for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review about Uroa Bay Beach Resort. All of your kind comments have been shared with the management team and staff and everybody is delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday experience in the hotel. We hope to welcome you back at the hotel again on a... More 

South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had great welcome and stay at your hotel. You made my birthday celebrations special. Slim was fantastic coordinating my excursion. Thanks for cake, staff . Staff singing for me, my room well decorated for the occasion. Me any was wonderful -kitchen Voucher to uroa blue was great. I will be back. J Mlungwana

Helpful?
Thank Juju M
uroa_bay, Front Office Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It is our real pleasure and gratitude to receive positive comments from yourself, I am so happy and proud that we succeeded to meet your expectations and we managed to make your recent holiday as enjoyable as ever. Once again, I would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us and we really are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,058 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (760)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (350)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Family Room with Garden View (65)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Triple Room with Garden View (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
10.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,347 reviews
27.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
26.7 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
15.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
392 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brand new 4 star superior resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A/C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Price Range: $101 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uroa Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Uroa Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uroa Bay Beach Hotel Uroa Village
Uroa Bay Beach Resort Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Uroa Bay Beach Resort staff and other travelers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Uroa Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All garden rooms were good”
 of 5 bubbles robinpatterson, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“choose rooms near the beach for better view”
 of 5 bubbles letza2016, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“First row seafront rooms”
  • Room 38 after being cleaned after the fire. Uroa Bay Beach Resort 2016
  • Room 38 after the fire. Uroa Bay Beach Resort August 2016
  • Our books after the fire. Room 38 Uroa Bay Beach Resort August 2016
  • Room 38 after the fire. Uroa Bay Beach Resort August 2016
  • View on the quiet pool. Uroa Bay Beach Resort August 2016
 of 5 bubbles AnnBee2006, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to reception are better as the wifi is stronger, sea view is a waste as you never spend time in the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles zoen866, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“The sea view rooms are great and all but you are in your room for a couple of hours. The garden rooms are just as awesome”
 of 5 bubbles 113angeliquep, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay