We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Compass Hostel & Bar

Save
Share
Shark St., Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara Indonesia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (121)
Pool & Beach (10)
Dining (9)

About

#3 of 297 Specialty lodging in Gili Trawangan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Broken Compass hostel & bar offers dorm accomodation, with and without ensuite bathrooms and private doubles. All have fan & air-con, "fresh" (ie non-bore) water and included breakfast and wifi.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
321Reviews3Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 278
  • 37
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DeltaMike6 wrote a review Jan 2020
19 contributions3 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in over 100 hostels all around the world and Broken Compass has to be one of the top ten. Only 3 people to a dorm with comfy beds and great air conditioning. The atmosphere is friendly and social and all the staff are fantastic. Didn’t really want to leave because I was meeting cool people every day. Food and drink prices are very reasonable and there’s a good general store right across the street. I’d go back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Front Office Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Hi there, Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We try our best to offer the best possible hostel experience at an affordable price, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would return. We hope to welcome you back to the family again soon! All the best, Rani & the BC crew
Read more
Simon K wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
Stayed in Broken Compass the 2nd time and will definitely go again. Everybody is super nice and friendly. We had a lot of fun with you guys. Probably one of the best places to go to eat on the whole island. Pad Thai was absolutely delicious! The room was clean and comfortable. Simon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Front Office Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Hi Simon, Thank you for writing us a review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed spending time with our team and the food! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best, Rani & the BC team
Read more
Joe wrote a review Dec 2019
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions
Stayed here 3 days while checking out Gili T, the hostel is a 5 minute walk from the boat drop off. Hostel has bunks + private rooms; a bar & pool. Accommodations were good for a hostel, although my AC’s fan was a little louder than preferred. Staff is personable and really offers advice to maximize your Gili T experience. Only downside to staying here that a nearby mosque broadcasts their prayers on a loudspeaker, sometimes as early as 4:30am. If you’re easily disturbed at night, have a pair of earplugs handy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Front Office Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcomed by the team! Gili Trawangan is a Muslim island, which means that we do often hear the call to prayer throughout the day whenever you are in the main area of the island. Most of the time this is at a reasonable volume and doesn't disturb the majority of our guests. However, as you recommend, if you are a very light sleeper then earplugs can help. We try our best to embrace the culture of the island! We hope to see you on Gili T again soon! All the best, Rani & the Broken Compass Crew
Read more
Geraldine wrote a review Nov 2019
Sofia, Bulgaria11 contributions
+1
2nd time here for me and for sure not the last. Great combination between the comfort of the private room with the atmosphere of the hostel down at the bar. (love the design and every little diver's detail) *Close to the port and pretty much everything important on the island. *"You can get yourself clean" (hot water shower, 25k/kg laundry) *"You can have a good meal" (LOVE the food - always super yummy, thank you Ali and Co) *"You can do whatever you feel" (Quiz night - each Wednesday) or well, just hang out and meet people. Or go diving with Compass Divers 🤩🤩🤩 🦈🐢🦄❤️ BC, Thank you so much to your lovely staff for your hospitality and flixibility! And FUN! last, but not least! Shu, Andy, Ali, Nita, Zoel and the rest of the team- thanks for making us feel home 🙏❤️ Tarimakasiiii 🎉🌺🤩 and... Of course... The one and only... B*... wait for it... BONNYYYY (where are you ☝️) 😂 you make bc a very special place 👏 Looking forward to another cocktail tasting 🍹🍸😉 Good luck, guys, miss you already 🍀🌼🍀
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Public Relations Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Hey Geraldine, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the different aspects of our hostel, and always super stoked to welcome returning guests back to the family! We will pass on all your compliments to the team and we can't wait to have you back soon! Lots of love, Compass Team!
Read more
Sof24 wrote a review Nov 2019
Trincomalee, Sri Lanka8 contributions
We stayed in a private room and it was perfect! Great size, clean, ensuite and a comfy bed! The staff were very welcoming and helpful! The hostel is close to everything you may need, plus has a lovely pool! Defo recommend staying here if you are looking for a chilled and friendly atmosphere!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded Nov 21, 2019
Thank you so much for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and thanks for the recommendation, we hope to see you again. From all the Broken Compass Team
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
IndonesiaWest Nusa TenggaraLombokPemenangGili IslandsGili Trawangan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Which popular attractions are close to Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Nearby attractions include Sama Sama Reggae Bar (0.2 miles), Gili Trawangan Island (0.09 miles), and Ombak Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Francesco's Pizza, Non Solo Pizza, and Honeyst.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Broken Compass Hostel & Bar located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Gili Trawangan.