We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,177: English reviews
Risca
Reviewed today NEW

We went for my husband's company christmas party. As I am disabled we went down a day early(thursday) and stayed an extra night after the party(Sunday). The room was clean. That is the nicest thing I can say about it. The bed was worn out to the point you could feel and see the wire and the springs through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shazzade
Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Meeting room basically fine, not too forthcoming with tea and coffee. Lunch in hotel restaurant not good at all. Fairly impenetrable lumps which I believe were baked potatoes, grated cheese or coleslaw to adorn. Pitiful sandwiches and wraps, and an unusual 'hot' selection. Just avoided that after checking it, and seeing a colleague's plate. Restaurant staff seemed a little busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handif
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here on Saturday night. Check in was a little slow, but the staff were friendly and welcoming. My room was large and well appointed, if a little dated. It was clean and comfortable. I had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the service. I was woken at 5.30 on Sunday morning by the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marty686
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Return visit again to Cedar Court whilst visiting relatives and friends in Wakefield. Having previously lived locally until 2014 I know the area well and remember working in the area when this hotel was built! Once again I was warmly greeted on reception by Stephen who, again assisted me to my room with my luggage after a long journey. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ABC123Wakefield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has had complete overhaul, and what a difference it has made. First class staff and service, room well furnished and quite large. very clean. The meal choice was excellent and buffet breakfast great. Ample free parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel and bedrooms are very tired. The food in the restaurant is superb. The changing rooms in the leisure centre were very small and the Jacuzzi was not working. Need to take towels with you or else you have to pay a laundry charge, this was not explained at check in. Rooms were not ready at 2.00p.m. for check-in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlie h
James L, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear charlie h, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed that you were not entirely happy with your stay. We are always investing in our hotel and have just refurbished one stairwell and are starting 23 bedrooms on the 12th December with a further 24 in January 2017. We look forward to welcoming...

Lincolnshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel for one night and must admit the reviews nearly put me off. I half wish they had! On arrival I was pleasantly surprised by the entrance to this hotel and reception. It looked impressive. I was initially given room 309 which I was disappointed to see had two single beds. I haven't slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlakeLincolnshire
James L, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear FlakeLincolnshire, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed that you were not entirely happy with your stay. We are always investing in our hotel and have just refurbished one stairwell and are starting 23 bedrooms on the 12th December with a further 24 in January 2017. We look forward to welcoming you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Regularly stay here one or two times each year and I have been highly critical of their Executive Rooms (£85 ppn including breakfast) as they need urgent refurbishment. This has now been completed for some rooms and the improvement is first class. I particularly welcomed the bathroom which had a large safety handle in the right position to aid getting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian M
James L, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear Brian M, Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your refurnished bedroom, you will be thrilled to learn that we are in the process of starting a refurbishment programme of a further 47 bedrooms which will be complete by mid February. I sincerely hope that we will have the...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

tea was tasty and very well set out , BUT, we were sat in a large room where they were doing corporate a lunch .and there was a lot of people on computers , It was like having your nice tea ,in an office , Could be better sited , there are plenty of rooms . It was very impersonal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60goldengirl
James L, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear 60goldengirl, Thank you for your feedback following your recent afternoon tea with us. I was pleased that you found your afternoon tea well laid out and tasty but disappointed that you were unhappy with your surroundings, it’s a shame that you were not able to take a table in the lounge as I am sure that you would have...

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to a tribute night with four other couples on a works night out .Reception staff were very polite and welcoming.Had booked a superior room , the room given to us was certainly NOT a superior one , cobwebs , dust greeted us . After speaking to reception, it was discovered that there had been a mix up .. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geraldinewalker
James L, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear geraldinewalker, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you found the staff to be friendly, customer service for me is everything. We are in the process of refurbishing 50 bedrooms, which I am sure you will find much more to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Executive Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calder Grove
3.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
849 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Price Range: $48 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles shazzade, today | Read review
“Asked for a quiet room and were given one overlooking the car park. Make sure it is not between 1-24.”
 of 5 bubbles 602charlieh, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Try and get there early, especially near Christmas to ensure a safe place for your car.”
 of 5 bubbles 419ChristopherB, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We had a family room which was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles l0rrainevirginiaw, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Try the Premier Inn the other side of the M1”
 of 5 bubbles alexpresland, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay