We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais

Save
Share
D54 Route de Luche, 72800 Le Lude France
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (300)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (45)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais
Updated 08/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Le Lude
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Former paper recently renovated nineteenth century is a nature destination that combines comfort and tradition. You are assured of a warm welcome for you to spend a relaxing moment in the campaign and make your stay unforgettable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
742Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 204
  • 275
  • 139
  • 88
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CloistersBucks wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom174 contributions110 helpful votes
Over priced and short of facilities - really beautiful setting. Lacks the quality given price point. It has every potential to be perfect but feels like they don’t quite care about the quality and service necessary to make us welcome. Eg the air conditioning in the rooms doesn’t work, didn’t four years ago either, quality of breakfast so so. No shampoo and conditioner in the room. Drains smell awful in the four rooms our group stayed in. It is very expensive for what it is but small changes would make it much better. The restaurant used to be perfect. Sadly not on this occasion. Some staff very nice - the receptionist is lovely and helpful. Not much so the English/French speaking person. Very very expensive to take a taxi into the Lude. The spa was good and well prices for what it is.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Take your time paying the bill, don’t stay in rooms 1-4
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent Bruneau, Directeur général at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir, We have read all your feedback and we sincerely regret your negative rating following this stay. Our historic building on the Loir River is, as you say, "a truly magnificent setting" where it is good to relax and unwind next to century-old trees. The team is delighted that you have appreciated this aspect as well as its kindness, but remains frustrated not to know you fully satisfied with our services. The rates we offer correspond to what we provide to our guests on site: a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with of course shampoos available in the shower, a gourmet restaurant, a relaxing wellness area... We are sorry to read your impressions and your feedback on our breakfast, which is nevertheless made up of a complete assortment so that everyone can enjoy it. Regarding what you mention about the cab, finding one the day before for the next day in our area and especially for 8 people is quite complicated. We thank you for having perceived our potential to be "perfect" in your eyes, but we are still surprised, because when you left you didn't mention anything to us, it's a real pity. Sylviane and Vincent, owners Domaine de la Courbe*** (+33) 2 43 94 88 75
Read more
Go799946 wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions15 helpful votes
We have been staying here for the last 3 days. Would highly recommend. Within easy distance of the chateaux de La Loire. All the staff have been friendly including reception staff serving staff and management. Nothing is too much trouble. Complementary cycles to get around the local area. Pretty little villages to see nearby. The food is very nice and plenty of it. Very reasonably priced. Would definitely re visit. Merci Beaucoup! Andrew and Tracey xx
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Glenda R wrote a review Sep 2021
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom19 contributions10 helpful votes
The whole hotel is locked until 3.00PM you are not allowed onto the premises before then. There is nobody there apart from a French Gardener. Checkout is 11.00 am - they were banging on the door at 10.15 asking when we were leaving The Jacuzzi was filthy. Brown liquid all around the sides (clearly someone had not showered before entering) but the hot tub had not been cleaned for a while. There was a skim on top of the hot tub water. Only one bottle of water in the room - not two One large coffee cup and one tiny one (like an expresso) - did not match No milk The meal was disgusting. Two tough, grisly pieces of steak I would not serve to a dog. I did complain and they gave us some veal instead which was fine. Frozen strawberries in a syrup for dessert which had not been defrosted. I was told that the Chef was new, from Asia, and that he should have been sacked a while ago for his sub standard cooking and lack of knowledge of French cuisine. When I complained he had already gone home. We had an English waitress who was very helpful and friendly but clearly they were all stressed out and could not cope with the amount of guests. The French waitress was quite rude and abrupt. The food at Breakfast was good as we got there at 9.15. For anyone who got there after us very little was replenished, no eggs, ham, cheese etc. By 9.30 nothing was replenished and Breakfast is served until 10.00 - so thank goodness we had sufficient to eat. A very rude Breakfast waitress who was banging and making a terrible noise clearing the tables. She was miserable and clearly did not want to be there. All the customers noticed her attitude. Everyone scrambling over each other in a tiny room to get to the breakfast. Not sure why they don't have breakfast in the restaurant ? The room they served it in was far to small for the number of guests. However, our room was clean and had a lovely view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent Bruneau, Directeur général at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Dear Glenda R, I just want you to know that I am disappointed that you did not find in my establishment what you were looking for. Of course the Domaine is not as you describe it, you make such a caricature that you lose all credibility. If it hadn't been about my hotel, I would have laughed at it because it sounds like an episode of Fawlty Towers, but your words hurt because they are unfair and disrespectful to the staff. Thank you for saying that the room was clean and had a nice view. Sylviane and Vincent, owners Domaine de la Courbe***
Read more
Stuartmcl60 wrote a review Jul 2019
Horsham, United Kingdom156 contributions72 helpful votes
We spent a week here in late July. Our room overlooked the Loire. The rooms are large and very clean. The hotel is very well run and nothing was too much for the proprietors. The restaurant is very good - very well cooked French food. We had plants of choice and the wine list is excellent. There is a good pool and lovely grounds which are quite extensive running next to the river. It’s a great spot to explore the Loire if you are prepared to drive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
adamay23 wrote a review Jul 2018
Lymington, United Kingdom157 contributions96 helpful votes
note the location is the Loir not Loire, a few minutes from La Fleche in an idyllic very peaceful location The traditional rooms are excellent very large and airy with beautiful views over to the river or garden, The superior rooms with a/c in the main building are also excellent but do not have the greatest of outlook from the windows. The host Monsieur Bruneau is very kind and helpful for local information. The restaurant was very good offering French cuisine with varied menus and prices. The cider and wine lists were also extensive. When the Spa refurbishment is complete this hotel will be a perfect destination for those who seek peace and quiet with a good cuisine, All the staff were very good from the ladies who cleaned the hotel and rooms, reception and restaurant staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent B, Gérant at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais
Responded Aug 21, 2018
Thanks :)
Read more
Aequitas6 wrote a review Jun 2018
Scotland, United Kingdom242 contributions191 helpful votes
Over the years I have often stayed in Relaise du Silence hotels, mid range, usually in pleasant surroundings and often with good restaurants. Just passing through France en route to Spain, as we are, means you don’t necessarily get the best out of them, their facilities or the surrounding area. We thought we could make more of this as we planned a shorter day driving. They have both an indoor and outdoor pool, we opted for the indoor one and it was very nice with a steam room as well. There were loungers around the outside pool and it did look inviting on a hot summers day. The building has been an old paper mill in a number of buildings quite tastefully and cleverly converted though disjointed so that you need to go outside to the pools, bar, reception and restaurant. Room 2 was large and spacious being a family room but generous for 2. It was quite nice but had poor soundproofing such that lying in bed you could clearly here the guy next door at his toilet, not good. The biggest problem however was the heat. There was no air conditioning and it was far too hot. Outside the window was a stagnant pond with mosquitoes buzzing around so we opted to keep the windows closed. As a result we had a very poor nights sleep. Overall the facilities were reasonable at a reasonable cost. We had dinner in the restaurant and generally the food was good and reasonably priced. The menu was limited and there was no carte blanch only set menus. Service was ok but let down by the waiter who said he spoke English but just not to a good enough standard so there were a few mixed messages. The main problem was that they were completely unable to provide my coeliac wife with any gluten free bread. This is a very poor show indeed in this day and age and shows how out of touch some places are. We were told they wouldn’t have any at breakfast either so we skipped it. Overall some good points but a few bad negatives. If you were here and it wasn’t too hot or you don’t mind mosquitoes you might have a better experience. If they had AC and gf bread I would have rated them VG but a poor nights sleep, lack of soundproofing and inadequate provision of food has to drag them down.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NR-Miami wrote a review Jun 2018
Miami Beach, Florida116 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
Charming location found in an old paper mill where you will find a clean and well maintained hotel laid out across a number of buildings and set out in a lush environment. Family run facility where the proprietors are on site and show their pride and hospitality to each and every guest.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent B, Gérant at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais
Responded Jul 7, 2018
Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you soon in our establishment.
Read more
shbaieb wrote a review May 2018
Paris, France19 contributions1 helpful vote
we spent 2 nights. room called la la fontaine that is more of a garage transformed into one more room for extra revenue ! Waiting for 15mn before getting a table for breakfast everyday. except the restaurant that is very good at dinner times, this place is supposed to host 10-15 rooms max with its staffing and infrastructure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
C W wrote a review Aug 2017
Marlborough, United Kingdom56 contributions23 helpful votes
Previous reviews by others have commented on the limited menu and items not being available. This echoes our experience too. Which is a shame because it's a beautiful place in a lovely quiet location on the edge of the Loir river. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and a good breakfast with lots of choice was on offer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
787marieke wrote a review Aug 2017
Utrecht9 contributions1 helpful vote
Highly recommend this place. Very nice area, beautiful site at the Loire river. Also the small villages are very nice to visit, all the castles are beautiful and impressive. The hotel has an excellent restaurant with nice and professional staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FrancePays de la LoireSartheLe Lude
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais
Which popular attractions are close to Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Nearby attractions include Chateau du Lude (2.9 miles), Église Saint Vincent (2.9 miles), and Eglise Saint-Martin (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Conveniently located restaurants include Auberge du Port des Roches, Rose and Crown, and La renaissance.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Église Saint Vincent (2.9 miles) and Eglise Saint-Martin (2.6 miles).
Is Domaine de la Courbe, The Originals Relais accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.