We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fota Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fota Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,765: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited this Hotel for lunch today and the Staff were great and Sean the Concierge was very welcoming. The food was delicious and the surroundings were very relaxing. We will definitely return and can't wait for our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Vera K
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us here in Fota Island Resort, and that you had the chance to view our wonderful grounds during your visit. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed in one of the lodges in the grounds of Fota Island resort. We visited the hotel and the spa area while there. The lodge was 3 bed, very clean and the staff were very responsive to our needs. Our grandchildren had a lovely wide play area. There is a mini camp on site for the children between 4-12.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ryanpat
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort, and that your group had the chance to sample our lovely kids' camps and wonderful walks and trails around the Resort. I will look further into the issues you have described here, and we hope to have... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved Fota Island and would definitely go back again. We got engaged in the Fota restaurant, and enjoyed an amazing meal there. The spa was just what we needed after a long day walking around and the room was lovely. The bathroom too was excellent with a nice big bath and powerful shower. Staff were all friendly and efficient,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review - I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort, and enjoyed an eventful dinner! Congratulations to you both, and best of luck in the future. Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently visited fota resort and was very impressed. Very friendly staff and fabulous rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable!! The breakfast had a wide variety and the bar food was delicious with excellent service. The only disappointment was the pool times for children. These were very restrictive especially as the hotel calls itself a family friendly hotel. Because of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank elainefk
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort, and that you had the chance to sample some of our wonderful dining opportunities while visiting. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges More 

County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from a week long stay at the lodges. Disappointingly they have become dated. They need to be repainted and the wallpaper is peeling in some rooms. Most of the blinds in our lodge were falling at one side . Some curtains were ripped on the inside. Also only 2 bedrooms had TVs when we requested an additional tv... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bridal96
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort was less than satisfactory, however I would encourage you to contact myself directly at bcomerford@fotaisland.ie, should you wish to book with us again on your next visit. We hope to have you back to stay again soon.... More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

5 star hotels should have clean showers.. I felt dirty just stepping into the shower. Room service was amazing... Great cheese board and salad. The best night sleep I have had this far at a hotel. Amazing pillows and beds... I would say this is the only reason j rated this a 4 star. Beautiful lobby. Worth the stat just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your balanced review - I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us here in Fota Island Resort, and will address the issues you have raised here. We hope to have you back to stay again soon. Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges More 

Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from a 3 day break at Fota. Check-in was perfect and then we went straight to the bar for food cause we had read that the staff were quite strict on food served till 9pm. When we walked in, it was busy but there was a few free tables. We sat at the nearest one and browsed a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tysusa
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for one night for my partners birthday. We brought our 18month old and booked a classic double room. Upgraded upon arrival to a top floor suite and couldn't have enjoyed our brief stay more. Beautiful grounds despite awful weather on the day of our arrival. Great staff from check in to room service to breakfast waiters/waitresses... More 

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaDonoghue
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort, and that you had the chance to sample some of our amenities and local activities during your visit, and we hope to have you back again very soon! Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

From start to finish we seemed to encounter poor service and a failure of staff to be customer oriented. Almost on arrival we were informed last orders for food in the bar was 7pm (which was bizarre as kitchen stayed open to service the adjacent restaurant) meaning we had to eat early despite not being that hungry (we had eaten... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kateb1969
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I was disappointed to hear that this issue wasn't raised at the time of your stay so that we could address this further. However, I am delighted to say that we opened our all-day dining facility, the Amber Lounge, in February of this year to boost dining facilities to triple capacity, and as always... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked for 10 of us to go to Fota resort We had 3 golfers and wives plus 4 and 9 year olds Hotel island and grounds are lovely with plenty of room and activities for kids plus a very nice private zoo. The only let down was the housekeeping at the hotel. They kept on missing small points that make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chappelll
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

924 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (262)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (632)
Viewed
Amenities (183)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (50)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (61)
Viewed
Lodge (132)
Viewed
Luxury Sequoia Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Address: Fota Island, Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Price Range: $144 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fota Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay