We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ostan Loch Altan

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Gortahork, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ostan Loch Altan
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here recently for the first time, difficult to get to, but worth the trip, the local scenery is beautiful. It is a nice inexpensive hotel with very pleasant staff and good hot food. As it is winter time the bedroom and bathroom were cold even though the heating was on, and the bed felt damp, not a great nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here recently for a family wedding, although we hadn't booked to stay we were able to get a room late in the evening. The lady we spoke to at reception was lovely and very helpful and checked us in without any issues. Unfortunately the room we were given was extremely cold, we checked the radiators in the room but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gráinne D
Crumlin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent two days midweek at this hotel. The staff were superb. I couldn't praise them highly enough. Excellent guide book available at reception produced by the manager. This is so informative and interesting that it deserves to be published. This was our first visit to the hotel but certainly won't be our last.

Helpful?
Thank Tommy-Lamb1954
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your first visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the level of service and attention provided by the staff. They are all sourced locally and they take great pride in their local hotel,... More 

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Just returned from a weekend in Ostan Loch Altan The hotel is spotless The staff are excellent and the food beautiful Our room was cosy We will return in the near future.We were with another couple and we all enjoyed our break.

Helpful?
2 Thank Vincynorthernireland
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your visit to Gortahork and to Ostán Loch Altan. Thank you for the kind remarks about the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms. Our house keeper, Rose, was very pleased to read your comments. Thank you also for your praise of the staff. They are all... More 

Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

stayed in front bar to have meal......foyer looked nice but was too cold...friendly service .....really enjoyed the food.....nice atmosphere..... quiet but really enjoyed the late music. Local beaches are a must visit if you get the weather.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Ostán Loch Altan. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the staff and the friendly service. The foyer can be a little cold in the winter time but it is soon due to be refurbished and the upgrading of the insulation will be a priority. Yes, we have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Just back from a wild and cold weekend stay at this hotel , while the hotel was nicely presented we found that our room was unusually cold , I dont usually enjoy a lot of heat but when we arrived at our hotel at 4 pm on a wet and wild friday afternoon our room was so cold I had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Angela mc v
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I regret that you found your room to be cold on that wet and windy weekend in November. When I investigated the matter I found that the noise and the rattling was caused by the air trapped in the radiators. This trapped air also caused the radiators to be only partially heated and the consequent coldness in your room. The... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Just back from a two night weekend break for my birthday. The hotel was very clean, our room was so cosy, warm, spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was amazing. The portions were big and it was served quickly and promptly by the ever helpful staff. Overall a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mairead G
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to the village of Gortahork. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you hope to return at another time. The housekeeper and her staff are very pleased at your kind comments about the rooms.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at half four checked in. Checked this hotel on booking.com and it said it was booked out. Decided to look at hotel itself and booked in using hotel site. My partner was unaware hotel was there. We were in Gorkahork in 2013 and never noticed hotel. Food was fabulous and reasonably priced in the bar. Staff were great very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Osán Loch Altan apart from the lateness of the musical entertainment. In Donegal and in most other counties it is pointless to start the music until at least 10 o clock as the locals only begin to arrive at that point and are often disappointed if it... More 

belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Enjoyable weekend with my husband at this hotel. Room was spotless and big - and great with fi access. The staff are attentive and friendly and the food is very good indeed. Unfortunately the hotel was freezing cold on Friday and only a little better on Saturday. We had asked that the gas fire be lit in the reception /... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastKeentraveller
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a fair and balanced review of your visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. I am very pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and clean and that you availed of the free WIFI access. I am delighted that you were so lavish of your praise of the staff,... More 

ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We booked a Living Social deal for 3 nights bed & breakfast planning to cycle in the area. We don't really need much as long as a hotel is clean & comfortable & has somewhere safe to store the bikes. Our expectations were exceeded in every area, staff, room & food. (breakfast was fab) We were out all day on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sugarcube20
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Go raibh míle maith agat as an tuairaisc breá fabhrach a scríobh tú ar do thuras go Gort a' Choirce agus go Ostán Loch Altan agus tá súil againn tú a fheiceáil ar ais arís go luath. Yes, Irish is the first language of the hotel but we welcome all our guests, irreespective of the language they choose to speak.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gortahork
6.0 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
10.2 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
7.9 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
12.1 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
12.9 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities