We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Clarence Hotel

Traveler (45)
Room & Suite (55)
Pool & Beach (7)
About
Description
The Royal Clarence Hotel is the only hotel located on the seafront in Burnham-on-Sea. Guests can enjoy uninterrupted views across Bridgwater Bay to Wales and the North Devon coast. Our 19 en-suite bedrooms More accommodate guests in a mix of single, twin and double rooms. We have budget, standard and sea view rooms to suit most pockets. We also have 5 guest suites/apartments accommodating upto 2 adults in each. We do not accept guests under the age of 18. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
$54 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Royal Clarence Hotel Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
Location
United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel class
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
$54 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Royal Clarence Hotel Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
Location
United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
176 reviews
2.47 miles away
The Grange Hotel
20 reviews
2.57 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Sedgemoor M5
726 reviews
4.07 miles away
Batch Country House
300 reviews
4.27 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 86 nearby restaurants
Crafty Teacup Cafe
258 reviews
.13 miles away
Chandni
646 reviews
.11 miles away
Winnies Bakery
80 reviews
.15 miles away
Buonissimo
40 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 27 nearby attractions
Apex Leisure & Wildlife Park
21 reviews
.87 miles away
Burnham-On-Sea Pier
378 reviews
.09 miles away
St Andrew's Church
12 reviews
.13 miles away
Burnham-on-sea Pavillion
7 reviews
.04 miles away
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
63
74
33
23
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
63
74
33
23
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front the ritz tea and coffee budget hotel night stay room key room was clean and comfortable short stay double bed pleasant stay good nights sleep few minutes walk seafront pubs dryer
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 234 reviews
Reviewed today

Where do I start! We stayed here for one night in July and it was the worst experience. Management is unbelievably rude. He was banging our doors at 9 am telling us we need to leave but checkout wasn’t until 10. He then let himself...More

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank Gemmamellor
Response from Paul-Hotel-UK, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded today

Hello Gemma. Four of you did stay with us in two rooms. You returned to the Hotel at 2.30am this morning and proceeded to disturb several guests while you partied outside your room for the next hour. Nobody entered your room, though we certainly did...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Comfortable budget hotel great location beautiful sea view ideal for short stray break. Paul very helpful with local information only negative no towel rail in bathroom and no mirror in bedroom to use when using hair drier. But after saying the negative would stay there...More

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank glen e
Response from Paul-Hotel-UK, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded 5 days ago

Hello Glen. Thank You for your great review - I have asked my handyman to sort out the towel rail and mirror situation. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon; perhaps in our brand new apartments?

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we wanted a reasonably priced hotel on the seafront and close to town. this was delightful;. a fading once grand hotel clean and welcoming. the beds were comfy and the welcome was warm. there is no food served so you either go out and use...More

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Lindsaybrewis
Response from Paul-Hotel-UK, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Lindsay. Thank You for taking the time to write your review. You have pointed out what others have yet to discover - the friendliness of our local residents. It doesn't surprise me that a motorist stopped for you. Burnham-on-Sea is a laid back seaside...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice location on the seafront and just a few minutes walk into the town and many shops and eating places. From the outside it does not look impressive but its most welcoming and the onsuite rooms are clean and comfortable with all the usual...More

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank les559
Response from Paul-Hotel-UK, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Les. Thank You for taking the time to write your review - we really do appreciate it. Regards Paul

Reviewed June 6, 2019

Finding Burnham-on-Sea as a holiday location was great but finding this gem was even better. I had a clean modern room and by the general cleanliness around the hotel, I'd imagine other rooms to be similar. Not being local, I needed some guidance from the...More

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Jimrod1000
Response from Paul-Hotel-UK, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded June 10, 2019

Hello Jim Thank You for taking the time to write your great review and leave your 5/5 review score.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maggie W
June 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Burnham-on-Sea | Property representative |
Hi. Unfortunately due to the age and layout of the Hotel, we cannot install a lift. Our rooms on the 1st floor are accessed by one flight of std stairs with grab rails on both sides.
0
Votes
UKJohnRichard
February 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BrizzleLoz | Reviewed this property |
There is room for about 5 cars at the front of the hotel but there is plenty of parking available along the sea front
2
Votes

Room Tips

"Ask for a Sea View if one is available - Fantstic location righ across the road from the Promenade and Sea !"
DuncanA469
Oct 15, 2018
Read review
"Don't bother"
BettyBooBooBeDoo7
Aug 21, 2018
Read review
"Sea view room 15 is fab. Xxxxx"
Glenda215
Apr 22, 2018
Read review
"Room 23 - good sea view"
Angied200664
Dec 29, 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBurnham-On-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing