We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fota Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fota Island Resort
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,793: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a friendly, spacious property with a great golf course, beautiful indoor pool and spa and lovely breakfasts. Our room had a really good bathroom, but bedroom maybe a tired. Staff couldn't be more helpful, including shuttling us around short directions. Would be great if the less formal dining options took orders a little later (bar is 8pm).

Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely grounds and nice views but definitely not a 5 star. Breakfast was nice enough but we were left waiting about 15 minutes before we'd to ask for service to order tea/coffee etc. Thermal suite wasnt fully active and had empty cups and lemon segments scattered on the ground. Room a nice size but worst of all is i didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie B
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room : Modern, comfortable, warm, cosy, romantic, bathroom clean, large and modern. Location : Beautiful surroundings and location. Bit of a taxi if you are looking to get into cork around €20 in early 2016. Staff : Great customer service, friendly and polite. Overall a nice experience and getaway tucked away in its own little world. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review – I am delighted to hear that your stay here at Fota Island Resort was a nice experience and that you enjoyed the surroundings. I am also happy to hear that you were able to visit cork city, as it is a great way to keep yourself occupied in a fun and relaxing way.... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The setting is beautiful and the spa is excellent. However it does not warrant a 5 star rating. When we arrived in the afternoon, we sat down to a late lunch. The carpet was quite dirty around our table and the service was dreadfully slow. The steak sandwich was not good at all. We also did not receive cutlery. When... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmalizi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here in January with my wife for 2 wonderful nights. Rooms are fantastic. Staff couldn't be any more helpful. Food was great and the spa was just amazing. On our first night there we noticed the heating wasn't working. They had a MNT man look at it and after he couldn't sort the issue we got moved to another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review – I am delighted to hear that your stay here at Fota Island Resort was perfect for you and your wife. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our dining and spa amenities, it is a great way to keep yourself occupied in a relaxing way. We can’t wait to have you... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed four nights in the courtyard lodges, and really enjoyed our visit. Playground on our doorstep, lovely grounds to walk in, and the pool meant our little one had plenty to keep her occupied. Reception arranged a babysitter for one of the nights so that we could dine in the restaurant, which was really enjoyable. Great food & excellent wine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LKJ2012
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review – I am delighted to hear that your stay here at Fota Island Resort was perfect for you and your family. I am also happy to hear that your little one enjoyed not only the pool but also the playground, it is a great way to keep the little ones active and occupied on... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is simply beautiful, the grounds are stunning and our room was of a very high standard. From the moment we booked in everything was perfect. The food is delicious and the service standard is brilliant. I would highly recommend this hotel to people and we will 💯 be back. I'm

Helpful?
Thank teszina r
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review – I am delighted to hear that your experience here at Fota Island Resort was a wonderful one, and that you enjoyed our dining facilities. We look forward to having you back again soon! Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was a self service menu for children,it was great as they could pick and choose. The adult food was just ok.The pool times were limited for children which meant these times were extremely crowded. The reception staff were very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank sunseeker50Ireland
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort was less than satisfactory. However, I would encourage you to contact myself directly at bcomerford@fotaisland.ie, should you wish to book with us again on your next visit. We hope to have you back again soon. Kind regards,... More 

dublin
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in the lodge So can't comment on the hotel accommodation The restaurant is expensive and poor The welcome from the maitre D Was extremely poor Told to wait in the lobby When the restaurant was half full The food was tasteless The tuna was not good And the rib eye was stringy Need to improve their act No way... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dub53
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant here in Fota Island Resort was less than satisfactory. However I would encourage you to contact myself directly at bcomerford@fotaisland.ie, should you wish to book with us again on your next visit. We hope to have you back again soon. Kind regards, Brendan... More 

Galway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled with family and young toddler. We stayed in the court side lodges. Beautifully appointed location, 5 minute walk to the hotel, beside a great play ground, tennis court and pitches. The lodges were very well equipped, warm, fully serviced and excellent for a family break. Excellent swimming pool facilities and play room. The staff at the hotel emphasised the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaschG
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - I am happy hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Fota Island Resort this past weekend. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the facilities, especially the swimming pool and play room which are perfect for spending time with the family. We hope to have you back to stay again soon.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

924 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (262)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (632)
Viewed
Amenities (183)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (50)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (61)
Viewed
Lodge (132)
Viewed
Luxury Sequoia Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Address: Fota Island, Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Price Range: $143 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fota Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay