We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue Mantle Guesthouse

About

#14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Under new management since Dec 2018, the Blue Mantle is a family run hotel with eight bedrooms, all with their own bathroom. We offer a lovely breakfast with local produce and of course, a warm welcome. We are situated in the town centre within walking distance of everything that Wellington has to offer including free parking!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
11Reviews
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Surprisingly low price for the quality of welcome, stay and breakfast. £5 for a locally sourced full English is a steal and would have been willing to pay more. Hotel is undergoing renovations since purchase by new owners in December, so be aware of this but didn’t affect my
Read more
Over the weekend of 23rd March I had booked for two VIP guests at this guesthouse. They were an elderly couple, in their 80's, travelling from France for my father's funeral. The guest house made them SO welcome and treated them with such care - they even had French music
Read more
Booked 2 nights bed and breakfast. Room was lovely and clean, small but served the purpose well. The couple that have taken this over have 3 small children and they are doing this old place up so a lot on their hands but they couldn’t be nicer hosts. Don’t be put off by the
Read more
Response from Andrew A, Owner at The Blue Mantle Guesthouse
Responded Mar 19, 2019
Thank you for your supportive review. We are very much aware of the external condition of the property. We have this booked in for redecoration in April, subject to some good weather. We are currently awaiting listed buildings consent to create some private parking for our guests. Thankfully there is unrestricted on street parking approx 150mtrs away.
Read more
We were staying in Wellington for a family event, and this hotel was chosen as it has a good location. Unfortunately, that where the ‘good’ ended. We checked in, no problems, and went out with the family. The room seemed basic but that was expected. However the room was very
Read more
Response from Andrew A, Owner at The Blue Mantle Guesthouse
Responded Mar 15, 2019
What actually happened that night: there is indeed an emergency light in the room you stayed in, designed to potentially save the lives of everyone upstairs in the event of a fire - that means not just you but other guests too. To say the room is flooded with light is at best an exaggeration and at worst I'd worry you were hallucinating. A pair of eyelids are literally all you need to not see the single, fairy light sized bulb. You did not knock on the door leading to our private quarters at 3am, you went behind our reception desk and nigh on knocked the door down with your fists, waking my entire family up including my three young children. We later found out from other guests who you also woke up, that before this battering ram impression that they all heard, you were stomping up and down the corridor upstairs shouting. Ludicrous behaviour! The next morning when we politely informed you that you were no longer welcome to stay a second night, you seemed genuinely surprised?! You don't seem to understand even now that your behaviour was atrocious and would render you unwelcome wherever you were. In fact other guesthouse owners we have spoken to about this have said that they'd have had the police remove you there and then for being drunk and disorderly with no chance of refunding the second night. When we saw the empty spirits bottles and various other empty alcohol vestibules in your room we thought that explained your delusion and general miserable persona in some way, but maybe we're clutching at straws there. You say as hoteliers we should be prepared to be awoken by guests in the middle of the night. Definitely not! By all means wake us if there is an emergency we need to know about in the moment, but because you can't sleep? No dear. Onto your other points, there is no special bin right next to the tea making facilities. No there isn't. A waddle across the room to the actual bin is too much to ask I suppose. You left plenty of other trash about the place including half masticated indigestion tablets stuck to the side board, (lovely) so why the worry about where a tea bag lands? The bed is not uncomfortable, the shower is not a dribble, and the bath you found too narrow to stand in is a standard 700mm wide bath, so I suggest that issue is yours not ours. No there is no plug for the bath as the facility offered is a shower. The shower curtain is perfectly spotless and there most certainly are bath mats. It seems it's you clutching at straws now. As for bad attitude from us, that's crazy. We showed the patience and tolerance of saints towards you and your antics, refunding the second night when we don't have to, even helping you find alternative accommodation! This was in part driven by the want to minimise disruption to the day for your sisters sake. As is usually the case with the rude, you need not look further than the mirror to see a fine example of the insults you throw. I hope your review made you feel a bit better about yourself, I see you initially joined trip advisor to be negative. Take your £18pp elsewhere next time and see what it gets you. Night night. PS our one year old sees fit to try and wake people up when he can't sleep at night, but did I mention he's one year old? Tip: A bit of booby milk usually does the trick.
Read more
Originally a planned pit stop, Wellington town was a lovely surprise! Listed buildings galore, a bustling high street with a variety of shops. The b&b was Friendly, helpful, clean and comfy. And a fab breakfast for £5, great value all round! A very accommodating b&b. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$45 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing