We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalonia Royal La Romana

Save
Share
Carretera Bayahibe, Bayahibe 21000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$220
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/18/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/18/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/21
Trip.com$137
eDreams$170
Hotels.com$220
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2542)
Pool & Beach (552)
Dining (327)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 28 hotels in Bayahibe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Enjoy the authentic Dominican Caribbean in an exclusive adults-only resort. Its small details make your stay great and its personalized service makes you feel in heaven. Exclusive suites, avant-garde restaurants, dream pools … relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy your best vacation. Live a unique experience and do not worry about anything, we will take care of you. It is 118 km from Santo Domingo International Airport, 20 km from La Romana International Airport and 72 km from Punta Cana International Airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
Spanish
1748Reviews434Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,214
  • 320
  • 118
  • 40
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bruno D wrote a review Sep 20
Cascais, Portugal13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Overall the experience was great. Room was big, clean and beautifull. The beach is really really great with white sand and turquoise water. Staff made everything better and i have to give a very special thanks to Amauris and Bilma (Thalassa restaurant) and Lee (made sure we had everything we need at the beach). The only thing that could be better is the drinks. Depending on the bar and the people serving, the same drink was done a different way.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal La Romana
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Bruno Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations about the drinks. We will share your comments with the involved department. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. Social Media Catalonia Royal La Romana
Read more
Amanda P wrote a review Sep 19
1 contribution
We wanted to get away from the tourism of Punta Cana and Catalonia La Romana seemed like the perfect place for us to honeymoon. Everything was absolutely perfect from the hardworking staff to the wonderfully designed rooms and interior of the property. However, I’m deeply disappointed in the food and beverage selections. We had read about the food being average in previous reviews but we did not expect it to be below average. There was no Caribbean twist, Dominican flavor or flavor at all in the food. It seemed like they were trying to recreate American cuisine to accommodate the majority of their travelers ( European) the result of that is poor quality food and variety. I would have gave a 5 star review if the food was better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal La Romana
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Amanda, We would like to begin by thanking you for the valuable time you invested in sharing your comments with us. We deeply regret knowing that we were unable to meet your expectations with our gastronomic offer and drinks. Let us comment that our Executive Chef and A&B Manager are informed and will seek immediate action to improve the experience of our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to have another opportunity to have you here and make it up to you, with the impeccable experience you have been waiting for. Sincerely, Social Media Catalonia Royal La Romana
Read more
Ana Alves wrote a review Sep 16
1 contribution
Lee at the beach bar was always very welcoming every single day during our stay! He made our stay even more pleasant at Catalonia! We will for sure remember him after our departure from this lovely place! Thank you!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Joy wrote a review Sep 16
1 contribution
Went for our second anniversary. Royal resort is great! I have been here 3 times. Great service, beach, food, entertainment, staff. Amaury, Alfredo, Freddy, Alexis, Mauricio, Juan at el vivero and Cristian all very professional, attentive and cordial. My only suggestion is to keep the rooms and hallway presentation(doors) in well condition, fix chipped paint, remove rust from metal fixtures, steam the couches and chairs as ours was dirty with black spots and increase food options at buffet in Royal. Siwichi restaurant has delicious food as well as bloved. Italian restaurant was good. Thallasa is buffet good but need more options and variety. Bars are great and snack bar is good too maybe a bit more options here as well. I went when they had first opened, I would encourage that they continue doing things like when they first opened some food items are being prepared differently or they stopped. We are ETC members and the service is excellent. We hope that the quality and attention at Royal is given to their neighbor resort catalonia so we can go there when we have children as this is adults only. Catalonia needs upgrades, modernization and better service and deep cleaning and upgrades especially at the Taino buffet. If they upgrade catalonia we will be going there in the future and upgrading our membership.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal La Romana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments with the involved department. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. Social Media Catalonia Royal La Romana
Read more
Dee S wrote a review Sep 13
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I never wanted to be back home so bad after this experience; The room walls were dirty, the private pool as well. Room service does not bring drinks to the room so it defeats the purpose of having a swim up in your room since you cant enjoy some drinks in the sun. Every 30 minutes I had to head to the bar to go get drinks. Someone should be coming around the swim up pool areas to take drink orders or it should be an option with room service. There are items on the menu, but when you try to order them they are not available. The food is terrible! I only found 2 items from the buffet of the sister resort to eat. Everything was a struggle or a challenge. I never heard No so much in a location where you are suppose to be made feel at ease. I really dislike that you have to make reservations for dinner at one of the a la carta restaurants the day of or the night prior. I was constantly trying to make reservations or speaking to a worker and could not enjoy my stay! They only reservation I wanted for my birthday I was not able to get because by 10 am it was already booked. Most of the better restaurant options and entertainment is located at the sister hotel which also defeated the purpose of staying here. Most of the staff are friendly, which is the only reason I gave it one star, other than that I would have given it a zero. Don't wast your time coming here or spending your money! Also, I purchased some things and charged it to the room and then I was told I had to pay for the packing bag separate in cash...seemed a little sketchy as to why my entire purchase including the bag to pack it couldn't all be charged to the room in One transaction. Lastly, there is a lack of communication when it comes to the covid testing. Upon your arrival/checkin they make a copy of your passport for their records, but forget to tell you, you will also need a copy for yourself when you get covid tested. Made the line to get covid tested for about 45 mins - 1 hr just to be told that I needed a copy of my passport to give to the person conducting the test before I could get examined. Then I had to head back to the room to obtain my passport, to then head to the front desk to obtain a copy, to then head back to the testing location at the sister hotel. Which all took most of my morning that day. Soooo Not Worth it!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal La Romana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion, we are sorry to read that you have returned with this impression home to our attention, please accept our apologies. In your comment you points out important areas of opportunity and in which we must work immediately, we share that your contribution have just been transmitted with the leaders of each team, so that the reported situations are corrected. We highly value honest feedback from you and will be delighted if you give us the opportunity to have you again and let us pamper you the way we like to treat our guests. Cordially, Social Media Catalonia Royal La Romana
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvinceBayahibe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Royal La Romana
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Nearby attractions include Fine Cigars Bayahibe (0.4 miles), Museo y Fabrica de Puras (0.4 miles), and Casino Dominicus (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Las Palmas, Il Cafeto Del Chef, and Restaurant La Cueva.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Catalonia Royal La Romana have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Catalonia Royal La Romana offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Royal La Romana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Is Catalonia Royal La Romana accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.