We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya

Save
Share
Km 48 Carretera Federal Cancun-Playa del Carmen, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (4884)
Pool & Beach (1275)
Room & Suite (606)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Updated 06/10/20

About

#8 of 11 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
most luxurious resort of the line. the most luxurious holiday experience that Mexico can offer. Everything in Grand Luxxe has been designed with your comfort in mind. The luxurious decoration of its halls and corridors with exotic finishes and sculptures of exclusive creation; dreamlike living spaces furnished with the best; swimming pools and private beaches; and the most personalized attention.
Read more
Room & Suite (606)606
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
Contact
Km 48 Carretera Federal Cancun-Playa del Carmen, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Cancun Airport26 miSee all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen6 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
5,573Reviews1,105Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,813
  • 1,569
  • 581
  • 331
  • 280
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sr. Pescador wrote a review Sep 22
The Villages, Florida1 contribution
My wife and I have been coming to this resort as owners for 15 years. We have always enjoyed our stay and have taken friends and family along many times. This time we travelled there by ourselves and are we glad we avoided the embarrassment. I know there is COVID restrictions and the facility was operating at a lower capacity but what we encountered was not what we were told when we booked the week. This has always been a 5 star resort and we were surprised to see them operating at a 2 star level. Upon arrival we encountered Julian Vicente Chacho, bellboy, who was the bright spot of the trip. He was very professional and accommodating. He delivered our bags to the room and made it a point to continue to contact us through out our stay to make sure we were experiencing all of the areas that were open as there was very little information available to the clients on their website. Almost all of the restaurants were closed except for a handful at Salum. They consisted of menus that I would classify as "Carnival Food". All of their high end restaurants were closed. Later in the week, Quinto opened and we ate there several nights. It was the only restaurant serving inside in the A/C. Julian continued to stay in contact and helped us right up until our departure making sure we were comfortable and happy. If it wasn't for him, my wife and I would have left early as there was nothing to do at this resort. The sales staff, vultures, who attack you when you check in set an appointment for us where we were once again lied to trying to get us into a new contract with their "bate and switch" methods. They wasted 6 hours of our time trying to convince us to give up our two bedroom unit for a one bedroom unit in a theme park that was not even built yet. They tried to convince us that they would rent out our weeks for the entire time of the contract to then spin it to only guaranteeing the first year, which in fact was just a sales ploy trying to disguise a discount as rental income. These people should realize they don't need to use this kind of sales approach to get people to purchase at their resorts. Overall, we had a terrible time with a few bright spots along the way. The breakfast buffet in the morning at Del Lago was great with great service by Javier, Ruberto and Daniel. The Spa at Spatium was relaxing and the service was outstanding. We were so disappointed after waiting a year to get back to our favorite vacation spot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Responded 2 days ago
Dear seniorpescador : Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with Julian, Javier, Roberto, and Daniel as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. In the same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked the breakfast buffet. Please accept our sincere apology for the behavior exhibited by the sales staff mentioned in your comment. Rest assured these are not the best business practices that we spend considerable time, energy, and resources training on, and they will not be tolerated. We strive to make each and everyone feel cared for, appreciated, and respected. We truly appreciate you sharing this with us, as your feedback helps us continue providing outstanding facilities and services. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back. With all best wishes, The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Read more
lynnetravels2017 wrote a review May 2020
Los Angeles, California158 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Amazing property with so much to experience. Many restaurants to choose from and multiple pools and beaches to choose from. Cirque du Soleil show JOYÀ is a must!! The staff is amazingly accommodating. From the moment you arrive, you are attended to in every way.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupoVidanta2, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Responded May 11, 2020
Dear lynnetravels2017 : Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at . We are pleased you enjoyed JOYA and grateful for your kind words about our staff´s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable! Happily, The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Read more
VanillaAce wrote a review Sep 15
Saint Simons Island, Georgia491 contributions87 helpful votes
This resort has it all. Large pool at the Mayan Palace with poolside service with the most amazing ceviche we have tasted. Drinks are average but they usually have 2 for 1 happy hour daily. Grand Mayan pool is secluded but was closed due to Covid-19. Golf course is a 18 hole,tough par 3 designed by Nicklaus. Salum is a neat bar area with restaurants, lounge chairs and shops. Cool area to hang out at night. Quinto is the best restaurant in Salum but you need reservations. Try the. rib tip appetizer, shrimp entree or lobster. Upon check in, say no to sales presentation to save 3 1/2 hours of your time. Not worth 10% off your bill. Resort has awesome gym, spa and shopping for all your needs. Beach is rocky and not good for swimming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karla wrote a review Sep 7
2 contributions3 helpful votes
this is a pretty and "fancy" hotel. The people are kind and it's very clear they all follow the hotel system, that makes it pretty good for the clients. What I like: The location, it's beautiful, they have some awesome pools, beautiful rooms and ok. Service. What I dislike: Most of the pools were closed, they said that it was due to covid but then realized it was something else when we got to go to another hotel with every pool open, rated the #2 of that area, so we figured out they have everything closed in our level (Grand Mayan) to upsale to Grand Luxxe so we could have our pool. Non sense. Also nothing is complimentary, not even the wifi. The coffee in your room has a price. The water in your room had a price. The parking has a daily price. Having your dishes washed... has a price. Wifi has a price Literally... everything is excluded. Also they don't want you to get out of their hotel, we felt like we were punished for doing it. They asked: where are you going? And if the answer was to a different hotel or that area immediately said well the price of the taxi is around $90usd (it's not that far), it's ok wanting to keep your clients inside but not that way. They sell food inside all kind of restaurants and a little store, with crazy expensive prices... ridiculous. We also had our membership meeting, it's almost impossible saying NO to them, they will keep you there FOREVER, finally we had to run away... Also having little kids it's very hard to have a great experience since the little trains let us kind of far of our room and you can imagine, a boy asleep in our arms, the big water bottles like 6 liters each, backpacks and other stuff made it super hard sometimes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Koroza: We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay. We are happy to learn that you found our property to be beautiful. However, we are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us. Your comments are always welcomed. Sincerely, The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Read more
Josh S wrote a review Sep 7
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We’ve been here for 3 days so far. Every day the children upstairs have been screaming and running around. They wake us up early, they are louder than our TV and the power tools of workers fixing the boardwalk outside. They are causing so much ruckus that their pool on the balcony is overflowing and water falling on our balcony. We have been calling the front desk/security/concierge for 3 days and they have done nothing to help. We were supposed to be here for 2 weeks and are considering flying home after 3 days because they have failed to even address the issue and we’re listening to small children scream 24/7 instead of watching TV, enjoying our vacation or even SLEEPING. 10/10 DO NOT COME TO THIS RESORT
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Josh S : We regret that your stay is different from what you had expected. We kindly request that you reach out to our Customer Care Center at 1- 800-292-9446 or customerservice@grandmayan.com.mx and reference this message. Feedback from our members and guests are always welcome and encouraged, as it helps our team continue to provide the very best care and support. Sincerely, The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$415 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grand mayan riviera maya hotel playa del carmen, grand mayan riviera maya, wyndham playa del carmen, playa del carmen wyndham, grand mayan cancun, grand mayan playa del carmen
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del CarmenPlaya Paraiso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Puerto, Punta Bonita at Rosewood Mayakoba, and Saffron.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica Playa del Carmen (6.1 miles).
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Riviera Maya have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.