We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Clarence Hotel

31 The Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal Clarence Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
carlisle UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were a surprise, parts of the hotel do look like they could do with freshening up (possibly they are going to look at doing this in the future was the impression we got, the rooms look like they have just been completed) the rooms are very good, comfy bed with plenty of fresh towls left every day, wardrobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave p
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sorry, this just wasn't for me. Little things that mattered weren't there. No lamp, so full light on or none... No curtains, there was a blind but it just didn't look right, no bedside cabinets etc. The bed creaked every time you moved, gap under the door. Just didn't feel private. And to top it off there was a massive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joann M

Travelers are raving about these Burnham-On-Sea hotels

Bristol, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Awful hotel, rat running through the hallway, would not return if you paid me. Everything dirty. The view from the window was ridiculous. It looked out at a concrete slab about two metres away. The sink wouldn't drain at all.

Helpful?
2 Thank allsaints73
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Your comments are in our view defamatory. You also wrote a review for a restaurant which doesn't exist. We will be contacting you separately via our solicitor. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The room was ok, not many furnishings and what there were, was cheap. The bathroom was new, which was nice, but done on the cheap again. The shower was either scalding hot or cold, could not get right for approx. 15 mins. There was a paper bath mat. Toilet paper was extremely thin. The blinds did not fit the window... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah902102014
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your value stay with us. Rooms have been refurbished and many have had brand new bathrooms fitted - I can assure you they were not done cheaply. We provide budget rooms which are very clean, with quality linens and free toiletries in the bathrooms. Paper Bath Mats cost 10p each as opposed... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Booked another long weekend at the Clarence, good value. We stayed in room 10 which is one of the newer rooms, very good. It would benefit from having a restaurant, but that said there are many good eatery place's very close at very reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind words Colin. We look forward to welcoming you again shortly. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

No security on doors, someone gained access our room during the night, female owner cold and moody, smokes in the reception area, no children allowed, just as well really, everything dirty. Owners overcharged my card, no refund, not trusted.

Helpful?
2 Thank John S
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

People unfriendly beach sinking sand . Charged a cleaning fee when I left the place spotless. Electric lights next to bed hanging of wall. No atmosphere, no community no seaside lights events. Food locally rubbish. Would never recommend to anyone .

Helpful?
5 Thank katiemickb
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Cleaning human faeces from the shower tray is not part of our housekeepers duties - that is the reason for the additional cleaning charge. We do try our best as a Hotel but alas we don't cook the food in the local eateries, nor do we have a say on seaside lights (especially in August when you stayed). We don't... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

We arrived at this hotel in the afternoon and had to find someone in the bar to show us to our room and we were asked to pay on checkin as noone would be available in the morning. No breakfast is provided but there is an enclosed verandah overlooking the sea that is available for breakfast use. There is a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MickeyMouse955
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for leaving your review. As soon as you book, we email an information sheet which explains how to check-in, together with info on the Hotel and area. Check-In is at the bar as directed. We welcome a huge number of business travellers who need to get away quickly in the morning. Therefore, we take payment at the time... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

I booked this hotel on a tight budget for the location, so for the price, I had fairly low expectations. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The staff were friendly. My room was extremely clean and had what seemed to be a newly installed ensuite shower room that I was not expecting. Nice fluffy white towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacqui203
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for writing your review. It is our business model to offer clean, comfortable rooms at the lowest prices possible. We aren't a 5* Hotel but we don't charge 5* rates. As you have found, our rooms are great value for money. More 

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

not sure why there are bad reviews of this hotel, we arrived late at night, staff courteous and showed us our rooms, what a surprise we had room 8 and our friends 10, both had been newly refurbished to very high standard, very clean room double glazed so no road traffic noise, it is 100% better than when we stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank UncleSpud57
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for leaving your review - it is appreciated by us all. We are pleased that you noticed the huge improvements made and enjoyed your stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Burnham-On-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#7 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Huntspill
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Rest
Knights Rest
#8 of 12 in Burnham-On-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay