We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (2867)
Pool & Beach (593)
Room & Suite (271)

About

#7 of 41 Specialty lodging in Kós
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blue Lagoon Resort is a hotel complex with 662 guestrooms. The hotel has been renovated during the winter 2015-2016. This all inclusive hotel is situated in Lambi, only 75m from the sandy/shingle beach, 2 km from the centre of Kos town, 1.5 km away from the nearest shopping area and 22 km from the airport. The facilities at the Blue Lagoon Resort include the Nisos buffet restaurant, the Mythos Greek buffet restaurant, the Mesogios restaurant, the Athina Pool restaurant, the Chinese restaurant as well as the Italian a' la carte restaurant with adults only section. Have an exotic drink at one of the numerous bars; the Pool bar, the Piano bar with live music, the Lounge and Animation bar or at any of the others waiting for you. If you long for something sweet, visit the pancake station at the main pool island or at the Waterpark. The resort offers room facilities for everyone; no matter if you travel with friends, as a couple or a family.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Adult pool
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3,350Reviews
693Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,673
  • 930
  • 466
  • 175
  • 106
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a huge resort. Lots of walking to get around but that means a great choice of place to sit and relax, a wonderful main swimming pool, in fact I think it's the best I've ever seen. Other smaller quieter pools too. Plenty of places to choose to go for something to eat. The beach is on the other side of the main road. We did go to have a look but it was very windy in September and the beach was like a small strip with sharp stones when you try to get into the sea. You can cycle from this resort into Kos but as it was so hot we took the bus. Kos itself is a pretty place with several interesting ruins etc to visit. Our only criticism would be that we paid a lot for a week all inclusive but for any named drinks you had to pay extra so all the drinks are local spirits. I would definitely go back to this hotel for a relaxing week in the sun.
Read more
We arrived at 8:30pm. On arrival we had to wait for ages until check in, not enough staff and no welcome drinks. After all that they gave us the wrong room 4 beds in a row with hardly any gaps between even though our confirmation said a 2 bedroom family room, the reception staff were very unhelpful, It was resolved the next afternoon thanks to Tui, but still annoying! You have to pay €25 for a safe, this is not refundable!! Breakfast was awful!!! every morning and lunch the buffet food was just about warm and sometimes cold. Not enough different food for children to choose from. Restaurants were ok, but we ended up eating at the town quite a few nights. Cleaning wasn’t to great either, tables around pool were always sticky and dirty, room wasn't cleaned only made beds and changed towels. Complained to manager of hotel regarding the food and cleanliness and he was very argumentative. The animation team were fantastic, lots of entertainment throughout the day and evening, the kids loved them!! The bell boys were also very helpful, hardworking and provided a very good service. This hotel was just very disappointing should be advertised as 3*. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Read more
Decided to spend one day at this beautiful all inclusive resort. Big shout out to Luke Buckingham for his great organisational skills. He organised our beach volleyball, water volleyball and water polo really professionally. The entertainment team were awesome, Brogan, Jasmine, Luke, Josh etc, etc. they really do make this place very special.
Read more
Booked this holiday through Tui as it appeared within our search results for a minimum 4-star rating. Also found a Facebook page for the resort which we thought would be handy for hints and tips as well as feedback from other guests. More about this later... One post seemed to suggest ignoring any negative reviews left on here as the resort was amazing. Curiosity got the better of us and we soon found ourselves trying to find an alternative holiday to swap into. The reviews were very unnerving, but, we eventually decided to stick with our choice, thinking that people only tend to leave a review only if they have something negative to say... how wrong we were. Anyway, onto the holiday itself... we arrived at the resort after a journey on a hot coach (very poor aircon). No welcome drink or anything, which is what we would expect from a 4/5 star resort. Check-in was relatively painless, probably because it was during the day so staff levels were better, unlike some of the other reviews I've read. Room key collected and a short buggy ride to block 5000, we arrived at our room, a 1 bedroom with pool view (paid extra for this over the sea view because the road was also on that side. View was lovely, quieter end of main pool from our balcony, small water park pool from our front door. That's the only positive I'm afraid. The room itself was very dated. Furniture was old and worn out. There was a distinct lack of storage (1 drawer between 4 people) 1 wardrobe with about 10 hangers. Not enough for a 2 week stay. Bathroom was tired and the drain in the floor kicked up a sewage smell every now and then. We had an aircon issue where it squealed pretty much constantly. Many engineer visits were made but they never fixed the issue properly. We're pretty laid back and will accept these things can't be helped but by day 11, we snapped. Our Tui rep was brought in to deal with the hotel as we clearly couldn't. On a day that we spent away from resort, we were promised a room change was being arranged so at least we could have a couple of decent sleeps. We returned from our excursion to be told they knew nothing about it. Luckily our rep was there and sorted it but the room was right on the edge of the resort, behind the entertainment tent and I'll be honest, it felt like a room they'd move rowdy guests that had been complained about. It would have been nicer and surely more appropriate to offer us a room upgrade instead. We were just made to feel punished for complaining and causing an inconvenience. Again, not what we expect from a 4/5 star hotel. Food was disappointing in all restaurants really. This is another thing that was raved about on the Facebook page and got me quite excited, being a big food fan! The Chinese was mentioned as the best ever - couldn't get further from the truth if you tried. Everything was beige, boring, bland and badly battered. So badly, the batter was raw and inedible. Our waiter was keen to push the chargeable drinks but when we declined, we were ignored and made to feel unwelcome. The pool restaurant and Nisos offered nightly themes such as Mexican, Indian, International etc. Apart from an occasional OKish dish, the rest was your usual hard potatoes, hard veg, stuffed tomatoes blah blah blah... the Italian restaurant was poor. A good selection of buffet starters and desserts, but the main needed to be ordered from a menu. Not only did my rack of lamb take forever to arrive, but it was overcooked and mostly bone and gristle. Such a shame. Mithos was by far my favourite restaurant, mainly for the less chaotic atmosphere and lovely views across the sea. The food made it to slightly above average here. This was also the restaurant that appeared to feed wedding parties. Now, I'm not sure of the exact setup for weddings here but guests were taking food from the buffet along with us mere mortals. If this was my wedding, I wouldn't be happy with sharing with other guests. I'd want waiter service and a specific menu. It seemed a bit of a funny setup, in my opinion. Now, back to this Facebook page... We posted a number of times during our visit. The first couple were positive. Then when we started to see cracks, we thought we'd share our experience and then noticed that our less positive posts were not being accepted. Shortly after, the admin for this page defended her decision and promptly turned comments off for that so nobody could respond! Very blinkered and biased if you ask me. Not to mention a bit pointless. I guess I'm just miffed as I was sucked into the hype this page seems all too keen to promote. Don't be fooled, people! This place isn't the amazing, faultless place you are led to believe it is! I certainly will not be recommending it to anyone anytime soon.
