We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Hotels.com$83*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dunkery Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stunning views, warm welcome, tea on the veranda on a arrival, beautiful room, sublime bed, delicious food, excellent wines, lovely fellow guests and wonderful hosts. We stayed for three nights and left feeling relaxed and pampered. Jane and John could not have done more including dealing with our gluten free diet. We are looking forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your time here, appreciated the food and wine each night, got on so well with our other guests and felt relaxed and well-looked after at the end of your stay. We sincerely hope you will come back to see...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 14, 2014

With the weather forecast dry for the week ahead we booked our short stay. It has always been our intention to visit as we knew John from his days as a chef in Manchester. On arrival the sun was shining, spring had arrived and the daffodils stood out in the middle of the recently cut lawn. We were treated to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

It was great to have you to stay and we're glad the weather was fine so you were able to fully explore this stunning part of the country. Thank you for the positive comments about the mattress and bedding - we have quite a few people say that our mattresses are among the most comfortable they have slept on! Similarly,...

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our extended family of 14 adults got together to celebrate an 80th birthday. From the start to finish, from planning the weekend and the menu through to our final farewell Jane and John could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The food was interesting , well presented and very tasty - highly recommended! Our hosts achieved just the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to welcome your family to Dunkery Beacon Country House and we're so glad you all enjoyed your stay. There is always a great expectation with special occasions, such as your Mum's 80th birthday, and it was imperative that we made this a memorable event for all of you. Jane and I thoroughly enjoyed looking after...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great location, views superb, easy access to Dunster, Porlock and onto Lynton & Lynmouth. Tea and cake (spiced apple, yum!) on arrival is a great introduction to the superb meals and hearty breakfasts we experienced on our 2 night break. Jane and John are great hosts and the property is a credit to them. Will definitely look to visit again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stelly11
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your first visit to us so much, despite the "slightly" damp and windy conditions! Exmoor is still a dramatic and stunning place to visit even when the weather's not so kind.....and you can always experience the wonderful view looking out from the comfort of our guest lounge whilst staying toasty by the log burner instead!...

UK
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Would love to the Troll that complains that the Gardenias weren't quite the right shade of pink, or that the salad dressing contained two drops of balsamic vinegar too much, so reluctantly I will have to agree with everyone else.. This place is lovely. Food original and delicious. Wine list thoughtful and excellent. Comfortable candle lit lounge with woodburner. Owners...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phman
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a most unusual and original review (!) and we're very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Lucky we don't have Gardenias of any colour! We hope you both have a lovely Christmas and look forward to seeing you again next year. Best wishes, Jane & John P.S. Both Four Poster rooms also have baths...

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked a double room at very short notice but was able to be accommodated - perfect location for exploring Exmoor, lovely rooms with comfortable beds, very friendly hosts and delicious breakfast. The room had a great view as well as a flatscreen TV with DVD player and a section of good DVDs from the DVD library. On arrival we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg E
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

We're very glad you enjoyed your short break here and thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on all aspects of your stay - it really is appreciated. We're hoping the skies will stay clear again tonight for more stargazing through John's telescope before heading off to enjoy Dunster by Candlelight! As you're not too far...

Bath, England
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have recently returned from an excellent 3 night break at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. John and Jane made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a standard double room which was comfortable and clean, with a fantastic view to the front of the property. The guest lounge was a pleasant place to relax, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BA1
Jane B, Manager at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us recently. John is particularly pleased you were impressed by the food he produces, so thank you again for your feedback. We hope we may see you again if you consider planning another break on Exmoor in the future. Best regards, Jane

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. It was wonderful! We had a warm welcome from Jane with tea and Scones by the cosy log burner. Our room was clean, warm, comfortable, attractively decorated and had a stunning view . Coffee and tea making provided in the room and delicious home made short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim L
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

It's so nice of you to give such great feedback on your stay - it really means a lot to us and is reassuring that we seem to be providing an experience that guests appreciate and value. We hope you'll come and visit us again when opportunity permits as it was a pleasure to have you both. Best wishes, Jane...

Paris, France
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a great time in the Dunkery Beacon Hotel, with a warm welcome from Jane and John. The place is perfectly located to visit Exmoor. Breakfast was very special too as they seem to have "a breakfast special" every day. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to enjoy John's culinary skills (apart from breakfast) as the restaurant is only open from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patrick B
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity to explore quite a bit of this area in the 2 days you were with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about breakfast and we hope to welcome you back so you can sample John's dinners in the future! A bientôt.......

UK
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a weekend in a lovely room with wonderful food - breakfasts as well as dinners. Was not a break though as with our dog we were in and out of the hotel as he was only allowed in the lounge area of our bedroom and no where else including the garden. This meant that for toiletting we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lslfan
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

It was always a concern that when providing the great standard of food & accommodation to our guests that dog owners should also be welcomed, but with a view that the non dog owners be given equal consideration. This is why the two rooms made available to dog owners are the two largest suites, both with their own lounge and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
648 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
525 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
225 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Address: Dunkery Beacon Hotel Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dunkery Beacon Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dunkery Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Our room was a second floor room small but cosy.”
Dagwoodbilly, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“I believe all rooms have great views, but if you require a bath, check which rooms have one, some are shower only.”
HelmarkCardiff, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“great views from first floor and massive bathroom”
leebartram, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing south have the views”
539KenF, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“select a room with wonderful views over the moor.”
469alung, Jul 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$83* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$83
Booking.com$86
Hotwire.com$83
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates