We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Del Viejo Camino A Sisal Km. 10, Celestun 97367 Mexico
Official Hotel Site
eDreams
Algotels
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Hurb
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (494)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (26)

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Celestun
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
XIXIM: a different alternative. Consciousness, love for intact nature, rediscovering yourself, high quality and the simplicity of our services are the secrets that we generously share in our paradise...Hotel XIXIM is an ecological paradise. Bordered by an unspoiled beach that stretches forever, a dwarf palm plantation and an abundance of indigenous vegetation, the environment here has always taken precedent over profit, in this very special, luxuriously rustic hotel. At present, we have 32 thatched cabanas, 24 junior suites with 2 four-poster double beds and 8 master suites with a king size bed, each with its own private verandah and en-suite bathroom. An extremely large thatched, double-story rondavel with sweeping views of the beach, golden sunsets and our pool area. Upstairs one will find El Santuario, our fully stocked bar and lounge area, and downstairs, our pride and joy, Restaurant Zaxim. The buildings dramatic thatched roof with the longest, straightest tree trunk supports, graphically canopy your occasion.Our Wellness Center as a set of architectural human and natural elements: palapas and mangroves, buildings and coastal dunes, windows overlooking the emerald-green sea, open spaces yet of intimate dimensions, each and every one of them integrated to the pristine nature.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Spa
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
503Reviews6Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 277
  • 101
  • 55
  • 29
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
NickRider904 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, England, United Kingdom17 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed at Xixim for a few days in March just before the Covid crisis hit the fan, and the memory of it has only improved with time. The location is fabulous, on a huge beach all to itself, and delightfully peaceful – there are giant (totally unthreatening) iguanas all over the place, and it's great for seeing birds. Our suite was lovely, very comfortable and spacious, with a terrace with choice of loungers or hammocks to watch the stars every night. Staff were very charming, friendly and helpful, and the food an enjoyable mix of Yucatán traditional and more international ideas, with plenty for vegetarians. OK the wifi is sometimes wobbly but in this location you can't have everything (not long ago you wouldn't even have had a phone line in a place like this). After months in lockdown we really miss it....
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get one facing the beach!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
User321x wrote a review Apr 2020
Munich, Germany1 contribution
Very friendly staff. The new manager does a great job! He brings in great ideas to make your trip an unforgettable experience. We had a great Mayan ritual with fire at sunset. Kids saw dolphins, snake, raccoons ... We hope we can come back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Verena Gerber, Owner at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Apr 14, 2020
Dear User 321x In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, I thank you for your outstanding review. I am very pleased you liked our pristine setting and that your kids had the opportunity to see wildlife in its habitat. Thank you also for the compliments on our staff and general manager. They appreciate those comments a lot. We sincerely hope, that we can be your host again in the near future. Please stay healthy with zest, Kind regards Verena Gerber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noemieptf wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We had a great time twice in this hotel with husband and kids! The place is stunning and the hosts very nice with guests. The location is absolutely unique, beautiful and special. Staying in this hotel during the flamingo season has been amazing to be able to enjoy the nature surrounding
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Verena Gerber, Propietario at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Apr 4, 2020
Dear noemieptf, In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, I thank you so much for your outstanding review. The greatest gift an hotelier can receive from its guests is that they come back. Thank you so much for doing so and for still finding our pristine place, which we try to take good care of, beautiful, amazing and enjoyable We obviously hope, that we can be your host again in the near future. Please take care and stay healthy. Kind regards Verena Gerber Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
seb s wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Very very expense for the quality of the services. No internet in all the hotel during more than 3 days. No hot water during one night. For an hotel which charge these kinds of price ...the services have to be good. Restaurant expensive. Swimming pool not very clean. We prefer going to the beach. In France it’s a one star hotel at best. One night to visit the Reserve is sufficient.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Verena Gerber, Other at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Apr 4, 2020
Dear 960sebs: Thank you for having taken your time to point us out your discomfort that gives us the opportunity to amend them in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel. Your perception is accurate and indeed, right now, we are not a 5 star hotel. We had some of a turmoil in Xixim and we had to renew all of our staff as they were acting against the company policies. This task has not been easy, as you can imagine, and we just had it done, when the pandemic news hit us and we had to close our hotel since march 20th. Our new staff has been sent home. We hope they will return when all of this finishes. Also, our plan of a mayor refurbishing had to be postponed. Meanwhile I hope you, your family and surroundings are well off and healthy. Kind regards, Verena Gerber Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolina C wrote a review Feb 2020
Mexico City, Mexico5 contributions8 helpful votes
We did not enjoy our stay - we do not recommend this hotel! - service is ok: they do their job at a minimum effort. They are always right and do not try to pamper/understand the client. There is not enough service, and it gives you and abandoned feeling. - food is just ok - rooms are dirty and everything is old, they need maintenance, a lot! - it’s cozy-warm hotel - no room service - over priced, you don’t get the minimum of what you expect 👎🏼
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Verena Gerber, Owner at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Apr 4, 2020
Dear Carolina C: I deeply regret that your experience at Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, was so unpleasant. You are right that the facilities need maintenance. This was already scheduled to take place before the summer holidays, but we have been caught by surprise by this health contingency and the hotel has been closed since March 20, 2020. You are also right that we were understaffed, but finding for Xixim trained staff is not an easy task. Anyway, excuse us. I hope that you, your family members and everything around you are in good spirits and healthy. Best regards, Verena Gerber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petar M wrote a review Jan 2020
Zurich, Switzerland2 contributions1 helpful vote
The price is way too high for what the hotel has to offer. The buildings are fairly old and need a lot of maintenance in order to live up to the standard they are supposed to be (windows, doors, common areas, stairs, safety equipment, handrails, beach area, and many more) The check in process took more than an hour although we were the only guests to check-in. In the end they gave us half-hearted apology and a glas of lukewarm water for our "refreshment". The numerous staff around did not know what they were doing. The beach area is not served and is in poor shape. There are old tipped-over umbrellas lying around here and there, the loungers and the cushions are old and have never been washed or maintained. The pools were dirty as well, so were the showers around the pool. The food in the restaurant was OK, but it came very slow and the staff were poorly trained as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Verena Gerber, Other at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Apr 4, 2020
Dear Petar M: Thank you for having taken your time to point us out your discomfort that gives us the opportunity to amend them in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel. Your perception is accurate and indeed, on January 2020, we were not a 5 star hotel, not even a 2 star hotel. We had had some of a turmoil in Xixim during the second half of 2019 and we had to renew all of our staff as they were acting against the company policies. This task has not been easy, as you can imagine, and we just had it almost done, when the pandemic news hit us and we had to close our hotel since march 20th. We were also planning a mayor refurbishing of our facilities, but we had to stop them dead because of the same reason. I am so sorry, you had this very bad experience in Xixim and can only offer you a complimentary stay, once we are again a 5 star hotel, which I recon would be late in the fall. Meanwhile I hope you, your family and surroundings are well off and healthy. Kind regards, Verena Gerber Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Javier D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
First of all I will start saying, I’m very disappointed. We planned to stay for three days and ended up staying only one night. * The first day, we were only 3 tables in the restaurant waiting for more than an hour to be given something to eat (it is also quite expensive for what it is) and there was a time when we were left alone (I had to stop by myself look for some things in the bar). * Apparently several of the employees resigned on December 31, so the service is beyond terrible. * I talked to several employees and they told me that the current manager is very incompetent, the work environment is noticeable, they have made them work days without rest. * As I read in a previous comment: the hotel is an installation that begins to look old and 2 stars facility. * The bathroom reeked, in general dirty furniture gives the feeling of camping. * Juan Carlos, (an employee from Argentina) was awesome and did almost the impossible for us in order to compensate the nightmare. * Also Fernanda from the SPA🙏🏻 (Thank you!) * I think the idea was good at the time they opened, but without the experience, service and training of a real hotel chain, it can be a nightmare to stay there. Much better options for that price in other places. J Delgado from LA
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from XIXIM, Owner at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear javierdM8359EW Thank you for having taken your time to point us out your discomfort that gives us the opportunity to amend them in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel. Your perception is accurate and indeed, right now, we are not a 5 star hotel, perhaps not even a 3 star hotel. We had some of a turmoil in Xixim and yes, 90% of the kitchen and restaurant staff left without warning the 31st of December. It has not been an issue of lack or incompetent management. I think, the problem has been implementation of controls, leaving little probability of murky resource management, which was a common practice in the previous administration. Obviously, nobody likes this, thus, they quit. I owe you an apology and would like to offer you a complimentary stay. Not right now. I think we will be ready to offer a 5 star service in about 6 months. I hope you left your e-mail address at the reception. I personally will come back to you with this proposal, which I dearly hope you accept. Wishing you a wonderful start in this new decade, Kind regards, Verena Gerber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChayaMansa wrote a review Dec 2019
11 contributions19 helpful votes
Let’s start with the positives: Great location, you really feel in paradise and in contact with nature. My kids loved the place. However, not worth paying more than $100 -$150/night (if you are paying more than that know that you will be overpaying). The hotel is not professionally run, more boutique with serious service and maintenance issues. The premises are getting old, staff is friendly but not trained for a 4 or 5 star category, this is more a 2-3 star hotel with such a great view and location. Hotel is very isolated (surrounded by jungle 5km around) which means that in high season all guest will be enjoying the beach, but the hotel only has 8 beach palapas for the 33 rooms. Very hard to believe they have not done the math, yet. They really need to consider adding more beach palapas and improve service during high season. This is a hotel to unwind and be in contact with nature. Think more about going on camping to paradise with minimum amenities and limited service. Definitely not for picky guests nor for those who expect luxury. BTW Wifi and Cell network does not work, there may be some spots where you may get a very limited signal, but is better to assume you won’t get any, that way you won’t be disappointed. Be advised and prepared. In my case, I was warned and actually enjoyed the “no technology” moments to stay more connected with my family. But if you are the busy guy who needs to be connected and make phone calls while on vacations, stay away from this place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from XIXIM, Owner at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Dec 28, 2019
Dear ChayaMansa Thank you for having taken your time to point out the flaws of Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, giving us the opportunity to amend them. I am very pleased you liked our pristine setting and you are totally right: Xixim is to relax, to be with oneself, to encounter inner peace and joy and to discover again and again the beauty and diversity of nature. All our staff has been hired recently and effectively lacks training. Also some facilities need corrective maintenance. I am sorry you have experienced these failures, but I assure you that they will soon be solved. I hope you give us the opportunity to show you this on your next visit. I also hope you had a blessed Christmas and that the New Year presents itself with abundance and prosperity. Kind regards Verena Gerber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveAntpitta wrote a review Dec 2019
New York City, New York95 contributions86 helpful votes
We had a very pleasant stay here. The room is super large, with two queen sized beds. The bathroom has a big shower. The toilet is in a separate enclosure. The only drawback is that the main light switch for the room is by the beds, and are not easy to find if you are coming in at night. Also, there is only wi-fi in the lobby and restaurant, but they are two separate systems. The restaurant is very nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from XIXIM, Owner at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Dec 28, 2019
Dear SteveAntpitta In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, I thank you for your outstanding review. I am excited that you loved our spacious rooms and almost outside shower. As for the lights, you can turn them on from the porch and turn them off precisely on the dampers that are between the beds. I will remind our receptionists that they should point this out to our guests. I hope you had a merry Christmas and a happy, joyful 2020 Kind regards, Verena Gerber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon S wrote a review Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom55 contributions16 helpful votes
A family trip to the Yucatan, led us to Celestun and a couple of nights stay at XiXim. Absolutely lovely place to stay. Be prepared for a bumpy trip on the way to the hotel, but once you get there, its heaven. The rooms/lodges are great. We had a couple that looked out to the beach so the evening sunset was amazing to watch. The hotel, is in a nature reserve, on the beach and a few miles from Celestun - so dont expect in town 5 star luxury. But if having your morning brew, watching the Red Cardinals fly around whilst the hummingbirds hover on the flowers is your thing then book it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from XIXIM, Owner at Xixim Mundo Imperial
Responded Dec 21, 2019
Dear Simon S In my name and in the name of all the staff that works in Xixim, Unique Mayan Hotel, I thank you for your outstanding, beautiful and accurate review. I am excited that you loved the experience of just watching nature before your eyes. Indeed, cardinals, hummingbirds, orioles, but also foxes and opossums and if you look long enough, perhaps you may see a dolphin or a sea turtle nesting. Not to mention the huge amount of iguanas we have all over the resort. I hope your path brings you again to the Yucatan and obviously to Xixim, where we look forward to pamper you again. Wishing you a very merry Christmas and a joyful 2020, Kind regards, Verena Gerber
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
eco paraiso xixim celestun, eco paraiso xixim hotel celestun
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Xixim Unique Mayan Hotel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaYucatanCelestun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

XIXIM MUNDO IMPERIAL - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Celestun, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Xixim Mundo Imperial
Which popular attractions are close to Xixim Mundo Imperial?
Nearby attractions include Mangroves of Dzinitun (4.5 miles) and Reserva de la Biosfera Ría Celestún (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Xixim Mundo Imperial?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Xixim Mundo Imperial?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Xixim Mundo Imperial?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Xixim Mundo Imperial?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Xixim Mundo Imperial?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
Does Xixim Mundo Imperial have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Xixim Mundo Imperial accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.