Read more
Response from MBN847, Sales Executive at Blue Lagoon Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear laurasX8120CO, Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us and for choosing Blue Lagoon Resort. We regret to hear that we didn’t manage to meet all of your expectations regarding your holiday. We apologize that the issue in the room could not be fixed. However, we proceeded with a room change as soon as the occupancy allowed this and offered you a compensation for the inconvenience. Regarding the food, we believe that we provide good quality and a wide variety of food to choose from, offering something to satisfy everybody’s taste and we are glad you appreciated the quietness and the quality in Mythos Restaurant. Please be assured that we value all our guests’ comments and we take them seriously in order to improve ourselves. We thank you once again for your comments and we wish you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back in our of our hotels. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Read more
There are many good things about this resort but we had a bumpy start when we arrived and there is a lot you need to know before to make this stay great. When we arrived we arrived late at night and check in took quite a while. When shown to our room we were underwhelmed, it really wasn't that nice, pictures made it look much nicer. We also awoke to find the 'sea view' we had booked was merely the corner of the sea from one side of the balcony. That morning we went to the TUI welcome talk and spoke to one of the reps about our concerns. She explained to us that any room that you can see the sea from is classed as sea view. So be aware of this when booking. We were not happy and she agreed to try and move us to a front facing sea view. The next day we were then shown the new room and moved and the room was nicer. But we then had two twin beds and as a couple this wasn't ideal as they moved apart from each other. The rooms all need updating and some only have half bath tubs in which are useless. The resort its self is huge. We took some time our first morning to have a walk around using the map they give you. There are golf cart things to take you around but they are really unreliable. But this allowed us to work out where everything was. We found the adults only pool and this is where we spent all of our time. The main pool is super noisy and they others have kids running around everywhere. The adults pool is super and the guy working at the bar was outstanding. His service was impeccable. Bringing drinks to your sun loungers and remembering what you like to order. Having this pool was amazing as we went away to relax and this pool allowed us to do so. The food is one of the main things to get your head around. There three a la carte restaurants all require bookings. if you aren't aware of this by the morning of your first trip and the app doesn't work you have to eat at the pool restaurant. The quality of food here is poor. Chewey meat and not many options. This is also where all the families ate so it was really really loud and busy. I would stay clear of here. We ate lunch at the satellite pool which was quiet and the service was amazing. For dinner we ate at the Italian twice and the Chinese twice. Both times the food was really good. For a five star hotel the food should be better. The alcoholic drinks were average. If you like cocktails with 50% cheap alcohol in then this place is for you. We tries all of the 8/9 cocktails and found a good three or four. The bar by the reception is lovely in the evening and the girl that worked there was also amazing. She remembered out drinks and was super polite, she always gave us a warm welcome. I would only come back here if I was to stay in the adults only section as walking from each end to the other everyday became tedious. But the location is great. We didn't use the beach as the sea was so rough when we went. But you can get into Kos town in 5 minutes by bus (only 2 euros). Defiantly recommend Kos town, theres so much going on there! We used the spa and had a couples massage which was really good but expensive. Overall my bad points were the outdated room, quality of some of the food, a really rude young male waiter in the Chinese who I was really unimpressed with, the choice of drinks and that it had been marketed as a couples holiday when the resort is more for families. Good points are the amazing staff, pools are crystal clean, a la carte food and how clean the hotel is.
Read more
Response from MBN847, Sales Executive at Blue Lagoon Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mrs. Drennan, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays and for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad to read that you liked many aspects in the hotel and that you found the Adults only area which was according to your needs and expectations. We are happy that you gave us the opportunity to rectify the issue with the room in order to make your stay more enjoyable. In regards to your comments about the food, we are glad to read you had the opportunity to try the full selection of our restaurants and that among these you found the meals to your taste. Kindly note that guests who do not wish to use the hotel application can also book the a la carte restaurants with our guest relation. We are pleased that you appreciated the hotel grounds and our staff and service and we hope to welcome you back in one of our hotels. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $1,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue lagoon hotel kos townblue lagoon reort kósluca blue lagoon kosluca blue lagoon resort
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanDodecaneseKósKos Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
662
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing