We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (3403)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (345)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 resorts in Uroa
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice

See why so many travelers make Palumboreef Beach Resort their resort of choice when visiting Uroa. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as air conditioning and a mosquito net, and guests can go online with paid wifi offered by the resort.

Palumboreef Beach Resort features room service, currency exchange, and shops, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel, free parking is available.

While in Uroa be sure to experience local crab favorites at Kambakocho Bar & Beach Restaurant.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort as you experience all of the things Uroa has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Fitness classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Hiking
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Spa
Massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech, Italian and 1 more
1823Reviews262Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,131
  • 494
  • 135
  • 38
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Larisa M. wrote a review Jan 2024
Transylvania, Romania35 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
Pro: 1. We have chosen this hotel through the Touristic Agency DerTour Romania, for 7 nights with all-inclusive soft plan. This means that alcoholic drinks were offered by tax, and not for free. 2. The resort is very nice, big, very clean and full of greenery and exotic palm trees and for me that was absolute pleasure. We chose a Junior Suite type of room with garden view and a balcony 1st floor. So we had a large double bed and an extra sofa in the room. The rooms are in a traditional style not modernist, so they can be perceived as old and ugly by some people. We nice hard mattress I have to say and we liked it a lot! 3. The food was everyday fresh, diverse, with local products and meals as well. A cook was making omelettes on the spot and that was very nice as well. At breakfast there was no cheese and ham options but sausages and bacon, and this can be a deal breaker for some people. Not for us, but still…As a suggestion I would like to see in the future some extra ingredients for the omelette like: mushrooms and cheese. The diversity of pastry at breakfast was great and we have plenty to choose from: croissants, muffins, waffles, pancakes with toppings and local Zanzibar Vanilla cream! Delicious meals at dinners with local fresh fish, pastas, lasagnas, vegetables and fruits. Also sea foods: mainly calamari and octopus. The staff was kind and polite and the hotel was not understaffed. Also the staff speaks Italian, English, Spanish! 4.Congratulations to the staff who spotted a mid-age woman who took/steal 10+ muffins at breakfast and placed them in a nylon bag.She was asked to pay as this was clearly more than she was able to eat at the end of the breakfast. So dear tourist: Please behave! :) 5.We had a small Gym; during days and also in the evening there were activities and entertainment which was great. 6. The hotel is kids friendly. The swimming pool is very big and has also an area for kids. 7. WiFi: is good at the hotel in all areas not only at the reception. Cons: 1. The website is poorly made, they are few pictures only with the rooms at poor quality and those are not showing the true potential of the hotel and resort which is great! 2. City Tourist Tax: info should be added on their website! It is 5$ per person/day. Please take into account that there is a weird request regarding the US Dollars bills issued later than 20 years ago, when you take $$ with you in cash please remember that the bill must be no later than 10 years old, to avoid issues. The locals might not accept them. 3. The rooms were not equipped with mini-fridge and at this point there are 30+ degrees C and high humidity I strongly believe there is a must!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take US dollars bills in cash with you that are no older than 10 years.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Jan 7, 2024
Dear Larisa, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday with us. We are happy you loved the clean and comfortable room, the beautiful green oasis, the excellent food, and the friendly atmosphere. Thank you for your comments and recommendations. The fridge is available for a 25 USD fee per stay. The tour operators inform the guests about the city tax amount. They also inform that Zanzibar banks accept only new USD issued since 2009. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Discover23805589583 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Palumbo is exactly as advertised. Great family holiday Good views Excellent service! The beach was cleared of sea grass every day! The food was fresh and well presented Catered for every taste and preference Felt really safe during our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Take some antibiotic eardrops, as we the water affected our eats
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Dec 22, 2023
Dear Discover, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort We are happy you had a great vacation with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful greenery environment, the clean room, the delicious food, and the excellent service. We appreciate you mentioning our professional and attentive staff. We believe our kind colleagues made your stay unforgettable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen walker wrote a review Dec 2023
Warsaw, Poland6 contributions6 helpful votes
We went to Polumboreef for our honeymoon with our little baby girl. The staff were kind, caring and always wanted to know how our little girl felt (after some fever she had). The space as a whole is its own world. The island is found outside the walls. This said. The food was delicious, the chefs and staff (Fadhili) in particular went above and beyond to make the stay memorable. Thank you to Roger for the contact to the doctor and everything he did to help. To seeing you all again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Dec 19, 2023
Dear Steven, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday despite your baby girl's sickness. We are happy you enjoyed the beautiful environment, the delicious food, and the friendly atmosphere. We appreciate you mentioning our professional and attentive staff. We believe our kind colleagues made your stay unforgettable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon Sending our warm greetings to Maya and Sonia. Take care of yourselves Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cristina P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Palumboreef it is a 2 star hotel what I didnt like : -the beach was full of algae ( which are harvest by locals) - the only person to be replaced should be the manager who expected tips just to do his job( tips are for good services as a plus not a custom for rudness) -the bathroom wasnt clean because they dont use dezinfectants -the tax 5 dollars per person each day which meant another 70 euros more Good points : - the personal ( except the manager ) was doing the best -the food was good , no food poisoning during the stay Beacuse of the beach I wont be coming back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Nov 26, 2023
Dear Cristina, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort. We are happy you enjoyed the delicious food and the friendly atmosphere during your stay. It is a pity we did not receive your complaint during your stay, as we could have solved the situation and made your dream come true. Daily, the housekeeping cleans the rooms with proper equipment, disinfectants, and sanitizers. As you can see from other reviews, the guests hardly have a problem with cleaning. If the guests have a particular cleaning request, we are happy to help. Thank you for mentioning the city tax. The city taxis are visible before the final booking. The guests know exactly how much they will pay as the city tax upon arrival. We are surprised you did not know about it, as the city taxes are the same all over Zanzibar. We would like to remind the other guests reading this review that we have Kambakocho restaurant by the beach. We serve Homemade Burgers, Italian Pizza, Fresh Seafood Platter, and Signature Cocktails. You can book straight at Kambakocho Restaurant. Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
andra f wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
+1
I liked the food and this review is specialy for the chefs Mawadua Khamis and Madawa. Very nice fish and beef and all food , it is a very nice , relaxing place to be. I will add a picture of them . All people working here are simling and ask you how are you , they are so nice and polite
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Nov 22, 2023
Dear Andra, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort. We are happy you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed every part of your stay, including the delicious food and the friendly atmosphere. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JamesB wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing experience, every day there was always something new and exciting to do organized by the staff. The evenings entertainment did not disappoint, Roger always delivered. Really fun place to stay and lovely people.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: make sure you catch the evenings entertainment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear James, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort. We are happy you had a wonderful holiday with us. We are delighted you enjoyed every single part of your stay. We appreciate you mentioning your friendly staff. We believe our colleagues made you feel at home here. Thank you for your comments Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Henry wrote a review Sep 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom2 contributions
Just an amazing way to end our time in Tanzania this year. The setting and style of the hotel are stunning and this is heavily bolstered by a superb staff team. A massive shout out to Rodger and all the animators who kept everyone around the hotel entertained with their charm, dancing and energy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2023
Dear Companion, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort. We are thrilled you had a great time during your stay at our hotel. We are delighted you loved every part of your holiday, including the beautiful greenery environment, and incredible service. We believe you feel at home here. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Braydon M wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions
A beautiful hotel in an amazing area of Zanzibar. The hotel staff were perfect along with the animation entertainment group. They made the whole stay very warming! The food was great and the night amusement matched it well!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2023
Dear Braydonm, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort. We are thrilled you had a great time with us. We are delighted you loved the beautiful greenery environment, excellent food, and incredible service. We believe you feel at home here. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharon wrote a review Aug 2023
24 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a lovely evening dinner at the restaurant in this hotel. We were staying in the nearby Uora Beach Resort Hotel and had to get away from the very noisy evening music. We would have much preferred to have stayed here where the place is very tranquil and calm. The carpaccio of Octupus with Passion Fruit sauce was one of the nicest starters I ever tasted. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Lovely place to stay I think, a very calm and peaceful place to stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Dear Sharon, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to Palumboreef Beach Resort. We are delighted you had a fabulous experience at our Kambakocho Beach Restaurant. We are happy you enjoyed the delicious fresh food in a friendly atmosphere. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ami T wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff is very friendly and available. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The escursions were great and Sisco is very knowledgeable and fluent im italian and english.Omarino is great on the anmation and Shéfu is the sweetest person during mealtimes
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pablo Palumbo, Owner at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Responded May 27, 2023
Dear Amit, Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay at Paumboreef Beach Resort. We are delighted you had a relaxing vacation at our resort. We are happy you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, the island tours, and the friendly atmosphere. We appreciate your warm words describing your holiday. Thank you, indeed. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you very much Best regards Veronika, on behalf of the entire team at Palumboreef Beach Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Uroa area.
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ora resort palumbo reef hotel uroa village, ora hotel uroa village, ora hotel palumbo reef
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandUroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALUMBOREEF REEF BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Uroa, Tanzania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Uroa Bay (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kambakocho Bar & Beach Restaurant, The Island - Pongwe Lodge Restaurant, and Pongwe Beach Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mtoni Palace Ruins (8.1 miles) and Datch Excursions Zanzibar! (7.6 miles).
Does Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Palumboreef Reef Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.