We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Uroa 2675 Tanzania
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$93
View deal
Booking.com
$73
View deal
FindHotel
$50
View deal
Travelocity$93
Hotels.com$93
Trip.com$53
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1573)
360
Panoramas (6)
Pool & Beach (513)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Updated 05/28/20

About

#3 of 14 in Uroa
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.3
Brand new 4 star superior resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A/C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
1031Reviews103Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 439
  • 398
  • 117
  • 44
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tyla-Jade wrote a review Apr 2022
South Africa2 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The hotel was beautiful the day we arrived! The food was great too until day 3 ae arrived back from booking a day tour only to find the pool half emptied and filthy, the roof of bar broken down and thw whole entertainment area was a complete construction area! Alot of the people left so the food became less and was just thrown together. Their all inclusive drinks menu was Good. It was our honeymoon and such a disappointment that the owner or manager did not inform us of this construction site and basically robbed us of 2 pool days! It also left a bitter taste in our mouths at the fact that we were left to sort out a hotel transfer and had to pack up and leave! Wish we arrived earlier to experience the full beauty of this hotel as it has alot to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, General Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, we are very sorry for the lack of notice of the works, but unfortunately the rainy period arrived early and the works consequently had to start. It is a race against time. We are very sorry that you did not spend your honeymoon with the right and desired atmosphere. But we hope you can come and visit us and enjoy your beautiful experience
Read more
Hadhri Sofiene wrote a review Mar 2022
5 contributions
Bed restaurant, insect in restaurant Very bad rooms It's was terrible Insects in rooms U can't have a second key if you are two in the room Theief of personal in restaurants They thief a phone Without light
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, General Manager at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Hello, thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination in the beginning, and thank you for writing us what you did not like. Our resort is available to all our customers and we always try to do our best to be able to meet the needs of our guests . We are sorry if your experience was not at all what you expected. We respect your opinion, also because it is subjective, we will try to miror ourselves. I would like to say, however, that the Facility used all its tools to help it recover what was lost. We are always available
Read more
Martin wrote a review Feb 2022
75 contributions38 helpful votes
We returned earlier this week from a week’s holiday at Uroa Bay. While our experience was generally very positive, some nuances must be mentioned. First, in the pre-Covid 19 era, Uroa Bay was heavily frequented by Italian tourists. Today this is not the case, as the Italian government discourages tourism to Zanzibar (incomprehensible) and the Italians have been replaced to a major extent by Polish and other Central European tourists. While in theory, this should not create any major problems, in practice it has changed visibly the general atmosphere of the resort. Polish tourists are generally badly dressed, overweight, and many overenjoh alcohol. The resort staff and the locals offering various excursions bewail the absence of Italian tourists and the loss of their tips. Let’s hope they return soon. Second, Uroa Bay is a very big resort, unsuitable for anybody looking for a more boutique experience. Third, breakfast was rather mediocre. Despite the above, Uroa Bay offers some major advantages. First, the a-la-carte restaurant is extraordinary, with superb dishes, including lobster, great South African wines, and service with a smile, even if not always fully efficient. Great value for money. Too bad the restaurant was generally empty. (absence of Italian tourists). Second, the resort is very well maintained - very clean and with excellent room service. Our ocean-view room was beautiful. The staff at the reception was generally very helpful. In conclusion, however, I will wait for the return of Italian tourists to Zanzibar before returning to Uroa Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Feb 21, 2022
Hello, thank you for your review and thank you anyway for choosing Uroa Bay, despite the absence of Italian guests. I would like to tell you that we do not discriminate, in our Resort we welcome tourists from all sides, we have Polish, Czechoslovakians, Greeks, English, Germans, Russians, French, South Africans and Italians. If you go around the Island, you will notice that there are a lot of Italians. Thanks anyway for coming back to us.
Read more
Mosidi S wrote a review Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa55 contributions28 helpful votes
Very relaxing and tranquil. The pool is really amazing. Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The spa is the best with great massages and a small boutique with snacks you can buy. Try out the tours that are offered by the team in the hotel. They are awesome, and the service is friendly Great weather WiFi in reception is really awesome Great entertainment in evening with local dancers. Great air conditioning as it’s really hot and humid
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Zanzibar is dollar based and quite expensive so be prepared to pay a lot. It’s because everything...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Jan 20, 2022
Hello, thank you for the words spent to describe in the best way almost everything that as a structure and as a family we have to offer. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed us, and we are very pleased to know that we continue to succeed in being able or trying to meet the needs of our dear guests. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
Antanas P wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
Very nice hotel with good location, very nice and friendly stuff, good food. Everything works well, also do not avoid guys on the beach offering their services for guided tours, local food or just transfers. Best recommendations for Solomon Tiger, all his service was professional and well organized. Highly recommended swimming with turtles. Unforgettably.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write us your review, but above all thank you for choosing us and being able to take advantage of everything we make available. We are glad to know that we have somehow managed to make your stay here in Zanzibar unforgettable. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
silverhippo wrote a review Dec 2021
Lapland Sweden, Sweden126 contributions13 helpful votes
This is good place many wai. No broblems.Greetings to all, I have been to this hotel twice this year and have enjoyed myself well with others. The pool is fine, with little shade, meaning the water doesn't boil during the day. Refreshing in the morning and at sunset like a warm bath. For me the breakfast was really good though it ran out at 9.30 which is too early for me. At the beach restaurant I usually ate, lovely fish. There was too much music at times because the local staff enjoyed it but when asked so quiet they did for a meal. Maybe the owners should instruct the music on dining activities. Both restaurants don’t have to compete with whose music sounds best, luckily the music was to their liking. The food was good. A good drink was a beer with 0.2l of whiskey for $ 9. The customers were Poles and South Africans of all breeds, as well as French and Hungarian, Turkish and some Scandinavians. The evening program was different / high-quality acrobatics and dance. Rooms are different and vary in price if the room is not included in your ticket price, please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for offers. The electricity works with a key, I put valuables in the safe and kept the door unlocked and the air conditioning turned on. At the entrance you can exchange tip money. Even one dollar is a big pleasure for the poor, one € a day is $ 400 a year. I paid my bill with the card and was satisfied with the exchange rate of the card. You can ask your local friends for the pool or even at night when you notify the entrance. I'll be back. old man, stil kiking
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Depending on the thickness of the wallet
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Dec 5, 2021
Hello, thank you for your review so accurate and thank you for continuing to choose us. We are glad that you have enjoyed everything we offer, the next time you come back, you will surely find changes. We like it when we see that our customers become attached to us, because the feeling becomes mutual, and thank you for leaving notes to work on.Thanks again, the Uroa Bay Family, is waiting for you.
Read more
Kathleen Hoover wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked two rooms, received a family room with 2 bedrooms and 1 bath. Resort in need of repair all over the place. 1 key per room, key operates the lights. So, very inconvenient. Buffet food is marginal at best. Very disappointing! Pictures online must be very old.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Dec 5, 2021
Hello, thank you for leaving your review and we are sorry that you did not appreciate anything that we could offer you. We tend to please people who want to have an experience in our resort, and most likely you will have been assigned a family room based on availability by having daily requests for reservations. As for the key connected to electricity, it is only to safeguard the waste of energy, in the island of Zanzibar it is usual that the current goes away. In case you want to try again an experience with us, we also have the apartments,( the key is not connected to the current). We give a key, because in case of loss we have the spare one. Our resort is very large and is not very simple, photograph every detail that is added but you are right, in the coming days we will try to highlight all that our resort has to offer to our customers and those who will come. Glad to have had you with us.
Read more
The E wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions
The standard of the resort is acceptable in terms of appearance and cleanliness. The food is average, so are the drinks. There was entertainment every evening from local performers which were very nice. Everything closes at 11pm, forcing you to sleep early which works best for older patrons or those with kids. If we were to do trip again, we will book different resorts for 2 nights to explore a number of resorts in one trip. The highlight for me was their excursion office, operated by Mohammed the best tour guide by far, I will write a separate review on him.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Do not book your entire stay here or at any one resorts, split it to experience abit of...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Dec 5, 2021
Thank you for leaving your review and thank you for choosing us and trying to live your experience in Zanzibar here with us. Our team is always improving and we always hope that our guests will come to visit us again to see our evolution. As you know, our bars start serving alcohol at 10.00 in the morning and we would never want to have to see adults then find themselves the next day to spend the day in bed, this is one of the many explanations I could give you, we care about our customers. And we also have those who are totally dedicated to customers to propose excursions and activities to do. We are pleased that our collaborator has remained close to your heart. Glad to have you at our house.
Read more
kbkhkh wrote a review Aug 2021
New Jersey26 contributions17 helpful votes
The property is on the opposite side of the more populated beaches, so it’s very quiet - which is good thing if you are looking to fully relax. There is no wifi in the rooms which means you need to be in the lobby to get electronic access. The buffet often ran out of food if you didn’t get there as soon as it opened. There wasn’t much variety in the food. If you buy an all inclusive bracelet, there are no snacks unless you buy something from the restaurant on the beach. So you are looking at being locked into a scheduled time to eat. The Safari Blue and Spice Tours is top notch. But book from a guy on the beach (they are trust worthy); the hotel is expensive. The same with airport transfer - the hotel charges $50, but someone on the beach charges $25usd. Want your hair braided or a massage, ask for Mama Zanzibar or Gloria on the beach. They do a fantastic job and their charge is more than half what the hotel charges.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Thanks for leaving such a complete review. We are sorry if our prices have not been exhaustive for you, but in addition to having a great location to have some peace, we also have people on the beach who have nice prices. Our prices we consider them right for our resort, but we accept his criticism. As for the variety of dishes and the quantity, these are aspects that we try to take care of and improve day after day. We still hope to see it again soon
Read more
Dawie T wrote a review Jun 2021
Wellington, South Africa7 contributions
+1
Very nice and neat accomodation. Food is excellent and big variety of buffets. Garden and pools very neat. Staff very friendly and helpfull. The onsite tourguides are very helpfull and provides excellent service. We enjoyed the live entertainment. Wifi in public area is a great feature. Ideal breakaway and place to make memories.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Ballardini, Direttore generale at Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Thank you for leaving a review and especially thank you for choosing us. We are very happy that what the family of Uroa Bay beach resort has to offer, has managed to fully satisfy this stay with us, hoping that it will not be the last. Knowing that our customers come home happy encourages us to do even better. We hope to see you soon
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
uroa bay beach hotel uroa village
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandUroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Uroa Bay (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Island - Pongwe Lodge Restaurant, Kambakocho Bar & Beach Restaurant, and Sai marce restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Uroa Bay Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Uroa Bay Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Uroa Bay Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mtoni Palace Ruins (7.9 miles) and Datch Excursions Zanzibar! (8.2 miles).
Does Uroa Bay Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.