We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Fuessner-Joechle-Strasse 5 Tannheimertal in Tirol, Gran 6673 Austria
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$345
eDreams$345
Agoda.com$344
Tripadvisor$345
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (78)
Dining (41)
Room & Suite (33)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Gran
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, ich möchte gerne zu meinen bestehenden Einträgen noch einen hinzufügen Der Kleine Laden im Hotel Sonnenhof (Shopping) weiß aber nicht mehr wie es geht. Bitte um Hilfe Danke Rainer Müller
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, German
196Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 141
  • 43
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
FarAway404036 wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
In theory a nice hotel but too many things lacking or wrong to recommend staying with small children. Baby bed had several railings missing so we had to wedge our suitcase alongside it to stop the baby from falling out. Repeatedly asked to change dirty baby bed sheet but they didnt and in the end just put a clean sheet over the dirty one. No high chair available in restaurant meaning baby had to sit and be fed in maxicosi on chair (dangerous!). Childrens corner is next to unprotected fireplace with glass panel. Dinner takes far too long up until about 9pm to get dessert which is a disaster when travelling with small children/babies. Lunch was limited to one, non-vegetarian meal option and was not tasty. One dinner option was marked wrongly as vegetarian on menu. Safe in cupboard was broken and the door stuck out into the room just above eye height so perfect for walking into. Cleaning lady dumped everything off bed and one day even some off floor(!) into the baby bed so she could unecessarily make a pretty pattern with bedclothes (despite frequent asking not to). Also left a dirty cloth hanging from baby bed one day. Really loud repeated banging sounds close to room everyday at 10am disturbed baby's morning nap. Needless to say the holiday was stressful at this hotel and we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from RainerMueller2014, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenhof
Responded Sep 8, 2019
Dear guests, I am very sorry that we could not completely satisfy you. They had during the vacation with us in the hotel also very positive about many things. We have already received your critical feedback during the stay. I am happy to deal with the criticisms mentioned here on the internet. It is true that we do not always have vegetarian food with the included lunch snack, but we always have a vegetarian alternative, if the large selection of salads for lunch buffet is not enough. We are happy to fulfill your desire for a warm vegetarian lunch. I ask for your understanding that the maid used to put clothes on the cot's grille while cleaning, which was certainly not the best place. However, the floor, the couch and also the parent beds were covered with clothes. She had put the clothes over the cot so she could clean the room. Another place would have been better. I apologize for that. They had heard loud pops - unfortunately I can not judge afterwards where they came from. "The hotel does not have high chairs". I can not agree here. We have 12 high chairs in different sizes. The prepared baby chair not used and the baby rather in Maxi Cosi fed. It is correct that we have no seesaw. I take your criticism as an opportunity to get baby rockers. Thank you for your feedback and the praise you made to us at the hotel during your holiday. Best regards Christina Müller
Read more
jehanjones wrote a review Feb 2017
Stuttgart, Germany4 contributions3 helpful votes
My family and I stayed at charming Hotel Sonnenhof for only one night in February 2017. The food was amazing. We had a five course dinner and each plate was tasty and beautiful. Our kids food could have been better. They had chicken and steak fries (there was one other option but it wasn't appealing to them), but they loved the salad bar (which my husband called the best salad bar he's had in recent years and my husband has an obsession with salads, he has at least one a day). Breakfast was extra special. I'm not really into buffets, but I did want to stay and eat and get a second or third plate (but alas apparently we were there to be outside and I only had one plate). I'm a bit of a tea snob and I could have sat in front of the organic, loose tea selection all day. The even had various types of organic sugar and honey including different types of sugar rocks (I know there's a fancy name for it, but that's what we call it). Lunch was okay...pasta, various breads, various hard dried meat, and the fantastic tea selection!!! Our room was super cozy. My six year old begged for us to stay in a hotel that was glass instead of wood (old, musty, woodsy = bad; new, shiny, glassy = good)....but he loved this hotel. I wish I had a larger duvet (I would love to move around more in bed and not fill trapped in a straight line under my single body duvet), but that is the European way. We had plenty of room in our place (one bed room, one bathroom, den) for two adults, two kids, and one dog. Lots of bonuses: The hotel had a glass elevator that looks out into the snow peaked hills and lots of charm. And it was so pretty! The owners are very down to earth and seem to care about each customer. It's great to be around people who really want you there and really want to go out of their way to make you happy. My kids loved the indoor pool. I went for a winter, snowy walk, while they had fun in the pool and loved strutting around in their kid size robes. The hotel also gave us kid shampoo/soap for them. We paid a tiny dog fee and they offered to let us take our dog to dinner (uh no, he's not a German trained dog, he's not even American trained, no training at all). We got discounts on ski school for the kids. The area was a bit crowded when we arrived Saturday. We went sledding Saturday and did skiing Sunday. it cleared out 70% on Sunday. It was worth the money and we will come back to ski again and visit during the spring/summer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Easy ski vacation/Great hotel on slopes/ Good for family and Foodies
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rainer M, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenhof
Responded Feb 11, 2017
Liebe Jehan, herzlichen Dank für Ihre ausführliche Beschreibung und Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns so gut gefallen hat und Sie und Ihre Familie bald wieder zu uns kommen werden. Beste Grüße Christina Müller
Read more
123Ingrid2016 wrote a review Sep 2016
Djursholm, Sweden2 contributions
We were staying in the village of Grän for ten days for mountain-trekking, and found Hotel Sonnenhof when we were looking for a better place to eat dinner. We found a pearl! A menu that is inventive and full of surprises, food that is exquisite and full of detail. The sommelier recommended wonderful Austrian red wines, mainly cuvées from Burgenland, that had been kept in the hotel's well-stocked wine cellar for years, and were a pleasure! We will definitely come back, and then to also to stay in the hotel, and enjoy the fine and friendly service we met every time we went for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rainer M, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenhof
Responded Jan 31, 2017
Liebe Gäste, vielen Dank für die hervorragende Bewertung unseres Wirtshauses - unserem a la Carte-Restaurant im Hotel Sonnenhof, in dem Sie abends mehrmals zu Gast waren. Und es freut uns von Herzen, dass Sie bald wieder kommen möchten, ob nun als Gäste im Hotel oder im Wirtshaus, wir werden Sie sehr gerne wieder bei uns im Sonnenhof verwöhnen. Herzliche Grüße Christina Müller
Read more
Silke B wrote a review Oct 2006
Kaarst, Germany183 contributions102 helpful votes
We stayed at Hotel Sonnenhof for two weeks in Febr. 2006. Comfortable room in a modern "Alp"-style, nice bathroom, separate WC, enough room for clothing. Great food; big breakfast buffet, dinner with a selection from 4 starters, 4 main courses and 2 deserts. Specialty buffets weekly. Small lunch and large afternoon buffet (coffee, lemonades, cakes and cold meat, salad and cheeses)are included. You may join walking or snowshoe tours and other activities for free. Free parking. Close to at least two ski areas.A ski bus through the valley is free with your "guest card". The location, Tannheimer Tal, is great for winter sports like cross-country-skiing, snowboarding or downhill. We will definitely go there again; maybe in the fall for some hikes.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2006
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Service
Business service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Save
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
$369 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsTirolGran
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Sonnenhof
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Sonnenhof?
Nearby attractions include Vilsalpsee (3.4 miles), Burgruine auf dem Falkenstein (4.9 miles), and Neunerköpfle (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Sonnenhof?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Sonnenhof?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Sonnenhof?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Sonnenhof?
Conveniently located restaurants include Das Restaurant Falkenstein & PAVO, Schlossangeralp, and Schankwirtschaft Wohlfahrt.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Sonnenhof?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Sonnenhof have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Sonnenhof offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Sonnenhof have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Sonnenhof offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Sonnenhof located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Gran.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Sonnenhof?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Sonnenhof?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.